We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room and Staff were very nice….”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Nashville Downtown
Ranked #26 of 155 Hotels in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Room and Staff were very nice….”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Other than that….. it feels like this hotel is having an identity crisis. I believe it's in the middle of a construction overhaul.. but I'm a bit worried if they are almost finished. There is some sort of iceberg-like structure in the lobby that feels like a set-design piece from a stage musical version of The Titanic. Additionally there is a gift shop that is in a broom closet (in all fairness, I think that it's temporary, but it really is a broom closet next to the gym for now). The staff was really nice and the bar food was good. The room was very nice and I slept really well…and that's what mattered on this trip the most!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica2830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casey B, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Grand Nashville Downtown, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for your review! We are almost done with construction and hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    410
    150
    69
    37
See reviews for
187
417
29
408
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
McMinnville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Take in consideration that renovations are going on but The food was really good and the waitstaff was excellent but you had to deal with construction noise and dust. Make sure the re-do is over before you pay the high cost of staying here....

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Grove, New Jersey, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

After our flight was cancelled, we were actually excited to get back to downtown. Free champagne upon arrival. Front desk was very nice. The hotel opens up to 20+ floors of rooms, still being reno'ed and smelled of paint. We had a standard king room that was decorated very modern and clean. Nice Samsung flat screen, nice decorations, comfortable bed. They offer shuttles to downtown but it is a downhill 10minute (not even) walk. Walking back up was tough ;) the only thing I found weird was no free wifi. They also Do Not have airport shuttle services, but taxis are waiting around the corner. It was 25$standard plus 1$ for every extra person. Not bad at all. I will definitely stay again on next visit to Nashville.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bear, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

The Good:
Lobby is beautiful, rooms are modern with views to die for, nice white and blue/grey themes, clean clear lines to the bathrooms, free bottled water, large HD TV., thick doona's/comfortors, lovely crisp sheets, grey fluffy carpet, nearly black out curtains, a cute retro chair with stool, carger plug near your bed...free champagne on arrival...reduced prices on wines in the bar
The Bad:
Noisy as a prop jet aircraft airconditioning, paper cups in the room for your coffee machine...its not a krugel, why these front desk clerks insist on giving people double tiny beds when we travel on business alone is beyond me...but if I ask for a king/queen bed...please look...bc I CAN NOT sleep well in a tiny double bed...Im not used to it and it would be really appreciated if you could at least try your best to find me a spare one,....or let me know if theres a cancellation....please???  none of this occured...just some young clerk advised me just double double rooms are left...the renovations are non stop and it was soul destroying whilst trying to eat your breakfast...may as well sit on 95 it would be less noisy...the indoor pool is COLD...couldnt swim in it...

with all this being brought to your attention in conclusion I would suggest you check prices...check other nice places that have available rooms...nothing worse than getting a small double bed to sleep in when you asked as kindly as possible to change rooms...and those renovations duriing breakfast time was way too much for my ears...especially after hearing the noise of the air conditioners rattling all night.

however....this hotel once it is finished will be lovely....just too inflexible for me to give it 5 stars. - it's a shame....bc I really love hotels where the staff are not counting beans and slotting their guests into levels of care categories. If u know what I mean

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Aussiebab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

We arrived at 6:30 and were in a hurry to get to our room.

The hotel was obviously very busy, and every hotel in downtown Nashville was completely booked for an art festival.

Understandably, our room wasn't ready. Monique at the from desk offered a complimentary drink at the bar and I accepted.

I joked to a guy at the bar that I had only gotten a ticket for myself and not one for my wife. Five minutes later, when my wife joined me at the bar, the bartender politely said, "I understand you didn't get two drink tickets, I'll talk care of you" and offered her a free drink as well.

The attentive staff helped us get our bags to the room - Monique even scurried over to press the elevator button ahead of the bellman just to speed the process. The bellmen and valet service have been wonderful.

The room was fantastic - the city view was amazing and we've been very pleased with our stay.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robinson, Illinois, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Hotel was outstanding they cater to your every needs as soon as you walk through the door loved the room they all have very nice views of Nashville it is in walking distance to every thing the state capital building is across the road and the best place to get a barbeque is at Jack's if you like to relax and listen to country music downtown is the place to be they have Ledgends a bar which we thought to be our favorite but there are so many more with live bands and food we went on the 4th of July and the fireworks show was spectacular.

Room Tip: they have 28 floors the ones on the top to me are the best as far as views,privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2014

The renovation was decent, but the bathroom left a bit to be desired. The tub was slightly clogged and it never felt clean, but the biggest problem was the service. The first night after we checked in we were told we needed to switch rooms (this is around 1 AM) for no apparent reason other than it seemed like we were mistakenly put in the wrong room from the beginning. I was never really sure what went wrong, but after about 30 minutes at the front desk they finally realized they didn't need to change our room. The next night, the same thing happened and I had to spend about 30 minutes at the front desk trying to help them figure out the issue. Lastly, we had booked several rooms for friends, and despite us all giving them separate credit cards and specifically asking that our card not be charged for the other rooms, the day after getting home, I found multiple charges on my credit card for the other rooms. We spent an hour on the phone with them trying to get it fixed, which they did take off some of the charges, but i'm not sure we have actually been charged the correct amount. Also, there is no real concierge service, they rely on the front desk workers to suffice for it, and they were not really very helpful at all.

The only positive about the hotel was the valet and shuttle service. They were very prompt and helpful with getting around nashville

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjadams83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Downtown Nashville
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
#10 of 155 in Nashville
2,787 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
#21 of 155 in Nashville
1,198 reviews
Downtown Nashville
The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Nashville Downtown
#19 of 155 in Nashville
1,102 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Hermitage Hotel
Hermitage Hotel
#4 of 155 in Nashville
1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Nashville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Nashville Downtown

Property: Sheraton Grand Nashville Downtown
Address: 623 Union Street, Nashville, TN 37219-1706 (Formerly Sheraton Nashville Downtown Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Davidson County > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#33 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
#34 Business Hotel in Nashville
#39 Family Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Grand Nashville Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 474
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Grand Nashville Downtown's multi-million dollar transformation, conceptualized by New York-based designer Anna Busta, is unlike any other hotel in Nashville. Guests will not only experience brand new guest rooms, but a completely transformed lobby, reception area, wine bar, and meeting space. 25 Million Dollar renovation - completed Spring of 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Grand Nashville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Nashville
Nashville Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing