We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly surprised”

Darfons Restaurant & Lounge
Reserve with OpenTable
Darfons Restaurant & Lounge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 2,031 Restaurants in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $28
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

My wife and I spent a couple days in Nashville over the weekend. We were looking for a place to eat after checking into the hotel after a long day's drive.

We were hungry so I couldn't spend too much time finding a place. Our only criteria was that we wanted to avoid a chain. I launched OpenTable and it found this restaurant less than a mile away. A quick glance at the menu and we had it reserved.

I decided to take the plunge and order the swordfish special. I've always wanted to try swordfish and never had the right opportunity.I figured a special at a local restaurant might be the best time - and I was right. It was fantastic. My wife loved her Chicken Mediterranean Salad. We had the carrot cake for dessert and it was one of the better carrot cakes I've had.

The host and wait staff were fantastic. If I were to pick one thing to criticize it would be the draft beer selection - only 4, and nothing local? In their defense, the bottled beer selection is quite extensive and surprised me.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank VinSomething
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    542
    299
    66
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good fun place for friends to meet”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Food and service were good. Attention to detail was good. Recommendations were good. And most of all, we were a large group and well served and attended.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Krishna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nashville Treat”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We left McNamara’s Irish Pub after awful service before we even got our drinks. Looking for another close eating option to our hotel we found Darfon’s and had a wonderful experience. We were promptly seated, and attended to by our waitress. She was attentive and friendly and offered great recommendations. Best of all, the food was plentiful, and me steak was well seasoned and tender. My only wish was that we started our evening here.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam D, Owner at Darfons Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you so much!! We hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, Alabama
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure near Opryland Hotel”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I was in Nashville for a trade show and asked the Lady at the Hotel if she knew a good place to eat. Boy was she right. The place has that 1950's Las Vegas feel, the food is great and the service is great and it's priced moderately. When I'm in Nashville you can bet I'll eat here. They are five minutes from the Opryland Complex and worth the drive. You'll have a better meal, spend less money and leave very happy. They have ample parking and they are easy to find. If you have a large party call ahead. You'll thank me for this one.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank barbqueboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
270 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly Great! Relied on Trip Advisor for Recommendation”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I've been going to this area of Nashville for years, but always ignored Darfons for some reason. Had a business dinner with colleagues and Darfons was convenient. At 630PM had to wait for about fifteen minutes even with reservations. The place was packed the the atmosphere was vibrant. Menu is broad with everything from chops, steaks, salmon, etc. Had a pork chop and garlic shrimp. Very good. Colleagues were all very pleased with their selections. Server was excellent and very fast at serving drinks. Not cheap, but very good. I'll go again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KARXPRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Darfons Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 
Nashville, Davidson County
 
Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 

Been to Darfons Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing