We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must see”

American Museum of Science & Energy
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Oak Ridge
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Lenoir City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A must see”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

For the price of 5$.you can view the heritage oak oak ridge and the building of the atomic bomb.Many fun interactive exhibits a new one is a remodeled house that shows how the ppl working on the bomb lived.you will have allot of fun and when you leave you will realised you learned something.great for kids,familyand adults of all ages.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jason F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    121
    22
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Great for older kids!”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I took my 7 and 9 year olds to the museum and they had a blast! We spent 2 hours inside and still didn't really get to see everything. We will definitely be going back!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tricia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Making Sciene Fun”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

From a very early age my children loved AMSE. It is a hands on museum, (something my kids thought existed in all museums), and is fun for all ages. What a great rainy day adventure!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
150 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Excellent Educational Fun!”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

My son and I took my grandson to see AMSE. He had never been there. We had but many years prior. All the workers are very friendly and helpful to answer questions etc. The whole place is filled with so much information you may want to spend the day or go several times to read, see and do everything. Of course there is ample information and displays of World War II. This museum has so much for all ages and many hands on and interactive things to do. Quite a great place to see!

Helpful?
Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
381 reviews
160 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Uninspiring and unimpressive!”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

What took place in Oak Ridge more than 70 years ago is a remarkable story. Unfortunately, this museum fell far short of telling that story about the remarkable dedication and accomplishments that 75,000 Americans made over a very short period of time. The best part of the museum was a short documentary movie highlighting the achievements of the American people in the 1940's. It's an amazing piece of our history that should have been told more thoroughly. As other reviewers stated, much of the museum seems out-dated and tired. There were lots of hands-on type exhibits but way too much that needed to be read and understood, especially for young children.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BionicOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed American Museum of Science & Energy also viewed

 

Been to American Museum of Science & Energy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing