We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A regular stop for us”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Newport
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Newport
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is the 3rd time we have stayed at this hotel. The rooms are always clean, the staff is helpful, and the breakfast is more than ample. I wish I could remember the name of the restaurant, just to the east of the hotel..I'm sure if you ask the girl at the front desk she will direct you....Their food is great and they have " toss homemade rolls" You actually have to catch the rolls as they toss them to you. The kids as well as the adults are surprised by this! I'm sure whoever stays at this hotel will be more than satisfied.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judy047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davena W, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Newport, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Thank you for the feedback to your stay here with us at Comfort Inn Newport, Tn. Im so glad that we have always meet your expectations and needs while here with us. We are more than grateful for your business and hope to see you and your family again soon. If you ever need anything or have any questions please feel free to call me at anytime.

Davena Woods

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Inn Newport
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 175 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

My children and I stopped here on our way to Hilton Head Island, SC. Newport, TN was the little-more-than-half-way point for us. I made the reservation online using the Choice Hotels website. The intent was simple: rest & sleep after a long day of driving & grab a quick, "free" breakfast before finishing the last leg of our journey. The hotel was easy to find & easy to access off the interstate. Check-in was a little bit of a hassle because apparently the manager did something to the computer system (that, according to the desk clerk had been working fine) which caused the clerk to be unable to log into the system. At first the clerk told me we might have to "come back later." I wasn't sure exactly where she thought we would go as there really isn't anything to do in the town of Newport. Thankfully, after a few minutes the manager fixed the problem & we were able to check in without further complications. The room & bathroom was very clean and quite larger than I expected. There was a dorm sized refrigerator, 1 cup at a time coffee maker & free wi-fi. Wi-fi was super easy to access & was fast. There is an outdoor pool that is not heated. We didn't use it because it wasn't heated & the weather wasn't great for outdoor swimming. The pool was an adequate size & appeared quite clean. Breakfast wasn't one of the better ones we've had at a Comfort Inn. If you like empty carbs & sugar, it will fit the bill. Waffles, sugary cold cereal, pastries, biscuits w/"sausage" gravy, toast, bagels. There were some "egg patties" (whatever those are - they were weird looking), hard-boiled eggs, a couple of kinds of yogurt & high sugar instant oatmeal, apples & oranges. It was nothing special. I rated a 3 for value based on the fact that we paid $75 + taxes ($86 total) & there was not an indoor pool & the breakfast choices were minimal but overall, it was great for a place to sleep. Beds & pillows not the most comfortable we've had from a Comfort Inn, but also not the worst. Check-out was quick. Would recommend for a clean place to stay over night.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank limyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davena W, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Newport, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Thank you so much for your feedback on your stay with us here at Comfort Inn Newport, Tn. It looks like we did meet all of your basic needs here while here with us, but feel a little short on your expectaions. You are 100% right our pool is seasonal open from Memorial Day to Labor Day as those are our best days of weather here in the Smoky Mountains, some is not as great as others, so it makes swimming a little chilly some days. Hopefully your next stay is sunny and beautiful so you can enjoy the nice cool clear pool. I do apologize about the delay at check in with the computer system. It has been taken care of and the clerk has been trained how to do a manual check in for someone in the case this ever happens again. We do try to have a large variety of different breakfast items as we have many people from differnet walks of life from the younger to older crowd, from the healthy hikers to the junk food junkies. So thank you for your input on the healthier side and we are looking in to putting a few more things in for your healthier eaters. Thank you again for your time and business. If you have any questions or need help booking your next stay please call me anytime.
Davena Woods

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

After 9 hours of driving from Florida, we were ready to settle in and get some rest. The hotel appeared fairly new, with a nicely sized room. The receptionist (Dee) was very nice and helpful.

Unfortunately, when we pulled back our sheets to both beds, (we always check for bedbugs) we found that the bedding had not been changed. One bed had....buggers.... right below a pillow, and the other bed appeared "rumpled," as if it had been slept in and then just re-made.

I called Dee at the front desk and let her know about the beds, and she came right up. She was so very nice and apologetic and changed the sheets then and there. She wanted to make sure we were very happy.

After that negative start, everything went smoothly. The beds were comfortable, the bathroom was clean, and all was well. In the morning, we ate a good breakfast (except for the skim milk which was more like white water) and were on our way.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Very nice hotel. Rooms were large with queen beds, refrigerator, microwave. Bed were as comfortable as the high end hotels. I like that everything is inside. Breakfast was good and hot. Staff were superb. Right beside the Interstate. Convenient. Get a coupon at the rest area!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buncheygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

The location, cleanliness, service, spacious rooms and comfortable beds couldn't have been better. We were so pleased finding this oasis of comfort along the interstate and in a small town. Breakfast was efficient with plenty of choices. It was a pleasure staying here.

Room Tip: great overnite stay when travelling
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pinecone12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Spent one night in the Comfort Inn Newport. Room was clean, bed was excellent, heater worked well and was quiet. Breakfast was not bad - biscuits and gravy, good cinnamon waffles. Coffee was great. Good for a night for the busy traveler. Excellent value - paid $60 for a room with two queen beds.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rhud12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

It is a pleasure to stay at this hotel, it's clean, comfortable and very well taken care of. Not much to say except you can book your stay here with confidence. The rooms are clean, the breakfast gives a lot of variety, and the staff is most helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank judy047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 10 in Newport
155 reviews
11.6 mi away
Jefferson Inn
Jefferson Inn
#3 of 8 in Dandridge
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 8 in Dandridge
239 reviews
11.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Dandridge
Hampton Inn Dandridge
#1 of 8 in Dandridge
506 reviews
11.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Morristown Conference Center Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Newport

Address: 1149 Smokey Mountain Lane, I-40 to exit 432B, first right off the exit, Newport, TN 37821-9031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Newport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Newport
Price Range: $57 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Newport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer EXTRA LARGE ROOMS, largest in the area, We have an INTERIOR CORRIDOR HOTEL, with FREE HOT BREAKFAST, ELEVATOR,and FITNESS Center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing