We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky and fun”
Review of Lane Motor Museum

Lane Motor Museum
Ranked #13 of 252 things to do in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Lane Motor Museum in Nashville features the largest European collection of cars and motorcycles in the United States. Admission ranges from $3 to $12, with children ages 5 and younger admitted free, making it a great family excursion.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Quirky and fun”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

The surprising highlight of our brief visit to Nashville. A collection of really unusual cars here - if you're looking for Ferraris and Rolls Royces you won't find those here, but you will find many oddballs like three wheeled cars, mini cars, amphibious cars, propeller driven cars, cars from behind the Iron Curtain - you get the drift.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Buzzfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    465
    163
    20
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quirky and fun car collection!”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

A disclaimer before I start with the review, if your philosophy on cars is "there's no replacement for displacement" and that you rank cars on how much rubber it can burn then look elsewhere, preferably at your local swap meet.

That said, wow, what a collection of unique cars! And by unique I'm not talking about "pimp my ride" unique but rather cars that have limited production runs, some cars there only less than a dozen were ever made. And most of the vehicles were built in europe so the chances of you ever seeing any of these on the road are real slim.

There's on section of cars that I think should be labeled "Commercial failures" because let's face it while the designers thought they had a great idea it just didn't pan out in the marketplace. One example disaster is the propeller driven car and another is a monster sized steam powered vehicle.

Not only is the collection fun to check out I love the stories and information about the vehicle on display. (Did you know that the messerschmidt is faster in reverse because of the aerodynamics?)

The only negative, if any, thing about this place is that it's not quite suitable for hyperactive children that need to grab and touch everything. The musuem has a policy of no touching but they do accomodate kids by having a sort of a playground in the middle of the museum. When I was walking around I saw a few kids play around, I guess it works in keeping them happy while the parents walk around.

I highly recommend this place!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank practicalnihilist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville TN
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Rude man at the ticket desk. disrespectful to foreign women and childred. Really regreat coming.”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

My children and I came visit from Singapore. Came with a voucher given by a friend. The man was upset grumble words such as foreigners want something free. Yes i got the ticket for free. But my friend have to pay for it. Later i found out that her company donate money to car lane museum last year and given vouchers for gratitude by the owner.
I wish never go there, it ruinned my whole day...

Helpful?
10 Thank loviana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“i couldn't believe my eyes”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

My son and i have visited numerous car museums around the country. This was the first one whete we didnt look at the same old cars. Here we saw cars we had never seen before with very well written display notes.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank mbaTravels A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
180 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Most interesting car museum I've ever visited. Many unique models here.”
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed seeing the amazing variety of unique, low production, or just plain interesting vehicles on display here. This is definitely a museum for car guys by car guys! Nothing is roped off - you can walk up to any of the vehicles and stick your head in them to check them out. The models on display must change often because many in the photos on here weren't there today. The enormous Larc vehicle out back is amazing as well. Completely missed the military vehicle display in the garage - just forgot about it somehow! The staff is gruff but almost nonexistent after you enter. Just loved the collection, though - wish all car museums were this nice!

Helpful?
Thank GlobalVagabonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lane Motor Museum also viewed

Nashville, Davidson County
 

Been to Lane Motor Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing