We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Be sure you get the details on your room!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #46 of 154 Hotels in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Aiken, SC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Be sure you get the details on your room!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The lobby of the Union Station Hotel is spectacular. You may want to spend your entire stay sitting there enjoying the view. The rooms, however, vary greatly. We stayed there in the spring of 2012 and had a spacious room on the 3rd or 4th floor that looked over the parking lot and the train tracks, but since it is a train station, that was fine. In November, we stayed there again and assumed this king room would be just as good. This room turned out to be below the level of the lobby, kind of dark and it really didn't live up to my expectations. I can't say for sure, but I believe the rooms were the same, or about the same price.. I would like to have been made aware, somehow of the difference in the types of rooms available. It's a great location. I would stay there again, but would know for sure where my room was located within the hotel

Room Tip: ASK where in the hotel the room is located. below lobby level are dark!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moonflowerAiken_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    284
    142
    67
    39
See reviews for
115
431
32
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This hotel is a great renovation of a grand old train station. The lobby is spectacular, and they put out a generous cheese plate in the afternoon, so we enjoyed an amply poured glass of wine from the bar. The room was large, well decorated and comfortable. BUT, I stay in hotels to get a good night sleep. The building may no longer be a working train station, but it still sits next to the train tracks. We heard the rumblings of freight trains and the occasional train horn throughout the night. Perhaps I should have read some other reviews in advance and requested a room in front.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrpicky65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berea, Kentucky
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one-night for a romantic weekend getaway and it was the perfect hotel for this! We were upgraded to a King Executive room that had high ceilings and looked out onto the beautiful open gallery. There was complimentary good coffee and scones available in the lobby in the morning and cheese and crackers in the evening for all guests. The hotel is a few blocks away from the downtown nightlife scene, but we were able to walk there easily. All of the staff were very friendly and accommodating and helped us really enjoy our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first and second floor are pretty standard hotel rooms. The lobby is on the 3rd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carissa22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights during a family wedding weekend. I thoroughly enjoyed the historic and unique setting of the hotel. It really is a beautiful, cool hotel. After hearing from someone who had stayed here before, we did request a room on the front (ie where you can't hear the trains that run behind the hotel). This definitely made our experience better. I will say the parking rates and taxes are high which decreases the value in my opinion. That being said the proximity to downtown (being right on Broadway by the Honky Tonks) can't be beat...

Room Tip: Request a front room away from the trains
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AtlantaAnna79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We were travelling to Chicago and decided to stay one night in Nashville. the Union station is a converted railway station. The reception area is large and looks like the station booking hall. The outside has a gothic look to it and is something of a landmark in the area.
Five minutes up the road are lots of Broadway bars and music venues. Even on a Monday aftrenoon, there was quite a choice.
The hotel provides snacks and drinks in the lobby. A welcome treat after travelling or sightseeing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marek1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed 3 nights in Oct, 2012. Room are large, and nicely furnished, old, but very nice. Building is outstanding. Elevators very small, and in 3 day use, there was always a housekeeping person on them, makeing for very little room in the elevator. Rooms not made up until very late in the day (4-5 pm)

You need to go to the lobbly (the old train station) for wi-fi and everyday I tried to set up in the lobby, the managment came and made me leave, as they were have an event of some kind, in the lobby, making it impossible to use your wi-fi

Front desk very unhelpful on any request. Valet people great and always ready to help. Managemnt people very unfriendly, almost to the, point of being rude.

I would not recomment staying here, for the prices of the room. Get a hotel closer to downtown, that is more concerned about their guests, rather than the group renting out their lobby.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eric9744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
will f, General Manager at Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest,
I read your comments and want to thank you for your kind words related to the furnishing of the building. However, I was concerned about your comments regarding service and our inability to make accommodations for you.
We do on occasion have events in the lobby but work toward providing alternate accommodations to guests that are not involved with the events. Unfortunately in your case it seems as if we fell far short of our commitment.
Our service levels and hospitality are of paramount importance to us and comments like “unhelpful and rude” are of particular concern and I will personally look into. I would also like to thank you for your comments about valet and I will be sure to share your observation with that team.
I hope you will provide me the opportunity to speak with you further regarding your stay. Please call the hotel at 615-726-1001 and asked to be connected to my office. I look forward to hearing from you.
Sincerely,
Will Freeman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Hotel was very nice. The lobby was very beautiful and had an old fashion feel to it.

We were in town for the Chicago Bears game. The hotel only had suites left. The room was not that great. Restuarants and Bar were very nice. The bar tender makes a good Bloody Mary.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stonebridge2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Downtown Nashville
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
#11 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 stars 2,256 reviews
Hutton Hotel
#21 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 stars 1,577 reviews
Hilton Nashville Downtown
#15 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 stars 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Nashville
Sheraton Nashville Downtown Hotel
Downtown Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
#29 of 154 in Nashville
4.0 of 5 stars 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: 1001 Broadway, Nashville, TN 37203-3113 (Formerly Union Station - A Wyndham Historic Hotel)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#11 Family Hotel in Nashville
#29 Business Hotel in Nashville
#31 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNION STATION, A DOWNTOWN NASHVILLE HOTEL | Discover the energy and excitement of downtown Music City while indulging in the historic luxury of Union Station Hotel, An Autograph Collection property. Originally built as a majestic railway station in 1900, this landmark hotel captures America’s great railroad era in a splendidly restored setting that reflects the timeless grandeur of the Victorian age with contemporary luxury. In a city full of legends, this one reigns supreme. Our central location on Broadway in downtown Nashville is ideal whether you are in town to enjoy the Music City honky tonks or attending an event at Vanderbilt University. We are adjacent to the Frist Center for the Visual Arts and just steps from many of Nashville’s top attractions, like Ryman Auditorium and Nissan Stadium (formerly LP Field), ensuring easy access to the very best Nashville has to offer. Boasting an array of impressive venues and outstanding service, Union Station is one of the premier hotels in downtown Nashville, TN for meetings, weddings and milestone events. Our Nashville boutique hotel features 12,000 square feet of elegant event space that can accommodate up to 500 guests. From flexible conference rooms to our stunning atrium lobby and covered outdoor Veranda, our distinctive venues and coveted downtown location will set the stage for an unforgettable experience.Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection is located In the business district in central Nashville. There are no other Nashville hotels that compare to Union Station's stunningly restored, 100 plus year-old railway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Union Station Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Station Wyndham Historic Hotel
Wyndham Nashville
Nashville Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing