We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Information Overload”

American Museum of Science & Energy
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Oak Ridge
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New Market, Tennessee
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Information Overload”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

I went with my 8 year old son and 18 year old daughter and my husband. There was something for everyone and we all enjoyed. I would recommend splitting your visit to different areas at different times. We stayed about three hours and did not come close to reading/seeing everything. The presentations were great. It takes skill to address such a wide age range.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    117
    18
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very good museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The best parts of this museum were the movies "10 Seconds" and the film about the history of Oak Ridge. Also like the interview with the lady who worked at one of the plants in the 40's. There were lots of things for kids to do. After visiting the museum we drove around Oak Ridge and looked at the housing that still exists from the 40's, the parks, and had a better appreciation of its history.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hendomom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Love this museum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Great for all ages!! Wonderful way to spend an afternoon! Whether you have kids, grandkids or are just interested in learning more about the Secret City, this is a perfect place to go!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank constantraveler26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Hair Raising!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Get your picture made touching the Van De Graff generator! You're hair stands on end. What fun! Very informative museum with lots of artifacts of the Atomic Age and all the mystery surrounding Oak Ridge - the secret city.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Realty_Appraiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestview, Florida
Level Contributor
221 reviews
210 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Fun museum but sometimes too much”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

I really liked the museum, but sometimes there's just too much colors, noise, and words to comprehend. Instead of learning there's a bit of an overload as soon as you walk in. We visited the same time that a group from a high school visited. It didn't cause much of a problem because the kids flitted from exhibit to exhibit VERY quickly. The other problem is that the exhibits hadn't been updated since the 1990's. That's OK when you're talking about history, but not when it is energy and science. I realized that some of those kids were born after the museum was last updated.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy__31589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed American Museum of Science & Energy also viewed

 

Been to American Museum of Science & Energy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing