We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place, close to the lake”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Newport
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Newport
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Very nice hotel close to Douglas Lake. It is attractive, clean, nice pool, and they allow pets. The room was spacious and well equipped. We had a nice stay. We would stay again, but the Motel 6 down the road has no pet fee and Comfort Inn charges quite a bit for pets, so we'll probably stay elsewhere next time; however, this is a very nice hotel, and without the dogs we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 182 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

This Comfort Inn is just off Interstate 40. We stayed 2-nights in a King bed room with a couch, microwave, fridge and coffee maker. The room was nice and clean and the bed was comfortable. The TV had cable with HBO. There was a free hot breakfast from 6am-9am, which was good, and free WI-FI.

For the value and amenities offered we didn't experience any of the negative comments posted.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank we2love2travel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed on our way to Lake Toxaway. 2 rooms for total price of less than $150. Great value for $$. Functional place to stay. My son enjoyed the outdoor pool. Nice breakfast included. Not fancy but practical. Older lady working in the evening was hospitable.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank renee b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

After staying in a previous more urban Comfort Inn with a poor experience, this was a nice surprise! The first floor room had high ceilings which made it feel roomier, it was a good temperature walking into the room ( not muggy or freezing), we didn't use the pool but it looked nicer than some with a decent deck area and a nice size. The breakfast was nothing spectacular but had room to sit and eat. The bathroom had some wiggle room too. Overall, a nice room to sleep our whole family comfortably.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelsarabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

A last minute decision for a couple of road warriors at 10pm, the price was decent to rest weary heads. However... although the location is right off the highway, finding the actual driveway was a challenge in the dark. Driving up to the hotel, it looked haunted atop the hill with dimmed amber lighting and tinted glass lobby windows. The inn keeper was an older woman which made it even better, as we imagined her opening a dusty old reservations book and cackling "goooood evening"... anyway, the rooms are super basic, slightly stinky- even though the property is smokefree inside, carpet is probably 15 yrs old, keep your shoes on. Bathrooms are ok, very little in the way of toiletries. Bed was hard, sheets thin, but pillows were good. Cmon it's a budget hotel. The breakfast was good, coffee was actually very good, and the free parking and wifi cannot ever be beat. In a pinch we'd stay again, but would probably check out the Best Western next time. It is next to a restaurant and bar, and doesnt seem as spooky.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephNOwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

This is our fourth stay, and as always it was good. Friendly staff and always helpful. Rooms were again clean and beds comfortable.. We always look forward to our stay here. Will hopefully drop by again in August. Oh get a coupon from the truck stop across the street and your stay will have a great discount of 49.99'

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buncheygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

As noted, the hotel is fairly new looking and the lobby clean. Front desk was friendly and check in was uneventful. Rooms are large, but very plain. I know it's not the Ritz, but it appears that Comfort Inns are trying their best to drop down several notches on the quality chain. Didn't eat breakfast here before leaving, so can't comment there. High seed internet was anything but high speed and this also seems to be system wide as Choice hotels tend to have really slow connections, since I've spent nights in 5 different Sleep/Comfort Inns from NC/NJ/VA/TN over the last month and they have all been wanting.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BubbaBama821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davena W, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Newport, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Thank you so much for taking your time to give us feedback on your stay. Im glad we meet all your needs while you was here with us. I do wanna give an aplogy for not exceeding your expections with the quality of the rooms. You are 100% correct that most choice hotels are mid-market hotels so we can stay affordable but we still wanna strive to always go above and beyond to exceed your expections as well. There are a few more "high-end" choice hotels which are the Ascend Collection which can give you a little more bang for your buck. Being apart of Choice Hotels we are kept to mandatory standards and guidelines (e.g. room size and amenities) so you can always feel "money well worth it". If you have any questions or need help booking your next stay please feel free to call at anytime.

Davena Woods

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South
3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 10 in Newport
164 reviews
3 mi away
Hampton Inn Newport
Hampton Inn Newport
#4 of 10 in Newport
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 8 in Dandridge
245 reviews
11.6 mi away
Jefferson Inn
Jefferson Inn
#3 of 8 in Dandridge
119 reviews
11.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Morristown Conference Center Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Newport

Address: 1149 Smokey Mountain Lane, I-40 to exit 432B, first right off the exit, Newport, TN 37821-9031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Newport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Newport
Price Range: $60 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Newport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer EXTRA LARGE ROOMS, largest in the area, We have an INTERIOR CORRIDOR HOTEL, with FREE HOT BREAKFAST, ELEVATOR,and FITNESS Center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Comfort Inn Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing