We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overlooks Nothing but the Smokies” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Christopher Place Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Christopher Place Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Overlooks Nothing but the Smokies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2009

Saw this saying on their shirts..they're right! The inn and setting are of exceptional beauty. The Innkeeper and staff graciously attended to every detail. Loved the room, the many antiques and unique family collections. The dining was elegant and outstanding.
We shall remember this place with fond memories.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    33
    12
    7
    4
See reviews for
18
224
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2009

Discovered Christopher Place in Select Registry Book after staying at Captain Lord Mansion in Kennebunkport, Maine last December. Did our research and decided this was the place for us on a fall foliage trip to the Smokies. Wonderful converted former private home with a sad distant past. Arrived after dark our first night and were met by Ray who was a wonderful host. Gave us an informative personal tour of the property, arranged for a delicious meal in Marston's pub, and took our bags to a beautiful suite on the second floor. Elevator makes moving bags a snap rather than negotiating a beautiful wide curved staircase with heavy luggage. Room was spacious and nicely appointed. Wonderful bed and down pillows. Corner room(Mountain Sunrise) with views in two directions. Great breakfast the next morning, in fact all three mornings we were there. Served at individual tables as in a restaurant unlike some group seatings we have had in other B&Bs. Very flexible seating times of your choice unlike an "early seating or late seating" arrangement. Marvelous dinner on Saturday night in the dining room. Quiet and relaxing. Nice guests whom we made friends with and had delightful conversations with in eating situations and in the large game/entertainment room on the third floor after dinner. Can't say enough about the staff. Ray, Amanda, Tim, Amanda's mom, and the lady chef were all just great. The host, Marston Price, was out of town that weekend but came in during our Monday breakfast and couldn't have been more hospitable. You will love this place. Relaxing, quiet, secluded, close to Smokies attractions. Really enjoyed our trip to Asheville and the Biltmore mansion. Christopher Place is a resort you should really try.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColonelDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2009

My husband and I took our trip to Christopher Place when he came home for his two weeks r&r (he's deployed to Afghanistan) :) It was our 1 year anniversary and we wanted somewhere quiet and romantic and Christopher Place is exactly that. The staff, especially Amanda, was AMAZING. The food was absolutely wonderful. The rooms were beautiful. My husband and I kept saying how we couldn't find one thing wrong with the place! It is such an amazing place to spend a romantic weekend, I would recommend it to everyone!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mschuldt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2009

I stayed at Christopher Place from October 2-4, 2009 for my best friend's wedding. The groom rented out the entire Bed & Breakfast for the wedding. The food was spectacular; the view was out of this world; and the service made us feel like we were at home. Marston was a tremendous host -- always up beat and making sure we were happy and satisfied. I cannot think of a better place to hold a wedding. I would recommend Christopher Place to anyone looking for a wedding location, a nice weekend getaway, or a business meeting. Thank you Marston and all of your staff!!!

David

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dnenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2009

We recently stayed at Christopher Place for the second time this year and, as during our first visit, we were not disappointed. We traveled with another couple to mark a special birthday and the weekend was perfect. Marston (the owner) is a great guy. Friendly, funny and a fantastic Mojito maker! We stayed in the Tournament of Roses room again and it felt like coming back to an old familiar place. This time they added a small table for two in front of the fireplace for the summer months that we found very convenient. During the colder months the table is removed and the woodburning fireplace is stocked with firewood every day for warmth and romance. Nice!
The pool was open and the weather was perfect so we enjoyed a lazy afternoon swimming and lounging poolside munching on some cheese and crackers. Dinner was delicious on both Friday and Saturday nights. Friday night we ordered from the pub menu even though the pub was closed due to water damage from the room above (an in-room jacuzzi left on overnight while the occupants were actually there.....uhhh, HELLO??!!) We were just happy the historic paintings were spared as rooms can be fixed (they were working on it during our stay and we never felt any inconvenience). The smaller dining room now has the fine distinction of being a temporary "pub". So we had the pleasure of enjoying our Mojitos overlooking the gardens with fresh picked mint right from outside the door. Saturday's dinner was reserved at the same time we made our room reservation and again - delicious. Breakfast on both Saturday and Sunday were quite good and filling and served at our convenience.
Overall, we enjoy our visits to Christopher Place so much that we arranged a weekend in the winter with more friends. Marston was very generous to offer a discount if we booked the entire Inn - which we did in less than 48 hours! THAT'S how great this place is. Go. You'll love it.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brwneyedligrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2009

This was our second visit to Christopher place, and we plan on returning every year! We absolutely love everything about this place. The location is beautiful, the house is amazing, and the staff is impeccable! Marston and his staff go above and beyond to make your stay the best it can possibly be. I have and would recommend Christopher Place to anyone who is looking for a relaxing getaway!!
P.S. The food is out of this world, the chef is amazing!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eoconnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, OH
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2009

This was the third time we have stayed at Christopher Place, the previous two times being in July 2005 and July 2006. As you might imagine, we have enjoyed our stay there every time.

The inn is secluded, yet it's close to I-40 and downtown Newport (about five miles). You would never know the interstate is near though, as you cannot see it nor hear any traffic whatsoever from the veranda of the inn, even in the calm of the evening.

Christopher Place is located in a beautiful area of the Smokies near English Mountain. The view of the mountains from the balcony is gorgeous and makes you feel miles away from everything. The inn itself is beautiful and elegant. There are plenty of amenities. There is an exercise room, sauna, heated pool, tennis court, and pool table and board games in the game room. The pool was nice and clean. The exercise room was nice but left a little to be desired; the TV had been removed from it and the treadmill was non-functional because the safety key had either been taken by another guest or lost.

We stayed in Camelot, the same room we had stayed in back in 2006. The room had been renovated since then and is very nice. It has a nice king-sized bed, large window overlooking the balcony and mountains, and a spacious shower. The plumbing must have been improved somehow because I remember during the previous stay there the shower would occasionally go ice-cold for a few moments. This never happened during our stay this time.

The service from the staff was excellent. We were consistently asked if we needed anything, and the staff and owner were very courteous. My wife requested a specific dish for breakfast for one of the mornings during our stay (before we even arrived), and they accommodated us. They are flexible and sensitive to dietary requests.

Breakfast was served at our leisure between 7-10 AM. We had dinner on one night of our stay, which was easily one of the best meals I have ever eaten, and one of the highlights of our stay.

There were a few small downsides to our stay. We felt the bed linens weren't of great quality, though they were clean. A few of our bathroom towels were beginning to fray and seemed like they needed to be replaced. A few times during our stay while we were outside we heard barking dogs a short way down the hill, which was slightly annoying considering we wanted to get away from our neighbors' barking dogs at home. However, these are all minor complaints and we still feel that our stay was excellent overall.

We highly recommend this intimate B&B to anyone looking to just get away to a beautiful and romantic location.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kelrodjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Newport
Comfort Inn Newport
#3 of 9 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 9 in Newport
3.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
13.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Dandridge
Hampton Inn Dandridge
#1 of 8 in Dandridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Newport Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christopher Place Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christopher Place Resort

Property: Christopher Place Resort
Address: 1500 Pinnacles Way, Newport, TN 37821-7308
Location: United States > Tennessee > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Christopher Place Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded in the scenic Smoky Mountains near Gatlinburg, Tennessee, is the incomparable bed and breakfast resort Christopher Place. More than any other Smoky Mountains resort, this award-winning Tennessee bed and breakfast inn was created especially for romantic retreats, unforgettable honeymoons, and very special events. Hidden on 200 wooded acres overlooking the Great Smoky Mountain National Park, our bed and breakfast offers an east Tennessee vacation away from your hurried routines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Christopher Place Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christopher Place Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing