We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A little noisy but incredible rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #35 of 154 Hotels in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A little noisy but incredible rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

As other reviewers have noted, the rooms on the upper floors have high ceilings and the room i had was really spacious. A word of caution, there are floors below ground and I asked to be switched because mine felt really claustrophobic. Even though I stayed in the front of the hotel, away from the railroad tracks, I still heard trains all night long--and I'm not a light sleeper. The trains blow their horns through the intersection closest to the hotel. I had two experiences with staff--one that was so accommodating I would consider going back--the other one not so much. When asking to switch rooms, the first person said they were all sold out and couldn't help. When I asked again, a really professional staffer offered to give me a different room and could not have been nicer about it. The bar and the food are top notch.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mixedreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    285
    142
    70
    40
See reviews for
115
438
34
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I stayed at the Union Station during a conference the last week in March.

My room was extraordinary - the ceilings were SO high and those drapes!!

I had only 2 problems with the room: 1. The acoustics in the hotel are a little strange - probably because of all the very high ceilings. In the evening I could hear a TV in a room somewhere just booming. i stepped into the hall to try to identify the source amongst my neighbours and all was quiet. It's quite possible that a normal sound level was being amplified unusually because of the scale of the rooms. 2. Trains. It's very cool that the hotel is the old station - but remember the train tracks are active. The walls are thick, the drapes are very heavy - but I was woken by at least 2 trains the first night. It did not bother me - but might be an issue for very light sleepers. Ask for a room away from the tracks. I stayed in 521.

Apart from these two issues - the room was perfect. Bed was unbelievably comfortable, furnishings impeccable, bathroom had everything I needed & more, heating system was quiet.

I had room service the first evening - a beautiful tuna tostada, excellent & very prompt service. I ate lunch in the restaurant the next day - again the service was excellent but my bison sliders were a little greasy.

The conference was well organized. I did find the basement meeting rooms a little oppressive -with low ceilings & no natural light, but the rooms on the main level were perfect for this function. The catering for the conference was very good - we had breakfast, lunch & a great selection of appetizers for an evening reception. There was an excellent variety and I enjoyed everything that was provided.

The hotel itself is beautiful and has stunning public areas, however it also has an unusual layout and it is possible to become confused because of the two sets of elevators on different sides of the building. I had a terrible time trying to find the ice machine & vending machines because there was no signage for them. The only other issue with the building is that the area immediately outside the front entrance is suggested for smoking. Smokers stood awkwardly around the arriving guests and valets and I'm sure the smoke could be unpleasant for those coming & going. A smoking area away from the main entrance would be much better.

Finally - the staff at the hotel were universally polite & friendly. They accommodated all my requests and made the experience in this beautiful venue all the more memorable. I would definitely recommend this hotel and hope to visit again.

Room Tip: Light sleepers should request rooms away from the rail tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lcsnorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McHenry, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We loved everything about this beautiful, cozy, friendly hotel! Valet, front doormen, front desk, concierge, wait staff, bartenders, are all as friendly and helpful from the 1st day to the last day of our 5 day Valentine Weekend trip! Marble everywhere, ornate fixtures, grand piano, entertainment, evening tea & cheese's, breakfast scones & jam, just what you would expect from a 4-5 star Hotel! Here is what I didn't expect: a gracious, unpretentious grand lobby with intimate seating areas for everyone to sit and enjoy just as you are! Never a stuffy moment at this Hotel! So coming back here!

Room Tip: So, I loved King room, main floor off lobby, facing trains...so authentic, and beautiful big windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraH2423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My wife and I spent the weekend of March 22nd thru March 24th 2013 at this Marriott Autograph Collection property using points that I had accumulated in my Marriott Rewards loyalty program.

The only item we had to pay for was the valet parking fee of $28 / night.

The property is spectacular -- marble, ornately carved wood and stained glass. The lobby is as large and spacious as you would imagine an old train station's main lobby area would be. The lobby is actually the third floor of the building. The building sits next door to a working railroad yard which is pretty cool because you can go out back and see the train activity. It's obvious that during the remodel Marriott spent a lot of money on the soundproofing because even though you ARE right next door to the train tracks you really aren't bothered by the noise when you are in your room. I quite often stay in the Renaissance about 6 blocks away and I can hear more when I'm in that hotel more than from inside this property.

We did not go downstairs to levels one or two. Our room was on the fourth floor (1 floor up from the lobby) and we know there were rooms on floors five and six. Our room contained a king size bed and overlooked the large platform in the rear of the building --- which was uncomfortable because anyone walking by could easily look up and see us in the room if we left our curtains open.
The rooms are NOT very big --- you have to realize that this structure used to be a working train station and your room was probably an office of some kind in the past; it's a place to lay your head. Small bathroom, basic shower in the tub.

Pros... small hallways, nice ambiance overall --- it's not your standard large, long hall w/ lots of rooms lining the sides. excellent top tier Marriott amenities (bed, tolietries, tv's, etc.); location to downtown sites is very nice (honky tonks, Bridgestone arena, right next door to the Frist Center for Visual Arts); good beer hall (The Flying Saucer) about 1/2 block away.

Cons... small rooms, slow wi-fi connections; questionable infrastructure -- we ran out of hot water while taking showers on both Saturday & Sunday morning.

Would I pay to stay there? No. The hotel was being used for a wedding event the weekend we were there. Discussions with the staff made it apparent that this was a common occurence.
But based upon published rates there is no way that I would pay that kind of money ($180 - $300) for a room too small to do more than just lay your head.

I left feeling "underwhelmed" by the room and the service quality. The bell hop staff was great. The valet service was okay. The concierge service was week --- asked for directions one time and she made no effort to write anything down, wasn't sure where we were going and made no effort to look anything up.

Was it a neat place to see? Yes, I'm glad we stayed there --- once. I have no need to return.

Room Tip: Our south, outward facing room was small and had a view of a concrete ledge 1 floor down. Room #40...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Historical, beautiful and classy, this is what describes this hotel in a nutshell. Staff goes above and beyond to make sure you are comfortable; the gift shop did not have allergy medicine so they went out and purchased some and had it delivered to the room. I highly recommend staying at this hotel, its walking distance to all the action, but far enough away to get away from all the hustle and bustle of Nashville. 5 Stars! Thank you Union Station!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Union Station is now part of the Marriott family. While ñot in the heart of the honky Tonk area it is a short walk to the action. The hotel is immecably maintained. Staff were all friendly and helpful. Nice bar off the main room. The building has been beautifully restored and a stay here would be enjoyed by railroad history buffs. Parking is valet.

Room Tip: There is still an active rail line adjacent to the hotel so inquire about noise. We had no issues du...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rangerbill706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flowery Branch, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
116 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Had the opportunity to stay in a hotel I most likely wouldnt because it was paid for by the government. At upwards of 350.00 per night its slightly out of my range! But I really enjoyed my stay. The hotel is without a doubt one of the two nicest I've ever stayed in, The Jefferson in Richmond, the other. The room was elegantly appointed with a big screen and an ergonomic work chair. The bed was the best I have ever slept in in a hotel. The Terri cloth robe was soft and freash. The only drawback was no fridge. The layout of the room was quite unique as well being a remodled train station. The rooms vary quite a bit. Other than being on the train track side where the trains still run night and day I cant imagine theres a bad one. The staff was extremely cordial and there to address every need or question. The place is very impressive when takin note of the detailed architectre. I didnt eat there or go to the bar because I was out Honkey Tonkin on Broadway. Its only about 3/4 th of a mile to walk and always felt safe day or night. There's a place to eat called the Flying Saucer right behind the hotel. Great food, good prices and enrmoud selection of draft and bottled beer. I I can ever finagle another free trip or hit the lottery, I'll be back!

Room Tip: Stay on the opposite side of the tracks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Downtown Nashville
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
#11 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 stars 2,318 reviews
Hutton Hotel
#19 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 stars 1,597 reviews
Hilton Nashville Downtown
#13 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 stars 756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
#27 of 154 in Nashville
4.0 of 5 stars 966 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Sheraton Nashville Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: 1001 Broadway, Nashville, TN 37203-3113 (Formerly Union Station - A Wyndham Historic Hotel)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#11 Family Hotel in Nashville
#29 Business Hotel in Nashville
#31 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNION STATION, A DOWNTOWN NASHVILLE HOTEL | Discover the energy and excitement of downtown Music City while indulging in the historic luxury of Union Station Hotel, An Autograph Collection property. Originally built as a majestic railway station in 1900, this landmark hotel captures America’s great railroad era in a splendidly restored setting that reflects the timeless grandeur of the Victorian age with contemporary luxury. In a city full of legends, this one reigns supreme. Our central location on Broadway in downtown Nashville is ideal whether you are in town to enjoy the Music City honky tonks or attending an event at Vanderbilt University. We are adjacent to the Frist Center for the Visual Arts and just steps from many of Nashville’s top attractions, like Ryman Auditorium and Nissan Stadium (formerly LP Field), ensuring easy access to the very best Nashville has to offer. Boasting an array of impressive venues and outstanding service, Union Station is one of the premier hotels in downtown Nashville, TN for meetings, weddings and milestone events. Our Nashville boutique hotel features 12,000 square feet of elegant event space that can accommodate up to 500 guests. From flexible conference rooms to our stunning atrium lobby and covered outdoor Veranda, our distinctive venues and coveted downtown location will set the stage for an unforgettable experience.Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection is located In the business district in central Nashville. There are no other Nashville hotels that compare to Union Station's stunningly restored, 100 plus year-old railway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Marriott, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Station Wyndham Historic Hotel
Wyndham Nashville
Nashville Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing