We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Christopher Place Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Excellent and friendly service with awesome dinning. Accommodations are everything one could ask for, well appointed and most comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 300 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Christopher Place for our 15th anniversary. We stayed in Margaret's Room on the 3rd floor. It has a beautiful, huge, circular window that faces the trees that are next to the house. It also faces the back of the house, which has beautiful views of the mountains. The room is very large and has a nice, updated bathroom.

We ate dinner in the main dibing area on the first night to celebrate our anniversary. The food was very good. We were the only people in the dining room, which made it very romantic. The breakfast food was excellent each morning.

We woke up early the first morning, made coffee in our room, and went out on the veranda and watched the sunrise. Other than the sound of the birds, it was completely silent. This was a great way to start our day.

The staff was very helpful and friendly. They are more than willing to give you information if you want it, but they basically allow you to enjoy the property at your leisure.

The only time we were uncomfortable because we didn't know what to do was when we first arrived. You walk in the front door and into the beautiful foyer and staircase area. We looked around for a long time and didn't see anyone who appeared to work there. We didn't know how to check in. Eventually someone came out of the kitchen area and checked us in. We learned by the time we left, that usually if you knock on the kitchen door, someone is in there who can help. The kitchen door is on the left side of the foyer when you walk in the front door.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank scrappin74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We recently spent our 1 year anniversary here over a weekend through a Groupon. We booked in the Mountain Sunrise room which had a shared bathroom, but we appropriately warned on the website and were expecting it. When we arrived, we found that the room that shared with us was empty so we ended up having the bathroom to ourselves which was quite nice. The views were amazing. I can not say enough how much we loved going to sleep and waking up with such an amazing view.

Breakfasts were delicious!!! We unfortunately did not have time to do dinners at the B&B. We did get a picnic basket ($25) for lunch which was also delicious and plenty of food for the two of us.

Views, again they were amazing from all around! Beautiful home and a great hiking trail on the estate. We weren't able to make it to the top, but it was a lovely little trail in the meantime.

Within driving distance to Pigeon Forge/Gatlinburg/Smoky Mountain trails and also to Asheville, NC.

There was warning about potential lady bugs in the paperwork we read, but we did not experience them (probably because of the time of year we were there).

Bathrooms are small. My boyfriend is very tall so he did have some trouble in the shower, but the home was built in the 70s, so we expected a little trouble with this.

This is an isolated location and a great place for a romantic getaway. Loved it and we plan on coming back again!

Room Tip: I would try to choose a room that has a view of the mountains. If you don't mind sharing the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ria7678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Could not have possibly been more pleased with this place. Excellent view of the mountains, staff that seemed more like friends than staff. My fiance and I ate in the pub, and we had a good meal; we did not make a reservation in the main dining area, primarily because we wanted to sample the local cuisine. There is no "local cuisine" in Newport TN, but that is not the doing of Christopher Place. Again, we were enormously pleased, and if you reserve there, say hello to Nena, Shirley, and Debbie for us.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I honestly don't know where to start on this review. I guess the staff is the best place. Quite possibly the best, most courteous and helpful group of individuals that I've ever encountered. They were always available to help, but not in a overt way. Marston (owner) is an easy going, light hearted gentleman that invites you into "his home" like part of the family. He is very knowledgeable about the area, the Inn, artwork and quite a few other subjects. The room (Lion's Den) was huge. Double toilets with hallway linking shower, large 2 person hot tub, double closets, comfortable king size bed and unique decorating. The pictures on their website don't do the room or Inn justice. The resort is beautiful w/ excellent views from the rocking chairs on the Veranda. Upstairs has a pool table and a number of "throw back" board games from out youth like Scrabble, Clue etc. It even has a small elevator for those w/ challenge mobility. We had a blast the one day it rained. Now for the food. Breakfast was out of this world, dinner was magnificent and the library (limited fare) was spectacular. You must try the fish & chips. Quite possibly the best I've ever had.

Do yourself a favor and visit the Inn sometime soon. You won't be disappointed and will be sure to go back time and time again. I am a seasoned traveler and very picky. Well worth the visit!

Room Tip: did not use the fitness center or spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank romingnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We had the pleasure of having a few drinks and a meal in the library pub last week. Food was terrific and the atmosphere was really comfortable. Owner was very friendly and made us feel very welcome. A wonderful rock on the veranda with unbeatable veiws! Our only regret for the evening was we were not staying in one of their rooms! Our friends are locals we envy them!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pearadella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

The view is perfect, the beds are oh, so comfy, the room decor perfect, the staff friendly, but the food is disappointing. We ate the evening meal in the dining room. The ahi tuna, normally served rare, was well done. The basamati rice was hard as a rock. One member of our party ate one bite and didn't eat the rest. At $40 a plate, it was rather expensive trash. The next morning we awoke to eggs cooked in such a way that it was as though there was a sheet of plastic on the top. We had to cut into it with a knife. A fork wouldn't go through. The fresh fruit was presented well and was delicious.

Room Tip: We stayed in the St. Charles and it was a beautiful, quiet, room with tasteful decor. Our friends s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marston72, Owner at Christopher Place Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2012

We are pleased you enjoyed the fabulous views, decor, and wonderful value received on your recent stay. We are sorry you were not pleased with the dinner option and wished we had the opportunity to correct the meals during your stay. The four course meal served with wonderful views is a great value and we always want to ensure guests are able to fully enjoy themselves. We will be implementing a new breakfast menu next week and will ensure guests are able to start their day with a well cooked meal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South
21.6 mi away
The Foxtrot Bed and Breakfast
16 mi away
Blue Mountain Mist Country Inn and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Dollywood's DreamMore Resort and Spa
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Newport
Comfort Inn Newport
#4 of 10 in Newport
184 reviews
3.2 mi away
Best Western Newport Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christopher Place Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christopher Place Resort

Address: 1500 Pinnacles Way, Newport, TN 37821-7308
Location: United States > Tennessee > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: $165 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Christopher Place Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded in the scenic Smoky Mountains near Gatlinburg, Tennessee, is the incomparable bed and breakfast resort Christopher Place. More than any other Smoky Mountains resort, this award-winning Tennessee bed and breakfast inn was created especially for romantic retreats, unforgettable honeymoons, and very special events. Hidden on 200 wooded acres overlooking the Great Smoky Mountain National Park, our bed and breakfast offers an east Tennessee vacation away from your hurried routines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Christopher Place Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christopher Place Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing