We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good BBQ”
Review of Hog Heaven

Hog Heaven
Ranked #356 of 2,044 Restaurants in Nashville
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
Restaurant details
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good BBQ”
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

It's no Jacks or Arnold's, but hog heaven is decent BBQ and southern food and its usually less crowded than the competitors. The pulled pork is my favorite. It's not a place I would hang out, but it's perfect for take out or a picnic in the park.

Hint: check out the scoutmob app-one every few months they offer free hog heaven!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChelsaeJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    49
    33
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice lunch spot - after seeing Parthenon.”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

It's so close to the Parthenon and Centennial park, that you really should just eat lunch here. It may not be the best BBQ shack in TN, but it seems quite authentic, and much better than heading over to McDonalds. The while BBQ is unique. You should try that.

Sitting at the picnic table after our Parthenon visit seemed about perfect on the spring day we visited.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IvanWink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Had a great lunch here. I had the pulled turkey with white sauce.....SO good! Don't be scared since this is basically a restaurant in a shack. It is delicious! There isn't any indoor seating but there are some picnic tables that are in a covered area. Centennial Park is right across from it, so on a nice day I would recommend picking up lunch from Hog Heaven and eating at the park.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraK10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A dive but very good food”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

A Nashville native told us about this place. Looks very shabby from the outside but the line told us the food must be good so we joined the line. Very glad we did. We both had the pulled pork platter. Very tender and spicy even though we had the mild sauce. The bar next door is the last jute joint in town so if you want a beer with your meal, check it out.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Colleen83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
392 reviews
307 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Hot n Cold”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

1 day chicken sandwich 1/2 thickness than the next.Brisket better. Mushy overcooked KD.Cold hard corn bread. Great beans,greens,cobbler.Cheap enough.Outdoor picnic tables only.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Norm W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hog Heaven also viewed

Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 
Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 
Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 

Been to Hog Heaven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing