We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It Might Not Look Like Much on the Outside, But YUM” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Soup Kitchen

The Soup Kitchen
Ranked #4 of 98 Restaurants in Oak Ridge
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
O'Fallon, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It Might Not Look Like Much on the Outside, But YUM”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

We loved the soup, salad and sandwich choices. Their soups are made without salt so you can season them how you like, but mine didn't need the salt at all. It was delicious. When you pass by you might not think it looks like much, but give it try and you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    46
    17
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious fast food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Many choices of soup made in-house. Breads, salads, sandwiches, and desserts. Good, filling lunch under $10 and fast. Better choice than burger and fries.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank swabbayk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge, Tn
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Variety of Soups”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

Great variety of soups, some changed daily. No salt. Accept credit cards. Lines at lunch. Pick ups allowed. Also, have some sandwiches, salads, and desserts.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tcmyhre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Superb Soup”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

My son is sick today but requested Soup Kitchen chicken noodle. It really hits the spot not just for sick days either. I frequently stop there after work and pick up soup to go for dinner. There is generally 6-7 choices. Don't miss out on the fresh baked bread. There are 5 choices of bread including cheese bread and cornbread. I also really like the carrot cake. I have ordered the soup in larger quantities for company. It's always packaged well and reasonably priced. You can also buy a whole carrot cake. My only complaint is most of the soups need more salt.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GenaYJustice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Simple and Delicious Local Favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

We were looking for a quick and healthy meal for lunch, and The Soup Kitchen turned out to be exactly what we needed - we enjoyed it so much that a number of us went back several times during the week that we stayed in Oak Ridge.

You can't go wrong with anything on their menu, but of course your best option would be one of their delicious soups! I had the hearty vegetable, and I was able to try their famous chili. I also heard great things about their chicken and rice soup. The hearty vegetable was very tasty and satisfying, especially with a piece of their amazing homemade brown bread.

The restaurant is very casual and low-key. You grab a tray and order from a cafeteria line, then pay right at the end before going to take a seat in the very homey dining areas. The servers are all very friendly, and they are also very willing to give free samples of the soups in case you can't make up your mind (which is always the case for me).

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AYachanin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Soup Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to The Soup Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing