We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn Downtown
Ranked #85 of 154 Hotels in Nashville
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't stay here”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

My sister and I stayed here from Sept 27 to Oct 3, 2012. We were in Nashville for a holiday as it was on my bucket list to do so. I will start by saying the only good things about our stay at this hotel. The beds were comofrtable, the tv is a flat screen, the lady who cooked breakfast was friendly. There is nothing else good that I can say about this hotel.
Our room was on upper level. Our door was warped and you could see day light 1/4" from the handle down to the floor. This meant that if anyone was outside talking or walking, you could hear them plain as day as if you had your door wide open. Friday night there were drunk people partying but they stopped partying after midnight so we were able to get some sleep after that. Saturday night those same people started partying at 12:30 am and didn't stop until 4:30am. They were so loud, screaming at the top of their lungs while partying on the balcony walk way. I phoned the front desk at 12:30am to complain and the man said he was taking care of it. He did not. The partying got louder and then the girls next door to us joined in and were flashing their torsos to the guys which made them hoot and holler even louder. I called the front desk again at 3:30 and the man said he was asking them to stop. Nothing changed. At 4:30 there was still constant noise, so I looked outside and saw the group of people still out there smoking and drinking so I phoned the front desk for the third time. He said the cops were coming. I asked why it took so long for him to call the cops and that I wanted my money back for the night. He said to come see the manager at 9am. I went down the next day at 9am and the guy said the manager won't be in until 1pm and he asked for my cell hpone number so the manager could call me as he only stops in for a bit and then leaves. I told him my cell phone is Canadian and I'm not going to turn it on and have roaming charges just so the manager can call me at his leisure. I asked if the drunk people had left and why had they been allowed to party all night. The clerk said "This is a party town". He went on to say that Fridays and Saturdays are loud. I told him I managed a hotel when I was younger and partying was not allowed. It's common courtesy to the other guests. He said he didn't know where I was from, but at this hotel it is allowed.
My sister and I went out for the day and when we got back that evening, our door keys no longer worked so we had to go get them fixed.
The next day, Monday, we went to Memphis and would return Tuesday night. I told the clerk we would be gone for the day. We took everything with us except the food in our fridge. We didn't trust that our room would be left the same while we were away cuz so far, this hotel was not trustworthy.
Sure enough, we returned Tuesday night to find our hotel door propped wide open. We walked in and unpacked. We looked in the fridge and the maid had taken our food that we had left there for breakfast for our early morning flight the next day since the kitchen wouldn't be open so early. Then we received a phonecall from a lady asking our name and why we were in that room. It's a good thing my sister took that call because if it was me, I would not have been nice at all. They looked on the computer and saw that we were supposed to be there. Duh.
So, bottom line, if you want to get some sleep at night so you're awake during the day and able to tour Nashville worryfree, don't stay at this place.
Also, the shower only had hot water one day out of the 7. Sometimes we managed to get warm water.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerseyLynn00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    247
    250
    110
    133
See reviews for
172
314
42
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed here again this year on our third visit to Nashville in as many years from the UK.
The friendliest staff who looked after us again first class!
Room was recently refurbished (if not completely new), new carpet, decor etc and vey comfortable.
Breakfast was great as usual, free wi-fi to check emails etc is always a bonus.
15 min walk to the downtown attractions but in the 90 degree heat we chose the free schuttle bus which runs every 15 mins.
Cab back is around $5-6, but we walked it a few times and were completely safe.
The fact that we keep coming back speaks volumes.
Thank you again Comfort Inn, we'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DHD5705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beavercreek oh
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Room was clean enough, location short trip to downtown. STAFF TERRIBLE. Checked in for 2 nights, asked for coupon rate of 79.99. Clerk said they were all taken, but cost was 89.99. Didnt seem bad so we took room. Received call next day, asked if we were checking out, told clerk we had signed up for 2 nights. Said no problem, but they had us down for only one night. Drove back from downtown to do paperwork, only to be informed rate was now 149.99, with no explanation. This was on monday-tuesday so it wsnt due to a weekend rate. Clerk was very unprofessional and unfreiendly, while her husband wouldnt look at us. She obviously needs a course in southern hospitality. I woudnt stay there again, but probably would have if not for them trying to rip us off.

Room Tip: Make sure to double check paperwork maybe bring clerk some chocolate
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 404traveljunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nashville hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

We are writing this review after 2 stays. It is a very average, clean, fairly comfortable place to stay and within a little bit of a hike or a short cab ride to the downtown Nashville area. I found it to be very refreshing as we bailed out on the Days Inn Downtown at the Stadium (very unsafe feeling in a bad part of town) and came up to this Comfort Inn at the last minute. In comparison to other hotels in the area this one is at a much lesser price. Good points include the fridges, microwaves, safes, etc in the room. Its well lit, adequate parking, outside entrances to each room. No major issues. Our room had only minor gripes. For the price and its proximity to downtown attractions give it a try.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elbgtay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Stayed at the Comfort Inn for one Saturday night in late August 2012. We were looking for affordable accomodations between downtown and Vanderbilt Medical Center - this was perfect. Rooms are pricey for what you get, but good compared to the prices on Broadway. We walked down to Broadway Saturday evening around 10pm (two 30yr old women) and it was a safe 1mile trek. Cabbed back from downtown for about $10.

Room was very average but the beds were comfortable and the bathroom and linens were clean. A good enough option to rest your head for the evening. Intended to use the pool, but it rained. The size of the pool is rather small though and pretty basic. We didn't have any problems with leaving our car in the parking lot in the evening. Didn't make it to breakfast in the morning. Check in/out was a breeze and we were offered a 1pm checkout when asking for later than 12pm. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angelisee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
126 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I stayed here for two days on business. The facility in general looked clean and comfortable. The pool looked very inviting and there were a few kids that were really enjoying it. The staff was OK but did not really go out of their way. My biggest problem was that my non-smoking room smelled strongly of cigarette smoke (especially in the bathroom). There seemed to be mold around the bathtub. Add to this the fact that they had painted the floor outside of my room just before my arrival - the smell was pulled into my room by the AC unit and made it hard to sleep.

The breakfast was OK but I'd pass on the biscuits, gravy (very watery) and eggs (little taste).

While I was initially impressed by the rate for a downtown location, I think I will pay more next time for a Hampton-type hotel.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank DaddioDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mineral Bluff, Georgia
Level Contributor
245 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Our most recent stay at this hotel was on 8/23/12, We have been there about 3 times before, within the last 2-3 years. Location is excellent, as it is right off exit 209 B on I-64, near enough to downtown Nashville, but without the downtown crowding. We found our room to be very comfortable, clean, and equipped with a small refrigerator, and ample clothing storage. If you have a medical appointment at nearby Vanderbilt University Hospital, you can request a discounted price, which can save you about $10 to $20 from the standard rate. Our dealings with the staff have always been positive, and they seem very friendly. We think the value is there, and we feel very safe at this motel. There is a nice pool also, and the place looks very well maintained. A decent breakfast is served, starting a 6AM. They have eggs, gravy, biscuits, waffles, cereals, and juice & coffee. Try it. I think that you'll like it.

Room Tip: If you don't want to be disturbed in the summer, get a room away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Music Row
Best Western Plus Music Row
#48 of 154 in Nashville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#69 of 154 in Nashville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Nashville Vanderbilt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Nashville Vanderbilt/West End
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nashville Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Nashville / Vanderbilt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Downtown

Property: Comfort Inn Downtown
Address: 1501 Demonbreun St, Nashville, TN 37203-3111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Davidson County > Nashville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 154 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn(R) hotel is ideally located in the downtown area, providing easy access to all major interstates. This Nashville, TN hotel is less than one mile from the Bridgestone arena, the New Music city Center and the Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum. The campuses of Vanderbilt University, Belmont University and Tennessee State University are only minutes away. Tourists will enjoy shopping a wide variety of specialty stores and visiting local museums. There are several restaurants and cocktail lounges located in the surrounding area, including "Nashville's #1 Dining and Entertainment Destination," the Wildhorse Saloon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Nashville/Demonbreun Street Hotel Nashville
Nashville Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing