We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“First family visit to Nashville” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #35 of 154 Hotels in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“First family visit to Nashville”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights over a long weekend in Nashville. The hotel is in a great position, within 5 minutes walk of Broadway bright lights, but far enough out to not be disturbed by the nightlife. We dined in Prime 108 the food was good and we had snacks in the bar, all very good. All the staff were very helpful and nothing to much trouble. The rooms were clean and tidy, with reasonable size, comfortable bedding and good amenities generally. The business centre is quite small but well appointed – 2 stations. Small simple gym. Free internet.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thecoopersCheshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    285
    142
    70
    40
See reviews for
115
438
34
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Like everyone else said building service etc, very good.

Only 2 drawbacks. Wait staff in 108 Prime while cordial is incredibly poor ....the only way I can describe it would be to say they have no actual experience waiting tables or running a restaurant. It shouldn't take 6 min to seat a person when restaurant is only 1/4 full. Observed that much of that time was used to work the computer system that they use to manage seating .....It shouldn't take 10 min for someone to knowledge that you're sitting at the table and take a basic coffee order. It shouldn't take flagging a person from across the room to get a refill on coffee. 2 days in a row....Will be walking the 1/4 Mike to the McDonald's tomorrow, although the breakfast food isn't quite as good, it will take less time to walk there eat and walk back that it will to place an order here.

Also and I am sure this is nit picking ...but a 4 star hotel when they run out of umbrellas .....It is understandable .....but when they then tell you they have some they can sell to you .....the fact is that they haven't run out.. poor form...

Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Melanie F, Area Director/Marketing at Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Daniel, thank you for taking the time to share this review about your recent stay with us. We’re very sorry to hear about the lack of service and attention provided in the restaurant as well as not providing an umbrella for temporary use. Your comments have been shared with leadership of both areas and guest feedback is incredibly important to us and we are taking your comments into consideration as we continually work to improve our on-property experience. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you, if your travels bring you back to our area and we welcome any additional feedback.

Sincerely,

Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Aventura, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

What an exquisite hotel with the most helpful employees, gorgeous ambiance and comfortable sleeping rooms. The food in restaurant and in room dining were excellent. When visiting Nashville again, I would definitley stay at Union Station in a heartbeat!

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Emily K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I attended my niece's wedding held at this hotel. The expansive and elegant lobby was converted into rows of chairs, and is very nicely decorated. The dinner was held in the other half of the lobby. The meal was very good. The wedding party rate of $209 felt like a fair value for this elegant hotel with well appointed rooms. The staff was very courteous and very helpful. It's kind of isolated in terms of immediate surroundings. But, walk a mile and tour the lovely Vanderbilt campus. Or six blocks the other way and you're in the heard of bars/restaurants/tourist sites.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This is a really unique hotel to stay. The lounge area is perfect , like a piece of art. Unfortunately we didn't have the opportunity to stay in these high ceiling rooms we have seen in the photos. Our room was in the second floor and it was quite small and nothing special. The location of the hotel is nice, just 10 minutes from Broadway bars, but parking is difficult , so if you have car you have to use the valet parking service. In general it was a nice hotel but because of the room we stayed i don't know if we will stay there again.

Room Tip: Avoid Second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IliasK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Cana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Standing in the lobby of this converted 19th century railway terminal, it feels as if you're stepping back in time. Gorgeous appointments and decor everywhere. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful in every aspect. The location is perfect.....about a 5 minute walk to Broadway (if you're in Nashville for the honky-tonks) and close to the interstate (if you're traveling the area by car). Our room was on the street side of the hotel so there was absolutely no hint of rail cars. There is an active freight line that comes through along the rear side of the hotel, but it moves so slowly that I can't imagine that it would have disturbed us had we been on that side of the building. If Nashville is in your plans, rather than stay at a big "glass & steel" name brand complex, do yourself a favor and stay here!

Room Tip: stay on the street side just to be sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linksters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

My wife is a Marriott Lifetime Platinum Elite Member so we make it a habit to stay at their properties whenever we travel stateside and abroad. The Union Station Hotel in Nashville is an Autograph Collection renovated railroad terminal done in a magnificent manner. The spacious luxurious lobby with its stained glass roof reminds one of the glory days of the past. There is a nice lobby bar and excellent restaurant. Our room was very large with super king pillow top bed and floor to ceiling windows and an alcove to store our bikes, which go with us on all our road trips. The marble floor and tiled bathroom was large with double sink and large closet. We love the Nashville music and all the music joints as well as convention center and sports arenas are five (5) blocks down Broadway. The staff was very polite and accommodating. If you plan to visit Nashville for a night, week or month, this is a must stay establishment!

Room Tip: Ask for room 606 or one like it as it looks out the building instead of windows that open to the atr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Downtown Nashville
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
#11 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 stars 2,318 reviews
Hutton Hotel
#19 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 stars 1,597 reviews
Hilton Nashville Downtown
#13 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 stars 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
#27 of 154 in Nashville
4.0 of 5 stars 967 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Sheraton Nashville Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: 1001 Broadway, Nashville, TN 37203-3113 (Formerly Union Station - A Wyndham Historic Hotel)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#11 Family Hotel in Nashville
#29 Business Hotel in Nashville
#31 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNION STATION, A DOWNTOWN NASHVILLE HOTEL | Discover the energy and excitement of downtown Music City while indulging in the historic luxury of Union Station Hotel, An Autograph Collection property. Originally built as a majestic railway station in 1900, this landmark hotel captures America’s great railroad era in a splendidly restored setting that reflects the timeless grandeur of the Victorian age with contemporary luxury. In a city full of legends, this one reigns supreme. Our central location on Broadway in downtown Nashville is ideal whether you are in town to enjoy the Music City honky tonks or attending an event at Vanderbilt University. We are adjacent to the Frist Center for the Visual Arts and just steps from many of Nashville’s top attractions, like Ryman Auditorium and Nissan Stadium (formerly LP Field), ensuring easy access to the very best Nashville has to offer. Boasting an array of impressive venues and outstanding service, Union Station is one of the premier hotels in downtown Nashville, TN for meetings, weddings and milestone events. Our Nashville boutique hotel features 12,000 square feet of elegant event space that can accommodate up to 500 guests. From flexible conference rooms to our stunning atrium lobby and covered outdoor Veranda, our distinctive venues and coveted downtown location will set the stage for an unforgettable experience.Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection is located In the business district in central Nashville. There are no other Nashville hotels that compare to Union Station's stunningly restored, 100 plus year-old railway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Marriott and Jetsetter so you can book your Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Station Wyndham Historic Hotel
Wyndham Nashville
Nashville Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing