We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming In Every Way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Christopher Place Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
180 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Charming In Every Way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

My wife and I recently celebrated our fifth anniversary at this charming southern inn. From the moment we turned into the courtyard of this beautiful home I knew it was going to be an excellent vacation. The owner, Marston, greeted us at the front door with an exuberant greeting. The hospitality never ended. Marston, Debbie, and Karen all embodied the definition of southern hospitality. Christopher Place is a beautiful home and one truly feels transported back in time when entering the luxurious appointed manor. The view of the Blue Ridge Mountains is truly breathtaking. The picturesque views from the covered porch and balcony immediately cause one to forget all their troubles. The rooms were beautifully appointed and charming. Both the library and dining room offer the same wonderful views of the majestic Appalachian Mountains. The chef, Karen, is incredible in her own right as she prepares the type of gourmet meals that one would expect to find in Paris or New York but not at a little bed and breakfast tucked away in the Tennessee mountains. Karen's culinary skills certainly compare with those of Bobby Flay and Geoffrey Zakarian though she is far too humble to ever admit it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodMeister83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    33
    12
    7
    4
See reviews for
18
225
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senoia, Georgia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Found this place on LivingSocial Deal. A place that I will always remember because it was just Perfect! Secluded and Peaceful but close to everything we wanted to see in Pigeon Forge area of TN. Beautiful home on 200 acres of Smoky Mountain foothills. The view was hard to keep your eyes from constantly turning your head to see again. A large window in our large well furnished suite made it accessible every minute to just sit and admire. The furnishings in this large estate were extremely interesting with many one of a kind photos and paintings. There was also an absolutely gorgeous library pub that we really never got to enjoy as much as we would have liked. Will go back for a longer stay next time. They have a dining room where their 5 Star chef serves up excellent cuisine found no where else. Can't say enough for this lovers getaway!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bgreening
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

We just returned from our fourth stay at Christopher Place, so obviously we love it. We always get a room overlooking the mountains because the gorgeous views inspire instant relaxation. Marston (owner), Debbie, Nina, and Coy (staff) and the amazing chef, Karen Valentine, have become friends who warmly welcome and spoil us with attentive care. And they graciously adapt meals to accommodate my husband's gluten-free needs. If you want a truly restful and romantic getaway, you can't beat this charming inn on the edge of the Smokies.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the mountains are simply fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MimiSandy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kernersville, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

My husband and I just got married at Christopher Place Resort a few weeks ago. It was perfect! The venue was gorgeous. The scenery was beautiful. Debbie, the wedding coordinator, was amazing and took all of the stress away that is usually involved with weddings! All of our guests enjoyed the resort and their beautiful rooms. The food was delicious both mornings! And the beds are the most comfortable EVER!! I really wish I could have brought the bed home with us!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We actually attended and performed at a wedding at Christopher Place Resort. And although rain came and everyone had to "think on their feet", Marsten and his staff at Christopher Place Resort responded with flexible ideas and mad the evening truly spectacular! We highly recommend this resort!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

My mom & I stayed for one night in the Camelot room. This is probably geared towards a "couples" place but we felt right at home from the beginning. Loved viewing the family pictures & talking to the owner. Food was excellent! We had dinner the night we arrived and of course breakfast the next morning. We ordered a picnic to take with us on our departure and it was delicious. So much food we couldn't eat it all for lunch so we had leftovers for a snack later. Breathtaking views from the veranda!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We used a Living Social voucher to stay at Christopher Place. They treated us as special as anyone else and gave us a great room (Margaret's). It had two sitting areas and dormers overlooking the view. I asked for a quiet room and being on the third floor met that need. The bed was luxurious and the linens were clean. The whole resort was well maintained.

The breakfasts were great, but the special dinners were spectacular. Review the menus online and make a reservation before you go. Newport isn't a bustling town with many dinner choices so this was a great option. The dinner we enjoyed was $40 per person, but one of the best we have ever had topped off with a magnificent view.

The resort is filled with history and the three-story circular stairway in the entryway was stunning. We also enjoyed the veranda and balcony with the rocking chairs overlooking the views. The top floor game room is filled with more fascinating photos and history (presidents included) with a pool table, board games and sitting areas. Check out the cookie jar in the kitchenette.

The pool was wonderful after a day of hiking and every single staff member, as well as Marston (the owner) was helpful and accommodating - always friendly and willing to converse but knew when to just let you enjoy the surroundings and your privacy.

We didn't know what an Inn of Distinction was when we booked, but we plan on staying at many more!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wordzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Newport
Comfort Inn Newport
#3 of 9 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South
15.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Morristown Conference Center Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Newport Inn
21.6 mi away
The Foxtrot Bed and Breakfast
15.7 mi away
Berry Springs Lodge
Berry Springs Lodge
#1 of 17 in Sevierville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christopher Place Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christopher Place Resort

Property: Christopher Place Resort
Address: 1500 Pinnacles Way, Newport, TN 37821-7308
Location: United States > Tennessee > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Christopher Place Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded in the scenic Smoky Mountains near Gatlinburg, Tennessee, is the incomparable bed and breakfast resort Christopher Place. More than any other Smoky Mountains resort, this award-winning Tennessee bed and breakfast inn was created especially for romantic retreats, unforgettable honeymoons, and very special events. Hidden on 200 wooded acres overlooking the Great Smoky Mountain National Park, our bed and breakfast offers an east Tennessee vacation away from your hurried routines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Christopher Place Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christopher Place Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing