We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spicy Chicken”
Review of The George Jones

The George Jones
Book In Advance
More Info
$17.00*
and up
The George Jones Museum Admission
Ranked #42 of 267 things to do in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The George Jones is a world-class entertainment venue located in downtown Nashville honoring country music icon George Jones. The recently-renovated 4-story, 46,000 square foot building features live country music, a smokehouse BBQ restaurant, rooftop bar, a museum, a gift shop and private event space. George Jones had more country songs in the top 40 of the Billboard chart than any artist in history. "When people ask me who my favorite country singer is, I say, 'You mean besides George Jones?'" That's what Johnny Cash, and millions of others, have said about "The Possum," who gets the Music City shrine he rightly deserves with the George Jones Museum. The country music icon made the world cry with "He Stopped Loving Her Today" and made the world hiccup with "White Lightning." The New York Times calls the museum a "lovingly curated shrine" that is just like George's music: "a deep trove of raw feeling, triumph, tragedy, humor, hokiness and eccentricity." Nashville Happens Here!
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator
Reviewed July 6, 2017

The bartender told us to try the spicy chicken and we fell in love. I am coming back to Nashville from Chicago this fall mainly for the spicy chicken here. Everything else about this place was on point as well. So fun!!

1  Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul J, Manager at The George Jones, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2017

Glad you loved our spicy chicken...we're kinda partial to it ourselves. We look forward to seeing you in the Fall...let us know what you think about our new Smokehouse BBQ menu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (732)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"rooftop bar"
in 208 reviews
"live music"
in 72 reviews
"white lightning"
in 16 reviews
"great view of the river"
in 16 reviews
"lawn mower"
in 11 reviews
"cumberland river"
in 36 reviews
"titans stadium"
in 16 reviews
"brisket"
in 9 reviews
"his life"
in 27 reviews
"country singer"
in 8 reviews
"gift shop"
in 33 reviews
"great museum"
in 23 reviews
"nissan stadium"
in 15 reviews
"great music"
in 25 reviews
"johnny cash museum"
in 9 reviews
"downtown nashville"
in 17 reviews
"on display"
in 9 reviews
Filter

161 - 165 of 732 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2017

I liked that you could take your time and really take in the museum. Learn so much on his life except how he got the name possum.

Thank Casey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul J, Owner at The George Jones, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2017

Glad you loved the museum! George's wife Nancy, did a terrific job of designing the museum in a way that allows visitors to get a glimpse into George's amazing life and legacy. As to how George got the name Possum, here it is in his own words:

"I got the name from two radio jocks — Ralph Emery and Tommy T. Cutrer. They had a profile photo of me and decided that my nose from the side looked like a possum."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2017 via mobile

The view and setting were amazing, very clean and awesome feel. We would have parked it and stayed for a while but the live music wasn't nearly as good as other locations. Didn't have any food but it smelled delicious!

Thank jasond280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan H, Guest Relations Manager at The George Jones, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at The George Jones. We will pass along your input to our music department. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2017

We were here for a group banquet. The buffet was generously stocked and the food was wonderful. Service was minimal -- but it might have been arranged that way. Some nice views. It was a long and rather dark & drab room.

Thank ctichel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan H, Guest Relations Manager at The George Jones, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2017

Thank you so much for your feedback. We truly appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your experience. We take all of our customer reviews to heart and will be sure to pass along your feedback to management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2017

This was great - I took my Mom who as a child grew up with George's music and she was blown away and brought back such fond memories. It was interesting to see his life and all of his accomplishments but also his struggles. A great place to visit when in Nashville

1  Thank santorol2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan H, Guest Relations Manager at The George Jones, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2017

Thank you so much for your kind words! We are so happy to hear that you had such a wonderful experience. We hope to see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The George Jones also viewed

Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 
Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 

Been to The George Jones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing