We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's inexpensive, but you get what you pay for.”

Dean's Restaurant and Bakery
Ranked #1 of 101 Restaurants in Oak Ridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are located in historic Jackson Square. This property once housed Jackson Square pharmacy. After 55 years in the same family this property became available because the previous owners wished to retire. We were lucky to get it. We renovated and tried to keep as much of the original charm as possible. We hope you like it.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“It's inexpensive, but you get what you pay for.”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I read a few reviews that were positive and decided to give this place a try. I like local restaurants so my hopes were high. The restaurant is very small, but the atmosphere is pretty cool. The problem is the food is as cheap as the prices. The biggest issue I had was the salmon was clearly frozen and not fresh. It was mealy and didn't flake apart like fresh salmon should.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank foodchic49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean R, Owner at Dean's Restaurant and Bakery, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Sorry you didn't like your salmon. We never ever use frozen salmon or frozen anything for that matter. Come eat with us and I believe you change your mind. Hope so. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    66
    26
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Ridge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yum”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I have been a fan of the chef for years when he was involved with other restaurants and the food is just as delicious as ever. The service is fast and friendly, the food comes out piping hot and well seasoned and the desserts are to die for. And... prices are modest.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fisherking137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean R, Owner at Dean's Restaurant and Bakery, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Hey thanks! I appreciate the fact that you have been to my other restaurants and definitely appreciate you coming and seeing us here. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food, good service”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Food is very good, and service is good also, prices are very reasonable. Only drawback is they fill up fast at lunchtime, and not always enough seating available.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank KOBX100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean R, Owner at Dean's Restaurant and Bakery, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thanks for coming in to see us. We have expanded as of August 1 so the wait has been cut substantially. I appreciate all of our customers who have had to wait for a seat but hopefully you won't have to wait near as long as before. Thanks for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Tennessee, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Food, Great Service!”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Our office is right next door to Dean's and our staff eats here several times a week. Their food is always great, fresh, and made correctly. The staff is friendly and service is quick. Some of our favorites are the Chocolate Fried Pies, Tennessee Pulled Pork, and the hamburgers!! YUM!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TylerPyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean R, Owner at Dean's Restaurant and Bakery, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thanks for the review. I too like the fried chocolate pies. Look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best food and service in east tn!”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

My family and I eat at dean's at least twice a week the food is amazing and the service is always excellent. The fried catfish is the best I've ever eaten. Everything is always Fresh and cooked to perfection.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caseymills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean R, Owner at Dean's Restaurant and Bakery, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
We sell a ton of the catfish. It's so simple and it is so good. Thanks for eating with us we really appreciate the support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dean's Restaurant and Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Dean's Restaurant and Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing