We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Hampton Inn Room with Excellent Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Nashville / Vanderbilt
Ranked #23 of 155 Hotels in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, West Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Typical Hampton Inn Room with Excellent Service”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Wife and I stayed here when running the Nashville marathon. The location to the start line was the reason we selected this hotel. Although the room and hotel was standard good quality, the service from all employees was the best we have ever had and we have run in over 25 states.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timmayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    648
    356
    109
    40
    17
See reviews for
332
368
33
247
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh-Durham, NC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

I just spent a Friday night at this hotel with my son who was auditioning at Vanderbilt. I stay at quite a few Hampton Inns for work but this one is clearly below average, despite the favorable reviews on this site. First, this is not an inexpensive hotel....our rate with the university's substantial discount was $140+tax. For this, and despite being a Hilton gold member, our double queen room was unusually small, with barely a closet, a small bathroom, and not even a stand-alone desk. The front desk staff was average although our card keys had to be re-issued after a couple hours because they malfunctioned. Also it was difficult to control the temperature in the room since the wall unit was either full blast or needed to be turned off. But the worst feature of the hotel is the lack of sound-proofing. Any door that shuts in the middle of the night echos down the hall and is quite disturbing. Moreover, perhaps because of the location of the hotel (which is more towards downtown Nashville) it is very busy on a Friday night with drunk patrons returning to their rooms very loudly at 3:30 am. Finally, the breakfast was average or slightly below with no fresh fruit of any kind and tables that were too low to sit at comfortably in a relatively small room that feels like the basement of the hotel.

All in all, if you need a quiet, comfortable place to stay in Nashville for an important visit, I would recommend you stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank technotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tupelo, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2014

This Hampton was nice and very convenient to the Mercy Lounge venue for a show. There are several nice restaurants across the street with the Blackstone offering the best fish & chips I have ever eaten! Definitely worth staying at this Hampton! Rooms were nice and clean.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia City, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was amazing, from check in to check out. The room was updated and modern. The continental breakfast was very good and had everything one could imagine. There waffles that one could make, seasoned potatoes, bacon, scrambled eggs, oatmeal that was already made and slivered almonds, brown sugar, or raisins that you could add, bagels, fruit, yogurt, hard boiled eggs. They have a complimentary shuttle that will take you anywhere within a 3 mi radius of the hotel. If you are going downtown, it drops you off and picks up at 5th & Broadway. It only runs until 11 pm and does not run at all on Sundays, but it is still a great feature. The only two complaints we have is that our room was right by the stairway and the door was very loud when it closed and the bed was very loud/creaky.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cctravelers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed January 20, 2014

This hotel is very, very good.
The rooms and the common areas are clean and well maintained. Every thing works the sink and tub drain properly, all the lights work. The people are very friendly, and helpful without being obsequious. The height of chair at the desk was adjustable and I could type without having to have my hands at the level of my shoulders. The sitting chair was comfortable and also the right height. Right now I can't think of all the things that are wrong in other hotels that was right here.
Just so you know I'm not a "schill", the closet could have been a little bigger and oriented in a more traditional manner.
Just so you know I also stay at higher end hotels and even those now days are starting to have problems. I am in the top tier in Hilton and IHG Holiday Inn, etc) reward programs.

Room Tip: All i can say is that 337 was a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I was in town for two nights and was very much impressed with the cleanliness of the room.
The duvet was very nice and bed comfortable. Everything required was available, particularly with complementary hot breakfast and fast internet makes my work so much easilier. I was particularly impressed by the friendly and helpful staff as they tried their best to meet the my needs, helping to arrange late checkout and arrange shuttle services (Thanks Andy!). Being close to Vanderbilt university makes it a main draw for me. This hotel is of good value and well recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChinWee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I have to travel to Nashville monthly for a graduate school program. Although it is not in-expensive , the Hampton Inn Vanderbilt, has been an excellent value. Always an amazingly clean room. The staff if friendly and very helpful. Add the benefit of a hot complimentary breakfast and a shuttle to my classes (when the weather is bad-I love to walk when it isn't yucky outside), it is a great deal! If I just had a microwave available in my room, instead of the lobby..... I might never leave. ; )

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jodie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Vanderbilt - Elliston Place
0.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Nashville Vanderbilt
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites Nashville Vanderbilt
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Nashville Vanderbilt/West End
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Music Row
Best Western Plus Music Row
#51 of 155 in Nashville
1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Nashville / Vanderbilt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Nashville / Vanderbilt

Property: Hampton Inn Nashville / Vanderbilt
Address: 1919 W End Ave, Nashville, TN 37203-2319
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Davidson County > Nashville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
#14 Family Hotel in Nashville
#18 Business Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Nashville / Vanderbilt 2.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt is two blocks from the Vanderbilt University campus in the city's West End area. Walk to over 50 restaurants from our 169-room hotel, which is just minutes from downtown. See over 300 species of plants, shrubs and the Bicentennial Oak on campus. Vanderbilt Medical Center, Baptist Hospital and Centennial Medical Center are within a mile of the hotel. Lunch on 'meat and three' or a burger and shake at Rotier's or Elliston Place Soda Shop, two legendary Nashville restaurants that have served Vanderbilt students for over sixty years. Shop for out-of-print books and vintage clothes at nearby Elliston Place or take a short ride to The Mall at Green Hills, Nashville's premier shopping destination. Hear great music at historic Ryman Auditorium, the Grand Ole Opry, or nearby Exit/In and Bluebird Cafe. Bridgestone Area also hosts concerts. View a scale-sized replica of The Parthenon and Athena statue in Centennial Park. Tour The Hermitage, home of President Andrew Jackson, or Cheekwood Botanical Gardens and Museum of Art. Watch the Vanderbilt Commodores or Tennessee Titans play football. Attend a conference at Music City Center, Nashville's convention center. Whether you're visiting Nashville for business, a Vanderbilt graduation ceremony or a tournament at Centennial Sportsplex, you will enjoy our comfortable guest rooms with free high-speed internet access and 32-inch HDTVs. All rooms feature refrigerators, work desks and convenient lap desks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Nashville / Vanderbilt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Nashville/Vanderbilt Hotel Nashville
Nashville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing