We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent getaway”
Review of Music City Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Music City Hostel
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent getaway”
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Second visit to this hostel and things sure changed. They opened a new branch Downtown so the Midtown location is no party hostel.

Was visiting with my girlfriend this time so we enjoyed the quit times and serenity vibe of this place. Clean rooms and nice patio, about 20min from Downtown by foot and free parking on the street and behind the hostel.

Tip: if you're traveling alone or with friends, best book the Downtown one for a party vibe.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MaartenVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    21
    13
    4
    5
See reviews for
2
11
30
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Freeville, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Came to Nashvile for a conference. The conference hotel was overpriced and overbooked, so I opted for a private room at this hostel instead for all 4 nights for less than half of what the hotel would've cost. Despite the fact that I arrived from the airport after 11pm on a Saturday night, the staff person on duty was welcoming and helpful. Room was clean, bed was comfy, and after a long travel day I really appreciated the HOT shower! This was the perfect place to wind down after 8hr conference days. Appreciated the friendly people & the free wifi was great for keeping up with stuff at home. Would definitely recommend to others/stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ny_jen2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for 4 nights and had a fab time. The hostel has a great location and is an easy stroll to bars, restaurants, music and groceries. The staff were friendly, helpful and fun while the hostel itself was clean, spacious and had a really laid back atmosphere. Great suggestions of things to do/where to go and a daily board with events etc.
As 2 girls travelling we felt really safe here, even getting back late at night and would happily recommend anyone to stay here!!

Room Tip: Shared rooms, can request same sex if you want to!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flynn_thecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nauvoo, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I've stayed at this hostel several times over several years. Always a great time, good area, Walgreens is just a block or so away. It is a little ways from downtown, but not bad. The last time staying I'd been coming in after a pretty rough time - really appreciated the hospitality and easy going time there. There's limited off street parking, a welcoming spot.

Room Tip: I haven't had a problem sleeping any time I've stayed here. Rooms are pretty comfortable. Lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanH1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Music City Hostel (on Patterson St.) was the first Nashville stop on our tour.
The managers, Gary and Mirthe, are welcoming, informative, and reliable. That's already more than I can say for most hotels I've been in. Rooms/Bathrooms were clean, the patio is a great spot for music jams. Internet's decent - and free! I felt at home here as a touring musician and ran into a number of great folks on their own adventures.

You'll have to walk a bit to get downtown, but there are bars/good restaurants very close by.

Keep up the great work guys - I'll see you next time.
-Strumero

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Strumero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I was doing a musical trip with 2 friends.
We call to the hostel from Nashville's airport without a reservation. The reception was brillant.
People are very cool. I made friendship with a lot of people from all around the world.
It's not very near the centre. But you can walk 25 minutes to the bars in Broadway. Probably it worth to share a taxi on the way back "home".

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jovictors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

It's a good place to sleep and the staff is nice. It's a little run down and it's difficult to charge anything because the electrical outlets are so old plugs just fall out of the outlet and land on the ground. Also, even with the central air it still felt a little hot in the unit which made it harder for me to sleep. It's a great location if you will be spending a lot of time at the gay bars and clubs up and down church street, however if that's not your scene you can't beat their other Hostel in downtown. Stay at that one instead.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Justin_Swall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Plus Music Row
#49 of 155 in Nashville
1,416 reviews
Omni Nashville Hotel
#7 of 155 in Nashville
5,577 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Hermitage Hotel
Hermitage Hotel
#3 of 155 in Nashville
1,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Music City Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Music City Hostel

Property: Music City Hostel
Address: 1809 Patterson St, Nashville, TN 37203-2110
Location: United States > Tennessee > Davidson County > Nashville
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located in midtown Nashville, within walking distance to Downtown Entertainment district and Vanderbilt University. We have private apartments, private rooms and dormitory beds. We aim to provide safe, comfortable, and convenient lodging experience. For security, we require either a Passport or a photo identification at check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Music City Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Music City Hotel Nashville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing