We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great food/great coffee” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Frothy Monkey

Frothy Monkey
Ranked #94 of 2,010 Restaurants in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Bellmont/Hillsboro
Description: Frothy Monkey is the breakfast through dinner coffeehouse feat. Creative folks using local ingredients to prepare original dishes served in a cozy and approachable atmosphere. This location offers breakfast, brunch every day, kids menu, lunch + dinner with a expanded beverage offerings including coffeehouse standards as well as craft beer, wine, mimosas + bloody mary's.
Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food/great coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

This was a wonderful little stop. The coffee was great, and the food tasted wonderful! The service was friendly and fast too.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tracylynn77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    103
    28
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Central California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Donut muffin & mocha madness!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Always wanting to keep it local while on vacation, I decided to skip my usual morning go to, (Starbucks) and try the FM, while in Nashville. Without reservation--I'm going to applaud the Monkey for serving me the very best non fat, no whip, Mocha I have EVER had...then I bit into a delicious donut muffin & the day somehow managed to rise even further off the charts! If ever in Nashville, do yourself a favor & swing by FM :)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank kywahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
99 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“I've tried, but can't recommend this local chain”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

Based on rave reviews from folks I trust I've visited this location and the one in Franklin a few times each and have not been impressed. The coffee is consistently mediocre or worse. The staff has been okay at best and rude normally. Even though they occasionally have gluten free items, no one can tell me if they're dairy free too. Since I haven't been able to determine if there are any allergens in the food, I have not eaten here.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AsherenaVel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
120 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

My mom and I walked from our downtown hotel to this place twice for breakfast/brunch. The food was fresh and delicious. My cappuccino was pretty and it tasted fantastic. I would definitely return.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sumer88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
133 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Good coffee, fun atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

I made it my mission to try as many local coffee houses as I could on my first trip to Nashville. I give Frothy Monkey two thumbs up, and a promise to return if I can on my next trip! First of all, I LOVED the atmosphere inside and out, I felt comfortable bringing my kids and my stroller and hanging out while we waited for and sipped on our coffee. I love that there was an option for the non-coffee drinking members of our group (my husband said the bottled chocolate milk from a local dairy was seriously amazing. And I love that the coffee was STRONG and tasty great as well. I felt like it was pretty unpretentious, which is nice in a hipster trendy coffee house as this seemed to be. I was happy to find a gem on the long list of places I had to try during my recent visit!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank teachergirl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frothy Monkey also viewed

 

Been to Frothy Monkey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing