We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown
Ranked #35 of 154 Hotels in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Heatland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good Choice”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Stayed here just one night for a meeting at the Omni, which is right next door. The Hampton was about ½ the price of the Omni and certainly a very decent hotel although still not inexpensive by my standards. My room was clean, spacious, well maintained, and well furnished with a king bed, a sofa, a desk, a refrigerator and microwave. The hotel is conveniently located and within easy walking distance of downtown (Broadway Street). The included breakfast was quite adequate with several hot items and you know you have made it to the “South” as breakfast included the always necessary grits. There was also a good assortment of cold items. While the hotel doesn’t have a lot of glamor and glitz it was certainly a very pleasant place to stay. I will be coming back to Nashville later this year for a longer visit and there is a good chance I will stay at the Hampton again.

One complaint. I arrived at about 11:30a.m. and was not surprised that I was not able to check in that early. The desk clerk “checked” to see if I could get in but told me that she could not check me in and to try back in about an hour. So I trekked down to Broadway, had some good barbeque for lunch along with live music all for less $15 including a tip for the musicians (Nashville can be fun on not much money). Upon my return to the Hampton, the same story. Not yet, check back in about an hour. However, this time I noticed that a couple of other guests ahead of me had been able to check in, I inquired why some people were able to check in and others were not. Turns out that, when you have a reservation, they evidently pre-assign a room to you and they do not check you in until it is ready. I guess the idea is to make sure you get the exact type of room you requested in the reservation. When I said I would be okay with pretty much any room they had available, he cheerfully looked for another room and had no trouble finding one I could check into immediately. For the life of me, I cannot figure out why I had to ask in the first place. I have checked into lots of hotels early and this is the first time I ever had to ask the desk clerk to see what rooms might be available. It has always been something like: “ I can get you in but you will have to take a room without -----------, etc.” Since I dealt with two different front desk clerks it would appear that it is a hotel policy to not offer early check in if the pre-assigned room in not available and it was not just a matter of a single clerk not knowing what to do.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whoknows987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear whoknows987,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent trip and your time spent with us. We do pre-assign rooms as you have noted, and because of volume of check in's daily this is necessary. With three front desk associates (most of the time), sales, 3rd party sales (Expedia,etc.) and other office personnel making reservations, we do not normally ask a guest if they would be interested in another style of room just because the rooms move so fast here. We are happy to hear that we were able to accomodate you for early arrival and that while you were here you enjoyed the Nashville area. Most of our staff are Nashvillians and are very knowledgable about the city and are happy to share their insight with others.
We hope to see you next time you are in our little city; we love having you here,
Lisa G/HHonors Ambassador
Hampton Inn & Suites
Downtown Nashville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    829
    519
    177
    63
    48
See reviews for
357
591
43
288
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 17, 2014

An OK small city hotel ... prices are high due to proximity to Music City Convention Center ... but with these higher prices, the front desk staff might want to take some lessons in customer service from their room cleaning and restaurant staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank 817seanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear 817seanb,
I appreciate your recent review of your stay with us while visiting Nashville. On behalf of our entire staff we would like to extend our deepest apologies for the unpleasant nature of your experience with our front desk associates. I have directed your comments to the manager and there is a resolution action being taken to ensure there is no other incidence of this kind in the future. Please know that we here at the downtown Nashville Hampton Inn & Suites want our property to be "where you want to be"; so next time you visit Nashville we ask that you give us the opportunity to prove that our guests complete satisfaction is our number one priority. We love having you here,
Lisa G/HHonors Ambassador
Hampton Inn & Suites
Downtown Nashville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookeville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2014

My wife and I were attending an event at Bridgestone Arena, which is a short walk away. We checked in at a busy time, and the clerk had to change our room assignment during check-in. This extended our wait by a couple of minutes. When we went to the newly-assigned room, there was a tag on the door knob, indicating that the room was occupied. We went back downstairs and got in the back of the longer-than-before line. A manager apparently recognized us and asked if everything was okay. He took our key cards and personally assigned us to a new room. After apologizing, another manager gave us a gift card to buy our dinner. We were not in a big hurry, we hadn't complained, and were quite surprised by the gesture.
Several high quality restaurants are very close to this hotel, and it's about two blocks from Broadway. This is close enough for an easy stroll, but far enough that the live street music and activity can't be heard from the property.
As for negatives, it was very easy to hear the emergency vehicles on the street below our window. Fortunately, there were only two. The beds were slightly above average in comfort and sagged a bit in the middle.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Hi Steve B,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your visit with us in Nashville. Our 100% guarantee is meant to make all aspects of your stay more enjoyable. If there is something within the stay which is unpleasant but unavoidable we here at Hampton want to compensate you with something or someway that will diminish that inconvenience. I am happy that our team were expedient in providing you and your wife with accommodations that exceeded your expectations. We hope to see you again next time you visit our city, we love having you here,
Lisa G/HHonors Ambassador
Hampton Inn & Suites
Downtown Nashville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe City, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Very nice experience! Good Location, clean rooms, good free breakfast, friendly and helpful staff. Very enjoyable stay, overall! Would definitely recommend and would definitely stay in this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Brenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Hello Brenda H,
So happy you enjoyed your stay and visit to Nashville. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recommendation and wonderful experience of our property. I will be sure to let the team know they have fulfilled the goal of exceeding expectations once again.
We look forward to your speedy return.
We love having you here,
Lisa G/HHonors Ambassador
Hampton Inn & Suites
Downtown Nashville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

The hotel is great. Just one block away from the convention center and a large number of restaurants. The hotel underground parking garage was very convenient due to the severe weather. The staff and accommodations were excellent. Can't wait to get back there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Sandy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Hi Sandy D,
So happy that you took the time to comment on your visit with us here in Nashville. On behalf of the staff we want to thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are glad that you had an excellent time and look forward to your return.
We love having you here,
Lisa G/HHonors Ambassador
Hampton Inn & Suites
Downtown Nashville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

The Hotel entrance is from an Alley. Staff are very friendly. Rooms are small and beds were not comfortable. Underground secured parking is a plus but it cost extra. For the same $$$ you can find a much nicer hotels downtown with much nice rooms.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank 391randym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review you recent stay with us. I want to express our apologies for your discomfort with our beds. The Cloud 9 mattress is the same throughout the brand and most of our guest really like them. I researched the room that you were in and all of our double queen rooms are 375 sq. ft. which is standard. I wish we had been able to safisfy all your needs. It is very disappointing when one of our guest is not happy with their stay. Please allow us to show you that our guests are our number one priority and visit us again when you return to Nashville.
We love having you here,
Lisa G/HHonors Ambassador
Hampton Inn & Suites
Downtown Nashville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

This hotel is in a great part of town, just steps away from the Country Music Hall of Fame and a short walk to the downtown clubs, convention center and Bridgestone Arena. The property is well kept, clean with a friendly staff. The rooms are modern and large, bathrooms are contemporary and a fairly large TV with a good selection of channels. There are plenty of outlets bedside and at the desk for all of your electronics. This is a low-slung hotel and you're not going to get much of a view from most rooms. My only complaint about the rooms is an inadequate number of lamps ... even with all of them turned on the room is kind of dim.

There are plenty of selections at breakfast including hot oatmeal, biscuits and gravy, fresh fruit and a hot egg item. There is a convenience pantry next to the check-in desk with microwavable items and frozen treats. It comes in handy as there is no nearby convenience store that I'm aware of, nor are there a ton of restaurants nearby without venturing on to touristy places on Broadway.

All in all it was a good experience.

Room Tip: If you want any kind of view whatsoever, ask for a room that doesn't face the Country Music Hall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronr818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for your review. I appreciate all comments and I will bring your input to the attention of our engineering department. We here at Hampton Inn & Suites are happy to know that our hotel, our team and our accommodations were exactly what you needed during your stay. It is always our mission to surpass and accommodate every guest need. We look forward to your return.
We love having you here,
Lisa G/HHonors Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Downtown Nashville
Courtyard Nashville Downtown
Courtyard Nashville Downtown
#42 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Nashville
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
#11 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,700 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Sheraton Grand Nashville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown
Address: 310 4th Avenue South, Nashville, TN 37201-2210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Davidson County > Nashville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Nashville
#15 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
#15 Business Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville Downtown is located across the street from the Country Music Hall of Fame and just blocks from the Music City Center, live music on Broadway, and events at Bridgestone Arena. Our hotel offers complimentary breakfast, complimentary internet, and a convenient location close to everything Nashville has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville - Downtown Hotel Nashville
Hampton Inn And Suites Nashville - Downtown
Hampton Inn Nashville
Nashville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing