We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Remote feel, terrific view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Christopher Place Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Remote feel, terrific view”
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We recently spent two nights at Christopher Place and enjoyed the beauty and peacefulness of the location. I do have to agree with some of the reviews that speak of unrealized potential.
Some ideas that would position Christopher Place to be a more special property for visitors are: A better greeting for guests. Rather than entering a somewhat empty and cold hallway and searching for staff, I would consult a designer to re-imagine the space to have it feel warmer and more inviting. Use the doorbell to call staff to greet guests and make sure the staff have a warm friendly personality.
I would have fresh flower arrangements throughout the public rooms and on the dining tables. These can be cut flowers from the gardens, which with some expansion would further enhance the property.
The new kitty is a huge plus. Great personality. But I would keep her bed, food, and water a little removed from the entrance.
Karen, the dinner chef, is really talented and the dinners were for the most part excellent. The breakfast, though, was poor one morning and very good the second day. I think it depends who is cooking.
Hiring staff with the right personality for this type of work (warm, friendly, outgoing) is important. Amanda totally fits the bill and goes out of her way to be helpful. Making sure the other staff is equally as friendly is important.
If there was some way that each room could control their own temperature would help keep everyone more comfortable. If that is not possible adding ceiling fans would be good.
Overall I would encourage travelers to try Christopher Place because the setting is so beautiful and it is a very peaceful place to unwind and spend quality time with loved ones or just veg out with a great book. But I encourage the owner to "take it to the next level" because the potential is there to compete with the top small resorts and B and B's.

Room Tip: Definitely pick a room with the mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LJLERC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    33
    12
    7
    4
See reviews for
18
225
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We visited Christopher Place for the first time this weekend. The property is beautiful and well maintained. The out of the way location was perfect for a relaxing getaway from the daily grind. The view of the mountains from the back of the main house is wonderful, and the quiet of the area was such a nice break for us. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Dinner on Friday night was superb and the setting was very nice. The mountain trail on the property was a great outing on Saturday and we found a perfect spot to stop and sit on a blanket and just enjoy the view for a while. A great getaway overall in a very lovely, peaceful location. We would highly recommend it for couples and we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in "Tournament of Roses" - it is in the guest house and has a private entrance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2012

My husband and I just returned home from a 2 night stay at Christopher Place on our way toward Asheville, NC last week. This is our 3rd visit to Christopher Place and and we love it more each time we stay. Camelot on the second floor was our room this time with a view toward the mountains. We read and relaxed while sitting in the rocking chairs on the veranda overlooking the beautiful mountains. Dinner and breakfast were excellent as they always are. The staff was very attentive to anything we needed. They go out of their way to make your stay wonderful. We also loved petting their new kitten they named Sophie. Teresa B

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blindlady1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Level Contributor
303 reviews
256 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We stayed here for one night, a Tuesday, and were the only guests here. This elegant B & B (AAA Four Diamond) gets a big crowd apparently on the weekends, but this time of the year there may be few guests during the week. This is a classically beautiful three story B & B in a somewhat out of the way location. There are eight rooms and a very nice dining room where they serve dinner (optional) on Tuesday through Saturday. The location is near Newport, Tennessee, but only a 20 minute or so drive to Gatlinburg. The mansion was built about 40 years ago, and is at the top of a hill, with a fabulous view over to the Smokies----there are verandahs on both the first and second floors where you can sit and enjoy the view, plus our room and our dinner table had the same lovely view. There's also a hiking trail to the top of a mountain which starts on the property.

Since we were the only guests this night, Karen served as our greeter, hostess, house tour guide, chef and bartender---all with a great attitude. She was the only employee there that night, and we were a little concerned that the $40 per person dinner wouldn't be much. But what a surprise! Karen is a trained chef who cooked a four course creative meal on a par with or better than most fine dining establishments. They have a small wine selection also, with reasonable prices for the wine. It was like we were the owners of this house, and she was our personal chef. Across from the dining room is a bar located in a wood-paneled library room---very atmospheric. Breakfast also was very nice, with creative touches.

Our second floor Camelot Room was large and nicely furnished, with all the amenities you expect from a luxury property. There is a large recreation room on the third floor with a nice pool table. We enjoyed shooting pool, and there is a big screen TV, games, books, videos etc. here also. They also have a pool, sauna and nicely equipped exercise room. You may be able to get a discount on the room if you are also having dinner here, and overall the price was a good value compared to what you normally pay for such luxury. We are long time B & B travelers and this is one of the best places we've stayed. For relaxation and/or romance, it would be hard to beat Christopher Place.

Room Tip: Definitely try to get a room with a view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lchjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maretta, GA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2012

My husband and I had the pleasant experience of staying at Christopher Place this past weekend. We were on our way home from running a half marathon and wanted a quiet, relaxing place to rest our tired bodies. Christopher Place was exactly what we were looking for. The food was excellent and every bit of attention was focused on our needs. Thanks for a very peaceful evening and morning!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

If this is what heaven is I want to go ...so I will be good from now on....Hi Marston from CT...we are home and all we hear is noise...in anyone's lifetime you need to experience this Inn...how to do Tennessee is here....the pictures on the website do not do this place justice...the girls were wonderful and you felt so welcomed at this inn...we just stayed and relaxed here after a whirlwind trip in North Carolina...clean and impressive from breakfast to having drinks and dinner...we did the pub menu...and that is great too....need to come back and experience dinner...thanks to all at Christopher Place...Bryce and Tress R

Room Tip: We had Margarets Room top floor and huge room....with the greatest view...would do this room again
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyGrammy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senoia, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

My boyfriend and I took a trip to Christopher Place for the fist time this weekend. We stayed in the Roman Holiday room which was beautiful. The view was gorgeous from every direction you looked. We had dinner at the restaurant located on the property the first night. It was fun to dress up and eat a gourmet meal in a quiet romantic setting with my man. :) The next day we ventured into Gatlinburg and spent most of the day walking around and taking in the breathtaking scenery. The staff on hand were very accommodating and we enjoyed breakfast in our room every morning. This place is so quiet and peaceful. Christopher Place is a must see and a must visit for couples!

Room Tip: The Roman Holiday room is perfect for couples. There is a door outside your room for a second floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adrainnamathis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Newport
Comfort Inn Newport
#3 of 9 in Newport
167 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newport South
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 9 in Newport
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Newport Inn
15.7 mi away
Berry Springs Lodge
Berry Springs Lodge
#1 of 17 in Sevierville
567 reviews
21.6 mi away
The Foxtrot Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christopher Place Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christopher Place Resort

Property: Christopher Place Resort
Address: 1500 Pinnacles Way, Newport, TN 37821-7308
Location: United States > Tennessee > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Christopher Place Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded in the scenic Smoky Mountains near Gatlinburg, Tennessee, is the incomparable bed and breakfast resort Christopher Place. More than any other Smoky Mountains resort, this award-winning Tennessee bed and breakfast inn was created especially for romantic retreats, unforgettable honeymoons, and very special events. Hidden on 200 wooded acres overlooking the Great Smoky Mountain National Park, our bed and breakfast offers an east Tennessee vacation away from your hurried routines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Christopher Place Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christopher Place Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing