We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If I could give Atmospere and Service a 6.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Standard

The Standard
Reserve with OpenTable
The Standard is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #86 of 1,953 Restaurants in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown Nashville
Cross street: between Commerce and Church Sts.
Nashville
Level Contributor
168 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“If I could give Atmospere and Service a 6.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Upon arriving, we were greeted with, "Hello, I am xxxx--what is your name. Come on in. We have a table waiting for you!" The rest of the service was just as friendly with intellegent and honest descriptions of the food (and a full tour of the mansion). The food was very good. The highlight was the fresh, homemade, sourdough french bread. NOT to say the bread was the only good thing. But the bread was memorable. We had crab soup, capri salad, caesar salad, anteloupe,and pork loin. It was ALL good. We will be back A LOT!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ma6907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    31
    12
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“6 stars!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely amazing food and service in a beautiful atmosphere. The building and decor is fabulous. We wanted our first "fancy" meal out while visiting the USA on our honeymoon. This was perfect. We had the standard filet and the chicken, both cooked and seasoned to perfection. The desserts were also incredible, never had anything quite like the half baked cookie before. The unoaked Chardonnay was also fantastic. Cannot rate it highly enough. Only on town for 2 days and sorely tempted to go back tonight.

Helpful?
2 Thank andionholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Nashville Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We had a family birthday celebration at the Standard. The venue is magnificent. We had 17 people and all were enchanted with the place. The food was wonderful and the ambience was superb. I highly recommend The Standard for a special occasion.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank mwb44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
412 reviews
279 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Unique!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Through my work I am lucky enough to visit a few nice restaurants every month by taking customers out to dinner. Some are as nice as The Standard, but few are as unique.

Pros
Free valet parking (they park literally right across the street, but still, it's free). My salmon, and everyone's steaks were outstanding, as were the side dishes. It seems that they try to have at least one exotic item on the menu - it was rattlesnake the week we were there. We declined. :) The maître d' and waiter were extremely helpful and really enjoyed telling us the history of the building and answering our questions. We were invited upstairs to the private club to visit and have a cigar. The prices were reasonable.

Cons
I'm really searching here for something they could improve on.... but the calamari appetizer was a bit bland and could have been served with a little more of the sauce that it is served with.

Overall
You are really doing yourself a disservice is you don't visit at least once. If I lived in downtown Nashville I would definitely be a member at the upstairs club.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
89 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

This is a very impressive place. The atmosphere could not be better and the food was wonderful. Plus the owner gave us a private tour! This is a definite must in Nashville!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wpbkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Standard also viewed

 

Been to The Standard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing