We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Where the locals go for good food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dean's Restaurant and Bakery

Dean's Restaurant and Bakery
Ranked #1 of 98 Restaurants in Oak Ridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are located in historic Jackson Square. This property once housed Jackson Square pharmacy. After 55 years in the same family this property became available because the previous owners wished to retire. We were lucky to get it. We renovated and tried to keep as much of the original charm as possible. We hope you like it.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Where the locals go for good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

Dean's is always spot on. Not a big menu but all wonderful dishes from pot roast to turkey and dressing to pork loin to chicken tenders. Always a good selection of sides and the best desserts around. This is your best choice in Oak Ridge.

Helpful?
1 Thank rich-queenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean R, Owner at Dean's Restaurant and Bakery, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review us. We always use fresh ingredients and our customers let us know they appreciate it. Come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    62
    23
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Pie, glorious pie...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

This place makes the best chocolate meringue pie I have ever tasted. This pie will change your life.
The food is generally quite good and obviously selected and made with care, but occasionally there seems to be a little inconsistency. Even so, I think they deserve support and will keep going and trying different things on the menu. Anything to keep them in business making THAT PIE.


Did I mention I liked the pie?

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pinkorangered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean R, Owner at Dean's Restaurant and Bakery, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am glad you like the pie. We use a lot of chocolate in it along with other wholesome goodies. Come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Carol R-K”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

I was in Oak Ridge to meet a class reunion group. Stopped in Deans for several to-gos to bring back to Knoxville. Anytime I am in O.R. I go to Deans. The food I have had is so good it makes my mouth water to think about. I always get the pot roast, or the chicken tenders. Real hand cut fries are fabulous, greens, potato salad, scalloped potatoes, pintos, have been veggies I have had.All wonderful. My husband likes the grilled pork loin...tasted it myself, liked it real well. I do tend to order the same things when I find things I love. I love this place, it was a hang out when I went to Jefferson Jr. High. Feels so good to be there with the best food in Oak Ridge, and a bakery for a bonus. You must give this place a visit. Salads, sandwiches, burgers, meat and three. They have it all. Plus BYOB. Staff so nice and friendly

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

The atmosphere is casual and quaint. I love the decor and the food. The owners and staff are all wonderful. The price is superb for dinner and desserts. If you are in the historic area of Oak Ridge then you should take the time to experience Dean's.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Terina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

The food is wonderful, it was hard to make an entre choice, all the offerings were enticing and artful (I am still mentally apologizing to the mother whose pot roast recipe I passed up in favor of the pulled pork - next time ma'am, really). The portions generous, waitstaff friendly and helpful. The desserts... This place is a real find. We'll be back.

Helpful?
1 Thank hhallm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dean's Restaurant and Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Dean's Restaurant and Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing