We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Graphic Design Heaven”
Review of Hatch Show Print

Hatch Show Print
Book In Advance
More Info
$15.00*
and up
Hatch Show Print Tour in Nashville
Ranked #1 of 109 Shopping in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Hatch Show Print is one of America's oldest letterpress shops, in business since 1879. It has created original art for Elvis Presley, Grand Ole Opry stars and contemporary artists like The Black Keys. Step inside the shop to view printmaking in action, take the official tour or shop its selection of historic restrikes, apparel and collectibles. The retail shop is open to the public, with ticketed tours at 12:30 p.m., 2:00 p.m., and 3:30 p.m.
wisconsin
Level Contributor
88 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Graphic Design Heaven”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

If you are a graphic design and print press junkie go here and check out the vintage posters. There are great reproductions to buy. Loved it!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank sldufhglviuser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    138
    38
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in plain sight!”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I can't believe how many people walk right by Hatch Show Print and never go in - and have no idea what's behind their poster-clad windows. This is a true masterpiece of Southern artistry. Even the smell of Hatch is intoxicating - it smells papery, intelligent, historic and crafty. Just walk in and the walls will do the rest. Upon the very first visit, you'll feel honored that this 134-year-old letterpress print shop even let you walk through its doors, and you'll want to go back often just to soak in the years of artistic history created right in the heart of Nashville, and in the shadow of the Ryman Auditorium - a venue featured prominently in Hatch Show Print's vast output of coveted works.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank doUcopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“For history buffs, design nerds, and everyone in between”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

One of the oldest working letterpress print shops in the country, Hatch Show Print is a destination you won't want to miss when visiting Nashville. Throughout the city, you'll notice posters in all sorts of establishments with an awesome vintage feel, even if the content on them is new. These posters will have likely come from Hatch Show Print, a unique place that still uses hand letterpressing in the creation of their prints. They've been a Nashville staple since the late 1800's and they are still using the same printing technique of old.

Their current shop is on Broadway but I think they may be moving to the Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum (there is currently a cool Hatch Show Print exhibit on display throughout the Museum). Although the shop is small and crowded, it's worth checking out if you're on Broadway. The walls are lined with old prints and they have bins full of newer prints for sale. In the back you'll see the actual presses and shelf upon shelf of plates and blocks.

The only thing keeping me from giving this 5 stars is that you're unable to purchase any of the old or vintage prints. The oldest for sale were from 2010, I think. I understand that they'd want to preserve them -- and I'm sure the walls would be bare if collectors could acquire whatever they wanted in house -- but I was hoping to pick up something rare on my trip, so I was a little disappointed. I suppose, though, the ones I did buy will be vintage and out-of-print soon enough.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ahastie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, il
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Oh So Cool”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

If vintage is your thing, this is the place to visit! All the posters are being hand letter pressed on site. I've never seen anything like this. Great spot for gifts for the vintage lover!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank lizrogatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Charles, VA
Level Contributor
108 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Spring Break”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I work in Marketing so this was a nice treat for me! The preserved printing methods speak volumes and I simply loved all their work not just at the shop but all over Nashville!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ESGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hatch Show Print also viewed

 
Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 

Been to Hatch Show Print? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing