We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Brunch”

The Chef and I on Ninth
Reserve a Table
2
Sat, 5/25
8:00 PM
Ranked #14 of 2,409 Restaurants in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Reviewed April 13, 2019 via mobile

We came here w 2 couples. We had no reservations but they fit us at the bar. What’s not to say. We spoke w the bartender/manager and we asked him for his suggestion on all our food choices and he was dead on. The food was great , service was amazing and ambiance was fantastic. After 2 nights on the strip this is exactly what we needed.

Date of visit: March 2019
1  Thank petenyc306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 175 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2019 via mobile

We travel the world. Eat at great places and I have to admit I had low expectations in Nashville. But this place we be memorable for life. Staff was amazing from the greeter to chefs. So welcoming kind and just fun.

But it didn’t stop there! The food was astounding. It was a perfect match of flavor and size.

I just want to say thank you to the crew and everyone there for a great job!!

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank TriguyUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2019

Simply outstanding chef made delicacies from an open kitchen. Sit at the counter to talk with the chefs as they make an incredible array of delicious bites and meals. Love the album covers on the wall in the restrooms too!

Date of visit: March 2019
1  Thank 161ChrisL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2019 via mobile

7:30 reservation, had to wait 10 minutes. We ordered PIMENTO CHEESE AND HOUSE BACON
two artisan cheeses folded with roasted red bell peppers and a spiced aioli, spread on warm toasted grilled crostini, topped with house candied bacon lardons
$12, this was really good
JUMBO LUMP CRAB WONTON RANGOON
our take on a classic crab rangoon... a pan fried crispy wonton topped with whipped creamy goat cheese, fresh avocado, house candied bacon and chilled jumbo lump crab salad, finished with citrus zests and unagi
$15-too fishy
ORANGE DUCK CONFIT WONTON RANGOON
a pan fried crispy wonton topped with whipped creamy goat cheese, fresh avocado, duck confit tossed in a creamy orange vinaigrette with fresh diced jalapeno and almond slivers
$15-okay, but not great.
HOUSE BACON AND YUKON POTATO POUTINE
roasted crispy yukon potatoes and cheese curds folded with our house bacon lardons and finished with smoky bacon brown gravy
$14- the best thing ordered
GRANNY SMITH & ARUGULA SALAD
Peppery arugula tossed with granny smith apple matchsticks, imported feta cheese, roasted red bell peppers, and candied nuts, tossed in a roasted fresno chile and local honey vinaigrette
$12-I like spicy but this was not edible. The pecans were stuck together and should have been chopped and sprinkled on salad. The apples were good.
LOCAL GREENS AND GRILLED BOSC PEARS
Local assorted fresh greens tossed in a coconut vinaigrette with grilled Bosc pears, roasted hearts of palm, dried mission figs, candied almonds, and drunken goat cheese with fresh basil leaves
$14-the pears were soggy, it would have been better crispy. Not sure I had candied almonds.

Would we return? Probably not. The bar seats were metal, hard and after sitting for an hour, uncomfortable. The staff was very friendly.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2019 via mobile

Big group of friends dined at Chef and I recently. Drinks were delicious and there were some local distilled spirits as well as craft beers that were enjoyed. The amusebuche was delicious! I shared a salad with my husband which seemed to us too hot, for. I reason. We also shared the shrimp with pasta dish and asked for a toned down version. Thank goodness! Seemed to me that the chef had a thing for pepper flakes. I was happy we were offered the option to modify the heat level.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Tricia831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chef and I on Ninth also viewed

Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 
Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 
Nashville, Davidson County
 

Been to The Chef and I on Ninth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing