We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was wet or raining until the day we left”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Christopher Place Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2012

The lousy weather did not affect the enjoyment we had relaxing in the resort; playing with the cat or just reading a book while enjoying the view. We met several other guests during our 5 night stay as well. Highly recommend a visit whether you are coming to relax, visit Gatlinburg, or tour the Smoky Mountains. The meals were top notch. We stayed in Margarets Room which was clean, comfortable and very large.

Best Regards,
Brian S

Room Tip: The photos on the christopherplace.com web site look great. The rooms are much larger than they appe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 296 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2012

We have stayed at Christopher Place a number of times for special occasions and each time is better than the last! The food is always top notch, the staff is friendly and professional, the rooms are private and cozy and the view is to die for! We love it so much, we have bought two of our employees gift certificates to stay their on their wedding nights!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GatlinburgGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Beautiful view, wonderful library/lounge kind of room, extensive game room, pool, gym, sauna. Our room was the Tournament of Roses, which enjoyed great privacy. Food was outstanding in every way, and staff was unobtrusive. Would happily return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jesse P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I decided to spend our 10 year anniversary weekend at Christopher Place. We couldn't have picked a more perfect destination. The views are outstanding, the food is amazing, the main house is just breath taking, and our room, Woodland Escape, was so comfortable and just what we needed. Everyone who works there is exceptionally nice and easy to talk to/with. Marston Price, the owner, really made us feel at home and welcomed! Not to mention the resident kitty, Sophie, who would always meet us on our way outside and sit for pets with us on the porch as we sipped a cocktail and watched the mountains!
Within an easy drive there are great hiking trails, arts and crafts and the City of Gatlinberg.
If you're looking for a romantic, relaxing getaway that will keep your tummy full, then Christopher Place is the place for you!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

found this inn thorough a living social deal...a first for us! marston price, the owner, is a charming young man who is proud of his family's history and it is a very interesting one. the dinners were very good, but the breakfast less successful in our opinion. the view is divine and we needed a quiet and restful spot...filled the bill.....this inn is not for everyone...read the web page thoroughly regarding meals etc....limited choice, but if you want you can go to newport and find chain restaurants......it is a romantic spot...young couples in love looked happy!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flatrockgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Our stay in the Sir Charles Room was very pleasant and relaxing. The grounds were beautiful. The food was delicious. The staff was attentive and friendly. And, the "RC" (Resident Cat) - "Sophie" was adorable. Too bad we couldn't stay longer!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We got a good deal from Groupon for a 2-night stay; even with the reduced price, it was still a lot of money but my husband wanted a nice getaway for my birthday. The view of the Smoky Mts is beautiful from the back of the house--can be seen from the dining room, porches and maybe a couple of the rooms. We had the room above the exercise area which was nice because it was private.

We were greeted by someone who could care less that we were there--gave us the tour matter-of-factly and had no interest in engaging w/us. Because I'm a picky eater, we decided not to make dinner reservations since it would be likely that the menu wasn't appealing to me and we weren't able to look at it beforehand even though it was available due to lack of internet access. I had remembered reading something about a pub and was hopeful that we could eat there rather than having to leave the resort. Since the location is somewhat remote, after the long drive to get there, I didn't want to have to go back out; unfortunately, that was our only choice. The pub is only open on Sundays and Mondays and we arrived on a Wednesday. There were some delicious home-baked cookies available on Wed but the jar was never refilled once they were gone and we left on Friday. Breakfast was very good and the staff there was very nice; however, for the price of the rooms, the coffee was terrible. I'm not sure what kind they served for breakfast but the in-room set-up had Folgers! The room itself was very spacious and it was fun having the whirlpool bath in the bedroom area so you could watch tv from the tub. I do have to say they provide the best bathrobes I've ever had--soft teri inside w/a silky outer layer. I would have loved to wear the robe the entire 2-1/2 days we were there. We were there for the do-nothing appeal and spent most of our time reading though my husband did a short hike from the resort. I probably wouldn't recommend the resort; if someone had a reason to be in this area, they'd be better off staying in a chain-priced hotel.

Room Tip: Nice and private over the gym but nothing beats a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mggc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marston72, Owner at Christopher Place Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Thank you for your review and it sounds like you loved our views, privacy, cookies, robes and breakfast! These are all wonderful things that make Christopher Place a true gem. Marston’s Library Pub hours vary based on season and has only been open Sunday and Monday for several months. Chef Karen Valentine creates a wonderful meal nightly in our main dining room and loves the challenge of a picky eater! As each guest makes their reservation we specifically ask for dietary concerns and those are applied to breakfast and dinner. I am sure had you chosen to experience this you would have found the meal one of the most memorable portions of your stay. We welcome the feedback on the coffee and will take it into consideration as we are always looking to ensure our guests visits simply perfect. Again, we are happy you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Newport
Comfort Inn Newport
#2 of 10 in Newport
176 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South
19.9 mi away
The Inn On The River
The Inn On The River
#2 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
2,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
The Lodge at Buckberry Creek
20.0 mi away
Courtyard Marriott Pigeon Forge
Courtyard Marriott Pigeon Forge
#1 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
241 reviews
16.0 mi away
Blue Mountain Mist Country Inn and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christopher Place Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christopher Place Resort

Address: 1500 Pinnacles Way, Newport, TN 37821-7308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: $191 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Christopher Place Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded in the scenic Smoky Mountains near Gatlinburg, Tennessee, is the incomparable bed and breakfast resort Christopher Place. More than any other Smoky Mountains resort, this award-winning Tennessee bed and breakfast inn was created especially for romantic retreats, unforgettable honeymoons, and very special events. Hidden on 200 wooded acres overlooking the Great Smoky Mountain National Park, our bed and breakfast offers an east Tennessee vacation away from your hurried routines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Christopher Place Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christopher Place Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing