We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing museum and rooftop bar!”
Review of The George Jones

The George Jones
Book In Advance
More Info
$17.00*
and up
The George Jones Museum Admission
Ranked #42 of 267 things to do in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The George Jones is a world-class entertainment venue located in downtown Nashville honoring country music icon George Jones. The recently-renovated 4-story, 46,000 square foot building features live country music, a smokehouse BBQ restaurant, rooftop bar, a museum, a gift shop and private event space. George Jones had more country songs in the top 40 of the Billboard chart than any artist in history. "When people ask me who my favorite country singer is, I say, 'You mean besides George Jones?'" That's what Johnny Cash, and millions of others, have said about "The Possum," who gets the Music City shrine he rightly deserves with the George Jones Museum. The country music icon made the world cry with "He Stopped Loving Her Today" and made the world hiccup with "White Lightning." The New York Times calls the museum a "lovingly curated shrine" that is just like George's music: "a deep trove of raw feeling, triumph, tragedy, humor, hokiness and eccentricity." Nashville Happens Here!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access
Reviewed June 15, 2017 via mobile

Don't miss this museum and restaurant/bar. The museum is loaded with memorabilia and history! Then, we went to the rooftop for a drink! Awesome view of the football staduim and the river! Great service. Recommend 100%.

Thank ABrannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill C, Marketing Communications at The George Jones, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2017

Thanks for the recommendation! We're so happy to hear you enjoyed the memorabilia and history in the George Jones Museum and had a chance to enjoy a drink on the rooftop. Hope to see you again soon.

All the best!

The George Jones Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (732)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"rooftop bar"
in 208 reviews
"live music"
in 72 reviews
"white lightning"
in 16 reviews
"great view of the river"
in 16 reviews
"lawn mower"
in 11 reviews
"cumberland river"
in 36 reviews
"titans stadium"
in 16 reviews
"brisket"
in 9 reviews
"his life"
in 27 reviews
"country singer"
in 8 reviews
"gift shop"
in 33 reviews
"great museum"
in 23 reviews
"nissan stadium"
in 15 reviews
"great music"
in 25 reviews
"johnny cash museum"
in 9 reviews
"downtown nashville"
in 17 reviews
"on display"
in 9 reviews
Filter

167 - 171 of 732 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2017 via mobile

Fun place with great music and a view! We parked ourselves at a hi-top and sang along to awesome tunes. The place was spotless and staff very attentive.

Thank Amie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill C, Marketing Communications at The George Jones, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2017

Thanks for letting us know you enjoyed your visit, Amie. This is what we love to hear! Do come back and see us again soon.

All the best!

The George Jones Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2017

You learn a lot about George from this musuem and get to see a lot of unique and personal items from his life. The rooftop bar was nice to sit out on and the misters and fans were needed at this time of year.

Thank Absoblogginlutely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill C, Marketing Communicaitons at The George Jones, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2017

Thanks for dropping us a note to let us know about your visit. We appreciate it! Happy to hear you enjoyed learning more about George Jones & had a chance to take in the views from the rooftop. We hope to see you again.

All the best!

The George Jones Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2017

We did not tour the museum, but the rooftop bar was recommended to us. It has one of the best views of the river in Nashville. It is especially pretty at night.

Thank Scott K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill C, Marketing Communications at The George Jones, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2017

Thanks for stopping by and dropping us a note, Scott. We appreciate it! Happy to hear you enjoyed the rooftop view. Hope to see you again soon.

All the best!

The George Jones Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2017 via mobile

Visited during the CMA Fest in Nashville. Streets were crazy packed. However, we found a great location to spend during some of the hot weather. The rooftop bar was a fantastic place to listen to the live music coming from the riverfront stage located right across the street. Although this restaurant offers VIP seating which is located directly on the railing overlooking the live music (and sells out well ahead of time), we were still able to enjoy drinks and hear great music.
A special acknowledgement to Tiny, the not-so-small bouncer/friendliest employee we encountered. By far, he will be one of the reasons we will visit this restaurant in the next couple of months.

1  Thank GordonPamAly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill C, Marketing Communications at The George Jones, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2017

Thanks for taking a moment to leave us a note. We love reading reviews like this! We're so excited to know you enjoyed your time on the rooftop during CMA Fest. It's one of our favorite times of the year! We'll be sure to pass you compliments on to our staff as well. They look forward to seeing you again!

All the best!

The George Jones Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The George Jones also viewed

Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 
Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 

Been to The George Jones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing