We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand stand in the Smokies”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Christopher Place Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Calabash, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Grand stand in the Smokies”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Christopher Place is a diamond on top of a smokey mountain top. The estate is real a spectacle to see once you get up the winding mountain road. We stayed in the 'Lion's Den' and it was just a fantastic and spacious suite, the double whirlpool tub was outstanding. Do to the time of the year the fall foliage was long gone however the view from the deck and sipping on a cocktail from the Library pub was very relaxing. The breakfast outstanding and if you are lucky to get the table by the bay window you will be entertained by the resident 'Cardinal' who like to keep an eye on you and your breakfast.

Room Tip: First floor suite great room and close to pub and dinning room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miçhael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    34
    12
    7
    4
See reviews for
20
227
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Loganville, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 14, 2013

This bed and breakfast was perfect! We took a weekend anniversary trip to the resort during the month of March. We were supposed to go the month before, but they got an ice storm and the resort took their time to re-accommodate us and was very friendly and caring! The resort was quiet, nobody bothered us (a typical concern with b&b's), the rooms were beautiful, and the food was delicious! It snowed a gorgeous, thick covering while we were there, and nestled on top of the mountain, it was silent outside, with winter birds all around! If you get the chance, I would definitely recommend!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TandE_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
381 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Located just outside Newport, TN, and situated on a hillside with a view of the Smoky Mountains off in the distance, this B&B has a very picturesque setting. Rooms are quite spacious, comfortable and nicely furnished. We took advantage of the Living Social discount to spend three nights at this B&B. Newport has next to nothing to offer. Ashville and Gatlinburg are a considerable distance away. We had a pleasant time and I am glad we had the opportunity to stay here, but there is nothing to draw us back a second time.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BionicOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Lake, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

My wife and I recently celebrated our fifth anniversary at this charming southern inn. From the moment we turned into the courtyard of this beautiful home I knew it was going to be an excellent vacation. The owner, Marston, greeted us at the front door with an exuberant greeting. The hospitality never ended. Marston, Debbie, and Karen all embodied the definition of southern hospitality. Christopher Place is a beautiful home and one truly feels transported back in time when entering the luxurious appointed manor. The view of the Blue Ridge Mountains is truly breathtaking. The picturesque views from the covered porch and balcony immediately cause one to forget all their troubles. The rooms were beautifully appointed and charming. Both the library and dining room offer the same wonderful views of the majestic Appalachian Mountains. The chef, Karen, is incredible in her own right as she prepares the type of gourmet meals that one would expect to find in Paris or New York but not at a little bed and breakfast tucked away in the Tennessee mountains. Karen's culinary skills certainly compare with those of Bobby Flay and Geoffrey Zakarian though she is far too humble to ever admit it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmExplorer83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senoia, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Found this place on LivingSocial Deal. A place that I will always remember because it was just Perfect! Secluded and Peaceful but close to everything we wanted to see in Pigeon Forge area of TN. Beautiful home on 200 acres of Smoky Mountain foothills. The view was hard to keep your eyes from constantly turning your head to see again. A large window in our large well furnished suite made it accessible every minute to just sit and admire. The furnishings in this large estate were extremely interesting with many one of a kind photos and paintings. There was also an absolutely gorgeous library pub that we really never got to enjoy as much as we would have liked. Will go back for a longer stay next time. They have a dining room where their 5 Star chef serves up excellent cuisine found no where else. Can't say enough for this lovers getaway!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bgreening
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We just returned from our fourth stay at Christopher Place, so obviously we love it. We always get a room overlooking the mountains because the gorgeous views inspire instant relaxation. Marston (owner), Debbie, Nina, and Coy (staff) and the amazing chef, Karen Valentine, have become friends who warmly welcome and spoil us with attentive care. And they graciously adapt meals to accommodate my husband's gluten-free needs. If you want a truly restful and romantic getaway, you can't beat this charming inn on the edge of the Smokies.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the mountains are simply fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MimiSandy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kernersville, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2013

My husband and I just got married at Christopher Place Resort a few weeks ago. It was perfect! The venue was gorgeous. The scenery was beautiful. Debbie, the wedding coordinator, was amazing and took all of the stress away that is usually involved with weddings! All of our guests enjoyed the resort and their beautiful rooms. The food was delicious both mornings! And the beds are the most comfortable EVER!! I really wish I could have brought the bed home with us!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Newport
Comfort Inn Newport
#2 of 9 in Newport
173 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South
3.2 mi away
Best Western Newport Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Blue Mountain Mist Country Inn and Cottages
15.7 mi away
Berry Springs Lodge
Berry Springs Lodge
#2 of 17 in Sevierville
585 reviews
10.8 mi away
Point Lake Suites at the Point Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christopher Place Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christopher Place Resort

Property: Christopher Place Resort
Address: 1500 Pinnacles Way, Newport, TN 37821-7308
Location: United States > Tennessee > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Christopher Place Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded in the scenic Smoky Mountains near Gatlinburg, Tennessee, is the incomparable bed and breakfast resort Christopher Place. More than any other Smoky Mountains resort, this award-winning Tennessee bed and breakfast inn was created especially for romantic retreats, unforgettable honeymoons, and very special events. Hidden on 200 wooded acres overlooking the Great Smoky Mountain National Park, our bed and breakfast offers an east Tennessee vacation away from your hurried routines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Christopher Place Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christopher Place Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing