We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great BBQ”
Review of Jack's Bar-B-Que

Jack's Bar-B-Que
Ranked #63 of 2,041 Restaurants in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Multi Level Dining and Patio facing the Historic Ryman Auditorium Event Seating in our Nashville Room Located in the heart of Lower Broadway
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We are from Texas and very much enjoyed the laid back style of this resaurant. The BBQ was very good and you can pick from multiple style sauces. The service was kind of impersonal, but they are serving BBQ to tourists all day, so that did not hurt the experience. If too crowded, eat upstairs. If nice weather, eat on back patio near Ryman Alley and walk over to Tootsies when you are done!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank nlamoureux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,751 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,243
    912
    419
    115
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton Ohio
Level Contributor
137 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Country BBQ, city prices”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Well, there it is, on Broadway, in the middle of everything, pink neon pigs on the sign, and a line out the door. This is not so much a meal as it is a pilgrimage to a Nashville shrine, dark wood walls lined with autographed photos of country stars from long ago. The ground floor shares space with the kitchen, noisy, bustling, and crowded; there's more elbow room and more light upstairs. Considering Jack's location, you have every right to expect that this is a tourist trap, but they actually serve up pretty good barbecue, like the down-home cookin' you might find in a small town BBQ joint. The difference is that you're downtown in a major American city, so it will cost you more. The good news is that it's way better than the usual tourist fare. We had the pulled pork sandwich, tender, sloppy and delicious on a burger bun. Three kinds of sauce are available from DIY pumps; I mixed sweet and hot for a nice moderately warm flavor. Side dishes are okay, but compared to the meat they're really pretty ordinary.

If you arrive at lunch or dinner time, there will be a long line. That's part of the charm of this place. Don't walk away, enjoy the sights, sounds and smells while you wait; you'll be rewarded with a memorable experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Creeker2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ida, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A "Must Try" in Nashville”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

While in Nashville recently we were walking past Jack's and noticed there was NOT a line out the door! That made our decision on where to eat! We had been there in the past and knew how popular it was so we jumped at the chance to beat the crowd. We each had the pork sandwich with mac and cheese and dined upstairs outside on the back deck. The pork was smoked just how we like it, not too smokey, but just right. The Kansas City sauce is sweeter than the other two offered and more to our liking. It is nice that you can get your own and try all three. The mac and cheese was hot and creamy and we wished we had ordered a whole pint to split instead of a half of pint. A definite "must try" while in Nashville. And by the way, when we left the line was already out the door!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jeanne p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“fabulous!”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

quick service (dont let long signs scare you, they move quicklly and there is a reason for the long line!)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Juliet, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
161 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Eat at Jack's!!”
Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Ate here yesterday and everything about it was great! I had pork shoulder (my favorite) and it had wonderful flavor! My sides were baked beans and green beans...enjoyed both. My son loved the potato salad! I also tasted the ribs...they were good too! We tried the sauces and liked the dark sauce the best. Everyone was very friendly and helpful!!! This place is a treasure in Nashville!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack's Bar-B-Que also viewed

Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 
Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 
Nashville, Davidson County
 

Been to Jack's Bar-B-Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing