We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location, great decor, lovely staff, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Place Nashville Downtown
Ranked #14 of 154 Hotels in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect location, great decor, lovely staff, but...”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Let me say the good things first - lovely staff, great decor (important to me, as an interior designer), nice rooms, well laid out, modern, comfortable but pillows could be softer (or just make one of them softer). Location could not be better if you want to "do" downtown Nashville... 5 mins from all the bars and music of Broadway and around the corner from the Hall of Fame. Close to the river and there's no need to get the car out of the valet except to go to the Opry or Music Row. No real problems about this hotel but travelers should be aware it's not full service. They offer a "complimentary breakfast" but as it ended at 9am, I was not in time so had to make do with a muffin and a coffee in a to-go cup. Am not sure what they offered as "complimentary" but suspect it's a continental menu when one of the things I love about a hotel is an indulgent breakfast. It's not really a formal restaurant, more a casual, open-plan canteen adjacent to the check-in desk (loved the cowhide panels btw!!) . There may have been room service, but I don't know as, for once I didn't need it so can't comment. My husband was here on business and I tagged along. As a base for our quick, fun visit, it was perfect and we would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: No great views anywhere from what I could see, some building work going on riverside but you shouldn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chomondley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loganwolverton, Manager at Hyatt Place Nashville Downtown, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Hi Chomondley! Thank you so much for the review of our hotel. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our location was convenient to all that downtown has to offer! I am sorry to hear that you missed our breakfast as we do offer quite an array of items including breakfast sandwiches, french toast, waffles, oatmeal, biscuits and gravy, as well as all of the continental items you mentioned. We hope that you and your husband will come see us again on your next trip to Nashville, and thanks again for your review!


Sincerely,

Logan Wolverton
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    981
    391
    99
    30
    30
See reviews for
341
477
31
357
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Couldn't fault anything about this hotel; from the front of house staff (Dave) was great, room fantastic, free wifi, free breakfast, plenty of lobby space and ambiance, good coffee, great location (only 2 blocks from Broadway). Just perfect.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Camisace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

It is too bad that the staff is so bad at this hotel as the rooms are pretty nice. You can tell that the rooms were brand new. The staff on the other hand needs some help. I walked in around 8:30 ish at night to check in. No one was thrilled to check me in... Since it was getting late, I decided to get my room keys and then head over to the cafe/lounge for a quick dinner before heading up. I sat down at a table and looked over at the bar. About 5 people or so sitting there. Nice live entertainment so the ambience was ok. I noticed just ONE person working the bar and the realization that the ONE person working the bar would probably be working the cafe as well. Since no one came over to even mention that they would be attending to my table, I walked over to the counter and picked up a salad to go. The same ONE person behind the bar was also responsible for ringing up my salad... needless to say she wasn't the most pleasant due to the 85 jobs she had that night. I also had a soda and hummus snack to purchase as well. I signed the check and then there was no offer of a bag to put my items in... note that I had my big carry on and luggage with me... so now I had to carry all of those items up to my room. They don't have bags? I get all the way up to my room with the items and they forgot to give me a fork for the salad... so now I have to go all the way back down to the cafe and approach the "happy" staff again. I asked for a fork and it was literally asking a robot for a fork. No one says "sorry that we forgot to give you one" or "my pleasure"... Hospitality anyone? Like I said, rooms are really nice and spacious. Doors are paper thin so you can hear people's conversations while you walk down the hallway. Very old fashioned light switches so they would need to change that in order to look more modern. Went down to the lobby for breakfast and they had a great buffett laid out. If the staff can be greatly improved, this hotel will be successful. Warning - not a lot of restaurants around the close area so you are pretty much stuck to the hotel unless you want to walk a little bit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UNLVforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loganwolverton, Manager at Hyatt Place Nashville Downtown, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Hi UNLVforme! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet as well as our rooms! I am sorry to hear that you had a less than pleasant interaction with our staff. It is certainly not something that we stand for, nor does it reflect our standard operating procedures. I apologize for putting you through this. We hope that you will give us another chance and stay with us again on your next trip to Nashville to show you how we really run our hotel! Again, thank you for your review and we hope you made it home safe!


Sincerely,

Logan Wolverton
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This was a first visit to Nashville. We wanted to stay within walking distance to the Broadway action but not right in the middle of it where it was noisy. This hotel is perfect. I would say I've never experienced a nicer group of staff than at this hotel. We were there 3 nights so saw many shift changes and everyone was great. The hotel lobby is a great chill spot. They even had live acoustic music on Friday and Saturday night (not that I needed to hear more live music). The breakfast buffet is better than your typical hotel free breakfast that we often would skip and go out elsewhere but didn't need to here. Parking was conveniently connected to the hotel but you do pay for that. Only complaint I can think of is that in our room when the A/C was on, it was pretty loud and it blew so hard it would blow your hair while laying in bed. We even tried redirecting the air, but still blew right on you in bed. But everything else was so nice we overlooked that one issue.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank honesttripreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We came in town for a fun friends weekend and this place was perfect. The rooms are slightly larger than your average hotel room and include an "L" shaped couch (which was also a pull out for a 3rd bed). You simply can't beat the location, 3 blocks off Broadway. Close enough to walk back multiple times a day, but not so close that you can hear the bars outside your window. The staff was very friendly and the breakfast was a nice bonus. I was also very impressed by the sound proofing of the walls. We never heard anyone is the adjacent rooms or in the hallway and with Nashville being a "party town" and during a long weekend I was figuring we would hear people at all hours, but not a peep. We did pay $20/night to Self Park, but unfortunately that is typical with downtown hotels. All in all, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank per4mance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loganwolverton, Manager at Hyatt Place Nashville Downtown, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Hi per4mance! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm glad that you enjoyed our location as well as our spacious rooms. Hopefully you and your friends were able to sleep comfortably with utilizing the extra bed in the sleeper sofa. I'm also glad to hear that all of the "fun" that Nashville has to offer didn't carry over into your getting a good night's sleep. Again, thank you so much for your review and we hope to see you again on your next trip to Nashville!


Sincerely,

Logan Wolverton
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, CO
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Stayed at the Hyatt Place recently for a conference; excellent location, close to the new convention center, but also close to downtown attractions including Broadway. Staff is great, extremely helpful and always good for a joke. Hotel concept is innovative with gallery restaurant/market and atrium bar. Had live music/artist in the lobby. Rooms are very clean, modern, and well equipped. Bathroom is modern. This was an almost perfect experience, except for one little problem with the AC/Heat fan. The fan outlet is right across from the bed, pointing at the headboard and the draft from the fan is so strong that it feels like sleeping in a storm, woke me up several times. Unfortunately, the control does not allow for shutting off the fan or a lower setting. A deflector would make this problem go away very easily. Housekeeping was attentive, flexible, and did respond quickly to requests. Room rate is reasonable, overall a great price to benefit ratio.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls, Texas
Level Contributor
299 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

I spent the week in Nashville for meetings and the Hyatt Place is a perfect downtown hotel. This is a new property, opening in 2013, so everything is fresh and new. I checked into room 622, a corner room with big windows and great views. I have no complaints about this property, the service, staff and property make for a great Nashville experience. You are in walking distance to so much activity, Broadway street, Music City Center, Bridgestone Center, etc. I can't wait to come back with my wife for a pleasure trip and enjoy more of Nashville.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelnow39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Omni Nashville Hotel
#6 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,231 reviews
Hilton Nashville Downtown
#18 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
Renaissance Nashville Hotel
#11 of 154 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
#22 of 154 in Nashville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Sheraton Grand Nashville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Nashville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Nashville Downtown

Property: Hyatt Place Nashville Downtown
Address: 301 3rd Avenue South, Nashville, TN 37201-2203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Davidson County > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 154 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Nashville Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now Open! As the newest hotel in Downtown Nashville, Hyatt Place Nashville Downtown, located just one block from the Music City Convention Center, features full-service amenities including valet parking, 24-hour dining options, free hot breakfast, Starbucks coffee and even free WiFi. With suites 20% larger than standard hotel rooms, guests will enjoy features such as a mini-fridge, 42-inch flat-screen TV with Hyatt Plug Panel media center and free WiFi. Our brand new Downtown Nashville hotel is within walking distance to exciting Music City attractions including Honky Tonk Row, Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum, Ryman Auditorium and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Place Nashville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing