We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room even if a little on small size”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Oak Ridge - Knoxville
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Oak Ridge
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Juliet, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great room even if a little on small size”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for two nights in September, 2011 as we were in the Oak Ridge/Kingston, TN for a wedding. The Mother of the Groom had been able to reserve a block of approx 20 rooms months ahead as she wanted the out of towners to stay in the same area. Since we had made prior reservations, check in was a breeze and of course the delicious chocolate chip cookies were provided. The hotel must have had a recent makeover as the rooms were very fresh and sleek. We had a king size bed which was a little large for the room but it was one of the best beds I've ever slept on, right up there with my own. There was a large desk area with a large flat screen TV in addition to a relaxing chair and ottoman and refrigerator in the room. I highly recommend the Double Tree in Oak Ridge.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gammi31957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    212
    68
    24
    11
See reviews for
162
88
35
305
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kapitman
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

They have an indoor outdoor pool that you can swim between. It was very unique and the kids enjoyed it. We were there for a funeral and the staff was so friendly and accomodating. Since we are hhonor members we got a nice continental breakfast. Did not try the restaurant. The rooms were very clean and beds comfortable. Oh...and those yummy cookies! :)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kapitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankenmuth, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

I had a trip for work into Oak Ridge National Labs, Oak Ridge, TN. I booked a room at the Doubletree Hotel, Oak Ridge, TN.. I have to say the property is not one of the brand new cookie cutter hotels that are popping up everywhere. The building is unique looking from the outside and the internals are just as unique. Once inside I found a very nice lobby, staffed with people who wanted to make sure I was taken care of all the way down to my lower floor room request on my profile. My room was room 127 and it was a very clean, well equipped room for the business or vacation traveller. There were plastic wrapped "Glass" (not plastic)Drinking Glasses, a clean refrigerator, and an easy chair for relaxation, as well as a nice desk and comfortable chair for working. The internet performed well while I was there. There is a small shopping mall close by with Belk, Sears, and JCP in it.
The hotel also has a nice restaurant and lounge that I had some very nice complementary appetizers along with an adult beverage. I did not eat an entree at the hotel restaurant but the meals I saw being served looked and smelled delicious. There is a decent selection of restaurants close by the hotel if you would like to eat outside the hotel.
This is a nice place to stay!!!! Clean, well appointed rooms!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MSM19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inman, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We've stayed here several times before and have never had problems. This time, however, we did not have a good experience. First off, no cookies when we checked in! How disappointing! Secondly, the rooms themselves were only fairly clean; not like we had experienced in the past. Thirdly, and most disappointing of all, was the extremely poor service in the hotel's restaurant. Service was terrible, the food was mediocre, and the price was too high for what we ordered during lunch. At a subsequent meal, we were very disappointed once again that not everything was available. Cleanliness was also a factor in the restaurant. It almost seemed like they were short-handed. All in all, unless we know for a fact that things have improved, this hotel has lost our business.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthAnne52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

I stay at this hotel every time I come to Oak Ridge and have never had a bad experience.Check-in is always quick and easy,and I always get that great warm cookie(yum).The staff is friendly and obviously enjoy their jobs.Having to travel in my job I have eaten at alot of hotels,but this hotels restaurant is by far the best.I have had breakfast,lunch,and supper and never had a bad meal.It appears that the local town folk realize this also from the busy breakfast they have.I had to stay over one weekend and I believe there was some local football game that day(UT vs Carolina).The place was packed with people in a hurry to get to the game and other folks wanting to get that hot meal before they had to check out, and local groups just enjoying the wonderful buffet and socializing.It was one of those rare weekend stay overs but seeing things from a different view than the mon -fri work grind made me realize what a nice hotel this is

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nomadofwow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Ga
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stayed here for a rowing meet...and so did the 100+ teenagers on the team. Nice spacious rooms with good TV selection. Indoor pool that can be seen from most rooms. Front desk staff welcoming. Probably the most amenities in the Oak Ridge area!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, SC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We have stayed at this property in the past and have not had a bad experience before this weekend. The room was nice; it was a large non-smoking king-sized bed room which appeared clean. We ate lunch at the hotel on the day of arrival since our rooms were not ready with no problems. However, on the next morning, we attempted to eat breakfast in Burchfield's, the hotel's restaurant. Service was beyond poor and bordered on terrible. We had to wait a long time to be seated, not because there were lots of diners but because there were many tables which had not been cleaned from the previous guest. Once we were seated, when the waitress finally came, we were told we could not order from the menu, at the chef's orders, but could only partake from the buffet. We were not interested in the buffet. The table immediately beside ours were given menus and were permitted to order from the menu with not problems. When I asked the reason why that table was allowed to order from the menu and we weren't, the waitress responded she didn't know. Coffee took ten minutes to arrive. We had asked for cream but it didn't come until I went looking for assistance and requested it again, It still took several additional minutes to arrive and at that point our coffee was cold. While some of our party reluctantly ate the buffet breakfast, I did not. We had a long trip ahead of us. No one seemed very concerned about this fiasco. Finally, my husband spoke to the manager who sent someone to our room to apologize and offer us some of their cookies. We had not been given cookies at our arrival so I assumed Double Tree was no longer doing this.

I am amazed at this poor service and have never had this kind of problem before at either a Double Tree or Hilton property. This was very disappointing. We make many trips to this area during the year and will reconsider whether or not to stay here in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a non-smoking king. There are no microwaves available in the rooms and our refrigerator mad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PepperJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GretchenJ, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Oak Ridge - Knoxville, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Thank you for being a guest in our hotel. I am sorry that you were inconvenienced by our Executive Chef's decision to only offer the breakfast buffet. I can assure you that his decision was made in an attempt to better serve our guests, not the opposite. Fortunately, Burchfield's restaurant maintains an exceptional rapport within our community, which enables us to be busy day in and day out. While we did have an extremely busy Sunday breakfast, this does not excuse the fact that you did not receive our undivided attention. I hope that my winning team does have a future opportunity to show you their much sought after, exceptional customer service skills.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Ridge
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 7 in Oak Ridge
213 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Oak Ridge
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Oak Ridge
Hampton Inn Oak Ridge
#3 of 7 in Oak Ridge
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Oak Ridge
Quality Inn Oak Ridge
#6 of 7 in Oak Ridge
117 reviews
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Knoxville Oak Ridge
16.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Knoxville North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Oak Ridge - Knoxville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Oak Ridge - Knoxville

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Oak Ridge - Knoxville
Address: 215 S Illinois Ave, Oak Ridge, TN 37830-6204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Oak Ridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Oak Ridge
#3 Romantic Hotel in Oak Ridge
#4 Family Hotel in Oak Ridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Oak Ridge - Knoxville 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Oak Ridge – Knoxville in the heart of Oak Ridge, Tennessee, 11 miles west of Knoxville, is Oak Ridge's premiere, full service hotel. Our modern hotel is adjacent to the American Museum of Science and Energy and Oak Ridge Associate Universities. Knoxville's McGhee Tyson Airport (TYS) is 30 minutes away by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Oak Ridge - Knoxville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Oak Ridge - Knoxville Hotel Oak Ridge
Doubletree Oak Ridge
Oak Ridge Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing