We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,217)
Filter reviews
3,217 results
Traveler rating
1,818
939
306
104
50
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,818
939
306
104
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbridge barcommerce streetgreat locationbridgestone arenaconvention centerthe concierge loungecorner roomwithin walking distancehigh floorhonky tonksthird floorcountry music hall of fameheart of downtownvalet parkingtwo blockshotel barself park
Filter
Updating list...
2,896 - 2,901 of 3,217 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2011

From Sept. 26, 2011 to Oct. 2, 2011 we attended the International Bluegrass Music Association, exhibit & fanfest in Nashville, TN. While there we stayed at the Renaissance Hotel, which was very adequate for all events, which, with the exception of the Awards show being held in the Ryman Auditorium which is directly across the street, were all held in the Nashville Convention Center which is attached to the Hotel itself making it VERY convenient. The staff was cheerful but not really helpful as in two instances I made a minor request and the replies seemed as if they read their answers off a queue card....bottom line was they couldn't, (read that "wouldn't" do anything).
Our first visit to Nashville was an eye-opener, especially as to costs. EVERYTHING is expensive, (forget the restaurant in the hotel unless you have a credit card with a high limit), PARKING....Nowhere in the downtown area is there free parking.... absolute minimum is $8.00/day and most are $12 to $15/day with NO in-and-out privileges. (The hotel's valet parking was $27.00/day and again, no in-and-out privileges). Our room cost was $175 per day, which was a "special" group rate.....normally $235/day, plus, of course the tax which was an additional $29.19 per day.
Our room was on the 21st floor, small & carpets needed shampooing badly. The bed was comfortable and the mattress slept very well. For a 4 star hotel the Renaissance leaves A LOT to be desired. I have stayed in many 3 star locations, ( and even a couple of 2 stars when the situation at the moment required it), that were at least equal to, if not exceeding, the Renaissance.
There are only 5 guest elevators and waiting upon them became a real pain almost from the beginning. With 25 floors and 649 rooms and all rooms full, 5 elevators are just not enough.
The only real high point of this hotel is the convenience.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lbutterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Outstanding location in downtown and the staff is amazing. I have stayed several times and can always expect the same great service from Valet/Bell/Room Service. There are a lot of options downtown, but they just don't compare to the Renaissance.
The staff seems to truly enjoy working there and enthusiastic.
If you are deciding between the Hilton and this property, I would choose this every time.

Room Tip: The high floors have a great view and very little noise.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2tired2choose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We stayed at the Renaissance Nashville Hotel over Columbus Day weekend and had a great experience. In addition to the hotel's ideal location in the heart of downtown Nashville, the staff was friendly (tried to get us tickets to the Gran Ole Opry) and we enjoyed convenient access to the Starbucks on the first floor and business center on the 4th. We asked for a room on one of the higher floors as other TripAdvisor reviews noted you could hear noise on lower floors from some of the downtown bars and honky tonks. We didn't hear noise on the 17th floor and the room offered amazing views of the downtown. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the higher floors and away from the side of the hotel facing the bars and honky tonks.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank villanovabrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We stayed here over Labor Day weekend. The location was fabulous. We were able to walk everywhere. The staff was wonderful, very customer service oriented. We did have a problem while we were there. Someone new was working the front desk and didn't handle the situation well. A manager stepped in, used it as a teaching moment, corrected the problem, and upgraded our room. Very impressed:)

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4thefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

My first stay at the Renaissance was great in all aspects. The rooms are clean and well designed. Location is excellent with easy walking distance to all downtown attractions. The front desk was helpful and the receptionist was very pleasant. An added bonus was that there was a bluegrass convention and we got to listen to a lot of free music. I did not utilize the restaurants as there are many good places to eat downtown. A helpful tip is that there is a good parking lot across the street that only charges $8/day.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCtraveller01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews