We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky!”

Merchants Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Merchants Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #38 of 2,031 Restaurants in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $50
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown Nashville
Cross street: 4th Avenue
Houston
Level Contributor
258 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Quirky!”
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Coooool staff and vibe! Really enjoyed that first and foremost. My meal was also very good. Overall, really enjoyed the place, despite a wicked hangover! :)

Helpful?
Thank NATHANHOUSTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,040
    789
    194
    58
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Olympia
Level Contributor
189 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“WOW!”
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Walked in at 5:00 p.m. without a reservation. First time. We were seated immediately. I ordered the smoked brisket and my cousin ordered jambalaya. Although I was given a sharp knife, it was completely unnecessary. The brisket was so very tender and flavorful, I was in beef heaven.

Most importantly, at least four servers came to the table to assist us including the one assigned to our table.

And, the peach cobbler with the butter pecan ice cream and caramel was amazing.

If you have a chance to visit Merchants Restaurant. DO IT!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Townsend_Flash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food, great location”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Located in the heart of downtown Nashville, this is a nice place with tasty pub style food. They accept reservations which was helpful on a busy Friday night.
The sweet potato fries were awesome.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gail205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Horrible food”
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Picked at random while walking broadway. Apps at the bar were OK but mains - Cesar salad (to much dressing to eat) and steaks (bland, very fatty) were horrible. Extremely disappointing...

Helpful?
1 Thank ChiggsTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious!!”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We were recommended this place at the last minute by a couple in our shuttle over to Broadway from the hotel. So glad we listened!

First, when they take your name for a table, they take your phone number and text you when your table is ready. This way, we were able to go to a bar nearby for our long wait instead of sitting around. I thought this was such a good idea, especially for an area where there is so much to do.

There are two menus: an upstairs and a downstairs. We ate in the downstairs area which is more casual. They give every table a cup of this delicious, garlicky popcorn to start off with. I couldn't get enough of this. We ordered the duck fat tater tots as an appetizer and they were fantastic. They were just super, extra crispy delicious tots with three different dipping sauces.

I ordered steak frites with French fries and mixed greens. The only bad thing about this was that I wanted it with filet, but they were out so I had to get flat iron. It was still very delicious. I got it with bearnaise sauce, which was delicious. My one friend ordered fish tacos, which she said were amazing. My other friend ordered the 12 oz ribeye with smashed yukons and mushrooms and he ate every last bit on his plate.

The only thing I wasn't impressed with was the dessert. We shared the crème brulee and it was cold throughout with a very inadequate top which makes me think that it was premade. Any time I've had crème brulee it has been warm with a super crispy top. This being said, it was still really yummy and, even though we were stuffed, we ate it all.

I would definitely make a reservation for this place, though. This time the wait was only about thirty minutes. I attempted to eat there again recently on a weekend night, but the wait was going to be about an hour and we were just too hungry to wait.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KLynnRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merchants Restaurant also viewed

Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 
Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 

Been to Merchants Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing