We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much more than expected!”
Review of The George Jones

The George Jones
Book In Advance
More Info
$17.00*
and up
The George Jones Museum Admission
Ranked #43 of 268 things to do in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The George Jones is a world-class entertainment venue located in downtown Nashville honoring country music icon George Jones. The recently-renovated 4-story, 46,000 square foot building features live country music, a smokehouse BBQ restaurant, rooftop bar, a museum, a gift shop and private event space. George Jones had more country songs in the top 40 of the Billboard chart than any artist in history. "When people ask me who my favorite country singer is, I say, 'You mean besides George Jones?'" That's what Johnny Cash, and millions of others, have said about "The Possum," who gets the Music City shrine he rightly deserves with the George Jones Museum. The country music icon made the world cry with "He Stopped Loving Her Today" and made the world hiccup with "White Lightning." The New York Times calls the museum a "lovingly curated shrine" that is just like George's music: "a deep trove of raw feeling, triumph, tragedy, humor, hokiness and eccentricity." Nashville Happens Here!
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Stairs / elevator, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed May 9, 2018

When you arrive, you don't expect the museum to be as big as it is. But let me say, it is huge! It took us a good while to complete it, just because it has so much. This museum had more personal and unique items than any other museum we went to. I would definitely check this out!

1  Thank Haley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allie P, Guest Relations Manager at The George Jones, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2018

Thanks for writing us a review, Haley! We're pleased to hear you had a great experience at our museum! Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (744)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"rooftop bar"
in 205 reviews
"live music"
in 65 reviews
"white lightning"
in 16 reviews
"great view of the river"
in 15 reviews
"lawn mower"
in 11 reviews
"george's wife"
in 9 reviews
"rooftop view"
in 7 reviews
"cumberland river"
in 37 reviews
"titans stadium"
in 15 reviews
"brisket"
in 10 reviews
"country singer"
in 8 reviews
"gift shop"
in 33 reviews
"his life"
in 25 reviews
"great museum"
in 23 reviews
"nissan stadium"
in 14 reviews
"great tribute"
in 7 reviews
"personal items"
in 8 reviews
Filter

51 - 55 of 744 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2018 via mobile

We have been traveling to Nashville every year for the past 4 years. We enjoy bringing new friends who have never been to Nashville and getting them hooked to this awesome town. This trip to George Jones was aweful!! It was about 10:30 and the main floor was dead, we went to the roof top where rap music was so loud we could not even enjoy the view, have a cocktail and talk to each other! There where maybe 10 people there. We went back down to the main floor to see if we could get a bite to eat, only to be told the kitchen was closed. This was on a Friday night... I could not apologize enough to our friends, thank goodness for the rest of Nashville! I think the GM pulled a “ George Jones” and I’m giving it “ The Boot”!

1  Thank Nashfan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allie P, Guest Relations Manager at The George Jones, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2018

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate your feedback and would love to hear more about your experience. If you could send us a note to info@georgejones.com detailing the date and time you went, as well as your server and if you spoke with a manger, we'd appreciate it. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2018

This is a nice and clean bar. Great food, great drinks, friendly staff. One of the better musicians that we heard. Our rule was 1drink per bar, but we ended up staying here for quite a while. The view from the back of the bar is amazing!

1  Thank Tiffany B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allie P, Guest Relations Manager at The George Jones, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2018

Hi Tiffany! Thank you for your positive review! We are glad you enjoyed your experience, and we hope to see you back for another beer soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2018 via mobile

We went on a Saturday night and the first floor was mostly empty.

The band was just okay not great. We left after 1 beer.

1  Thank giffenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allie P, Guest Relations Manager at The George Jones, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2018

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate your feedback and will be sure to pass it along to our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2018

We came here for a late lunch and ate on the rooftop. My only gripes would be the full menu is not available on the roof and that we couldn't get table service and had to order from the bar. Otherwise, the service was friendly and food and drinks were good. We also really enjoyed the musician playing the afternoon we went. We stayed for his whole set. Would certainly visit here again.

1  Thank April T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allie P, Guest Relations Manager at The George Jones, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2018

Thank you for writing, April! We hope to have you back on our beautiful rooftop soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The George Jones also viewed

Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 
Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 

Been to The George Jones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing