We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, Clean Hotel in a convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Oak Ridge - Knoxville
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Oak Ridge
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good, Clean Hotel in a convenient location”
Reviewed January 14, 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights in January 2011. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet. I enjoyed the free cookie and found the bed to be very comfortable. The front desk was very helpful... I did not visit the bar or restaurant. The location is convenient on S. Illinois Ave with lots of restaurants and stores close by. The drive the Oak Ridge National Lab was only 15-20 minutes. The indoor / outdoor pool was heated and open in January!

I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rundugrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    215
    68
    24
    11
See reviews for
165
88
35
306
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2010

This was a very nice hotel. I travel quite a bit for work and this was one of the nicer Doubletrees. I put in a request for a foam pillow before I arrived and it was in the room when I checked in. We asked for recommendations for restaurants at the front desk and I was excellent BBQ! The breakfast was so-so. It was fine, but nothing outstanding.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HaFinkne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2010

I'm a Diamond Hilton member and stay in Hilton family hotels like 85% of the time and definately come to expect a certain level. Bottom line - room is really really nice, lobby is tired, pool area is tired, restaurant is tired, and the lounge for HHonors is really lacking any character. Next time I need to be in Oak Rdige I'll stay across the street in a newer looking Hampton Inn. The staff here is really nice - they just have to work in a tired hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hortkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GretchenJ, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Oak Ridge - Knoxville, responded to this review, September 1, 2010
Thank you for your outstanding comments about our rooms and staff. We hold very high standards at our hotel, and we are very pleased that we exceeded your expectations in those areas. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand, and are continuously updating all the areas of our hotel. Thank you for your feedback, our guests' comments are very important to us, as we want all of our guests to be happy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2010

The rooms are very comfortable, they do allow pets, they provide free wireless, and I have been happy there both times I have stayed there. In my perfect world, they would have a hot tub, but the pool is nice anyhow. It's a great place to stay in Oak Ridge.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traceylin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2010

Hilton standards are standards that are universal throughout at this property - thus, for standard issues (cleanliness, location, etc.) standards are met and exceeded. From the warm chocolate chip cookies available at check-in to the warm and friendly staff - no issues. Others have mentioned the refurbished rooms so I will not discuss any further. However, the Doubletree Oak Ridge was lacking in a few points that I expect from Doubletree properties. (1) Wireless is available, but the signal strength is weak - only two bars max in my room! Could have been an issue with the room location (#515) Cannot be productive without access. (2) Gym - small and inadequate, more like a Hampton quality. Only one each Precor treadmill, elliptical, and recumbant bike. Dumbbells from 5 to 25 lbs, but no weight bench and only an exercise ball. Fortunately, the hotel has an agreement with the local 24 hours gym close by. (3) Complimentary breakfast - as a Diamond member, breakfast is usually included and enjoyed in the main buffet. The complimentary breakfast availaible on conciere room was a continental plus (typical continental breakfast - fruits, bagels, plus part is eggs) and not the full breakfast buffet.

Did not dine in the restaurant or drink at the bar so cannot review.

Of the available properties in Oak Ridge, the Doubletree is the most highly rated - so will probably return.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nakamark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC, USA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2010

My wife stayed at the Doubletree Oak Ridge while I was traveling in Europe for work. I e-mailed the hotel and asked if they might consider surprising my wife with a special, personal greeting from me. They were absolutely extraordinary in their response, and my wife was thrilled. She also told me that the front desk clerk was exceptionally kind, and the room was beautiful!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dorsalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2009

This property may look a little dated in the pictures (of the outside), but it is FULLY RESTORED, CLEAN, & SPACIOUS. In addition, there is a GREAT restaurant in the hotel, and the hotel has all modern amenities that you look for in a hotel--e.g. pool, exercise room, computer lab. Plus, the staff is super-friendly and very welcoming.

The only thing I would do differently is not get a "suite" room. For the extra $60 or $70, there was really nothing extra worthwhile in those rooms, except for maybe extra space and a couch. The regular rooms seem to be a better value with ample space.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rte66cincy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Ridge
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 7 in Oak Ridge
216 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Oak Ridge
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Oak Ridge
Hampton Inn Oak Ridge
#2 of 7 in Oak Ridge
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Oak Ridge
Quality Inn Oak Ridge
#6 of 7 in Oak Ridge
118 reviews
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Knoxville Oak Ridge
11.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Bluff Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Oak Ridge - Knoxville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Oak Ridge - Knoxville

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Oak Ridge - Knoxville
Address: 215 S Illinois Ave, Oak Ridge, TN 37830-6204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Oak Ridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Oak Ridge
#3 Romantic Hotel in Oak Ridge
#4 Family Hotel in Oak Ridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Oak Ridge - Knoxville 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Oak Ridge – Knoxville in the heart of Oak Ridge, Tennessee, 11 miles west of Knoxville, is Oak Ridge's premiere, full service hotel. Our modern hotel is adjacent to the American Museum of Science and Energy and Oak Ridge Associate Universities. Knoxville's McGhee Tyson Airport (TYS) is 30 minutes away by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Oak Ridge - Knoxville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Oak Ridge - Knoxville Hotel Oak Ridge
Doubletree Oak Ridge
Oak Ridge Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing