We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great retreat near gatlinburg, tn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Christopher Place Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Great place to stay. Peaceful and pretty views. Staff was very nice. Great amenities including a great collection of DVDs to choose from. We initially stayed in the Sir Charles room which is really nice with a great hot tub however in the morning, there is a cardinal that taps at the bedroom window starting at 7am. Because we are not early risers, this did not work for us so we asked to be placed in a different room. The staff was very nice and understanding and immediately placed us in the Camelot room which was great with amazing views of the mountains! The breakfast and dinner was great. If you want to have a meal somewhere close by, a resturant called Thhe Front Porch has excellent food and is 10 minutes away in Cosby. We would definitely come back to stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Smirghah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marston72, Manager at Christopher Place Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thank you for your kind review - funny how that Cardinal wants to see what all the fuss is inside the house! We appreciate you giving us the opportunity to shift your room and ensure you have a good nights sleep. We always seek to ensure our guests have a wonderful stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 300 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Inn for one night and we loved it. We were greeted immediately by the staff and even though we checked in early our room was ready for us. We actually got an upgrade!!! The formal dinner and breakfast in bed was amazing. We are from the city and enjoyed the peaceful surroundings and welcoming staff. Thanks for making our first trip to the mountains memorable. Great getaway for those who want to experience The Great Smokey Mtn in style.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drdannimax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marston72, Owner at Christopher Place Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thank you for your stay and so happy you were able to enjoy your first B&B experience with us. We love to surprise our guess with early check-ins and upgrades! Just doing the little things are what makes our location so special and how we ensure each guest has a great experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We recently stayed 2 nights at the Inn and everyone was friendly and accommodating. We had such a nice stay only 1 hour from home. Meals were great, the hiking on the property was challenging and gorgeous. The staff was all great!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the room in above the Carriage House. We had a wood burning fireplace and a hot tub in o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neely N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights and loved it! This was our first time at a B&B and I have to say that I did not know what to expect. I am sold!!!! The staff was polite, the food was amazing, the entire property was very clean, welcoming, and relaxing. My husband and I had plans to go to dinner in Gatlinburg and shop...we never left the resort. We took the hike that is there at the property and relaxed all day. It was absolutely perfect. We will return once the pool opens. Trust me you will not be disappointed. I was very impressed and I will be back for sure!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jontiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at Christopher Place in late December for 4 days. The view from CP is really striking: the Smoky Mountains are in full evidence from all of the back windows, and from a number of the rooms. CP is quite far from the main road, so it's very quiet, and CP has a "quiet" policy asking the guests to keep it quiet after 10 AM. The staff are very friendly and unobtrusive, and the breakfast food was quite excellent. We enjoyed sitting in the 1st floor lounge/bar (which has a nice fireplace) and using the comfortable game room on the 3rd floor (which has a pool table and a bunch of board games). We used one of the "get one free day" certificates obtained by buying one of the Inn guides (see http://store.iloveinns.com/ProductDetails.asp?ProductCode=AHI24), which helped make the stay affordable. All in all, we really enjoyed our time there.

That said, we had a few problems with the two different rooms we stayed in:

• The room we had reserved, the Margaret Room, is on the third floor. The room is enormous, with a nice bed and nice furnishings, and it has a wonderful view of the mountains. However, there's a closet in the room that houses one of CP's main heating units, and when the heating unit is running (which in cooler days is all of the time), there's a loud throbbing hum in the room that's especially loud in the bathroom, plus the whole room has a vibration to some degree. The vibrating hum isn't constant; it varies, and it was especially loud at night (it's substantially more noticeable than the kind of thing you hear in a hotel that has one of those older heating units near the window). We stuck it out the first night, but it was hard to sleep through and would have made it hard to enjoy the room during the day. The next day, we asked to switch rooms, which they gracefully let us do (they moved us to a more expensive room, but didn't charge us an increased rate), and they acknowledged that we weren't the first ones to have some trouble with the noise/vibration. We know it is the kind of thing that might not bother some people and would bother others a lot. The staff told us that the other third floor room would probably have the same noise/vibration issue.

• We were switched to the Lion's Den, a room on the first floor. This room was also well decorated, and spacious, and features a hot tub as well as two separate sinks/toilets. The bed was quite comfortable too. However, this room had a few quirks: 1) Before we switched into the room, we were told that a few of the hot tub's jets weren't working, but when we tried turning on the jets, a foul odor quickly emerged, kind of like sewage. We mentioned this to the staff and they said it was because the water is partially sulfuric, but that didn't make sense to us because the smell didn't happen when the water was in the tub; it only happened when the jets were running. We figured the jets probably hadn't been cleaned and had some stale/fouled water in them. 2) The hot water in the shower didn't last even a full minute (there was no similar problem with either the hot tub or the sink faucets). When asked, the staff indicated an awareness of this problem but said they were having trouble fixing it because the floor was concrete, which made it difficult to get under the floor to fix the water problems. This problem made the shower very difficult to use (there wasn't even enough time to wash shampoo out of one's hair). 3) For one of the sinks in the bathroom, only scalding hot water would come out; it was impossible to get cold water from it. In talking to the staff, we determined this was also a known issue, but it obviously wasn't a huge deal because there was another sink we could use.

Room Tip: Be warned regarding the sounds issues for the 3rd floor rooms, and the water issues for the Lion'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jpollo02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarstonPrice, Owner at Christopher Place Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

We are so happy you enjoyed the wonderful view, the quiet surroundings in the mountains, and the common guest areas. And we were happy to upgrade your stay to Lion's Den. We appreciate the information regarding the bathroom and have subsequently addressed them. We do hope you return to enjoy another quiet escape with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Christopher Place for two nights after Christmas. We loved it! It is our second time to the Bed and Breakfast. We stayed in the Roman Holiday room which had a fireplace and double jacuzzi bath tub and great mountain views. We also had our breakfast delivered to our room both mornings. The staff is super nice and great to work with if you need anything. The king bed was very comfortable to sleep on. We also went to the top floor and played 2 games of pool or however you say it. I am not very good, but my husband and I had a blast attempting to play. We also brought our own DVD's and watched a movie in our room. You can also have dinner brought to your room. One night we only wanted cheese and they brought us a beautiful cheese tray with cherries. We WILL do this again.

Room Tip: There are many rooms to chose from on different floors, some in a separate building. Variety of pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynnR494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

After being married here 8 years ago, we decided to visit again for our anniversary weekend. We stayed in the Mountain Sunrise room and were not disappointed. The bed was amazing and the room was large and comfortable. The sunrise view from our bedroom was nothing short of breathtaking. The breakfast both mornings was both elegant and plentiful. Saturday evening we chose to eat in their main dining room and were very pleased. Not only was the meal amazing, but the Christmas decor and private table made it the perfect place to celebrate. Our only disappointment was that there was no bar food available when we arrived on Fri evening. Luckily I called to check so we could stop to eat prior to our arrival. The location is a bit out of the way, but once you look at the view it is most definitely worth it! Thanks to all for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Definitely chose a room facing the mountains to get the most from your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Newport
Comfort Inn Newport
#4 of 10 in Newport
183 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South
17.5 mi away
Dollywood's DreamMore Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
The Foxtrot Bed and Breakfast
16 mi away
Blue Mountain Mist Country Inn and Cottages
3.4 mi away
Motel 6 Newport
Motel 6 Newport
#7 of 10 in Newport
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christopher Place Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christopher Place Resort

Address: 1500 Pinnacles Way, Newport, TN 37821-7308
Location: United States > Tennessee > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: $153 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Christopher Place Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded in the scenic Smoky Mountains near Gatlinburg, Tennessee, is the incomparable bed and breakfast resort Christopher Place. More than any other Smoky Mountains resort, this award-winning Tennessee bed and breakfast inn was created especially for romantic retreats, unforgettable honeymoons, and very special events. Hidden on 200 wooded acres overlooking the Great Smoky Mountain National Park, our bed and breakfast offers an east Tennessee vacation away from your hurried routines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Christopher Place Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christopher Place Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing