We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Not what I expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Musicians Hall of Fame and Museum

Musicians Hall of Fame and Museum
Book In Advance
$28*
and up
Nashville Trolley Tour
Ranked #35 of 237 things to do in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Musicians Hall of Fame and Museum honors musicians from stars to studio players, from all genres of music. Historic artifacts include instruments played on original recordings of Red Hot Chili Peppers, Hank Williams, Sr., George Harrison, Frank Sinatra, The Supremes, Elvis Presley, Bob Dylan, Chicago and more. See the original stage where a young Jimi Hendrix played. "To be recognized by this institution is the greatest honor a musician can have." -Neil Young.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

I was expecting some more of the Hall of Fame. The museum tour on itself can not be called a complete hall of fame, and I'm not sure wether the museum tour was the hall of fame, or wether I missed out on it. I asked the personell, who replied: 'if you get inside, it'll speak for itself'. Not really the best advice I've had.
The tour was fun, they were showing nice stuff such as Jimi Hendrix' guitar, and it was very educational. A must see for those who love music, but don't expect the best of it.

Helpful?
Thank Daan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    55
    23
    10
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
370 reviews
150 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“expected more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Expected more from this attraction. We thought it was expensive for what we saw and experienced. Lots of disks on the walls, expected to see more pictures and information. Good idea but not executed very well.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank joep735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little River, South Carolina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A Must See While in Nashville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

In my opinion this is the #2 best thing to do in Nashville (Grand Ole Opry being #1). The history is absolutely fantastic and is presented in various medias; artifacts, videos, recordings, and live interaction with actual performers, If you to see it all give yourself the better part of a full day to so, especially if you intend on including the Studio 'B' tour.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marmaduke, Arkansas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Sittin' On The Dock of The Bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Very cool place to kill 2+ hours. If your into music and what goes on behind the "star" and music history you will love this museum. They have have the drums that were used to record Sittin' On The Dock Of The Bay as well as lots of other instruments used on many hit songs across all genres. They take you back in time to studios and locations where music history was created. Not only can you see but you can touch lots of the items. They have a piano that Elvis played and Floyd Cramer recorded Last Date on. Go there you won't regret it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Behind the Music”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

This is a great collection of memorabilia with a lot of information about the music business. What most people don't realize is these artists make the sound we all associate with singers of all genres including country, rock, and motown. It's a look at the stories behind the stories with interesting insight into how the music business works behind the scenes. The videos were informative, but we wanted the video screens to be bigger. The worst part is parking, and we'd love to see a cafe on site. The cheerful staff suggested we'd be an hour on the self-guided tour, but we were there for two because there was so much to see. It's a great value and totally worth it.

Helpful?
1 Thank Connieco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy H, Public Relations Manager at Musicians Hall of Fame and Museum, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you very much for your review! We are in the process of expanding our museum and will take into account visitors suggestions in that process.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musicians Hall of Fame and Museum also viewed

 

Been to Musicians Hall of Fame and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing