We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your typical NY Style pizza..”

Joey's House of Pizza
Ranked #1 of 2,044 Restaurants in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Description: Joey's House of Pizza is a Family Owned & Operated N.Y. Pizzeria located in Nashville. The Joey's Family is very passionate about serving the Best Authentic N.Y. Pizza, Italian Pastas, Salads, Subs & More! Their Brooklyn roots and Italian heritage merge to make Northerners feel right at home with Pizza By The Slice. Hand-tossed, Sicilian or Double Stuffed! Joey and his Family are dedicated to making all of their ingredients fresh from scratch everyday. Some of our Specialty ingredients include Joey's Pizza Dough, Joey's Famous Marinara & Pizza Sauce, Homemade Meatballs, Freshly grated and shredded cheeses. All of these wonderful components create a product of excellence.. from the pizza pies to the pastas.. and don't forget the cannoli! As Joey says "At Joey's you get Quality & Quantity!" Thank You Nashville, TN for making us #1. We couldn't of done it with out you! We Greatly Appreciate Your Business! Joey & Family -The Pizza Professionals
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
1,797 reviews
1,248 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 645 helpful votes
“Your typical NY Style pizza..”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

As with most southerners..They think a place like Joey's is "real" Italian or Pizza.. it is just NY style street pizza and americanized dishes.. The pizza is ok..(To oily, cheese is nothing special and the pasta is mushy). I am a Italian citizen who lives here and in Italy.. I lived in the Northeast for 45 years.. The pizza is average at best anywhere else but for locals who don't know, they think its excellent... What you don't know can't hurt you:).. Enjoy because there is not much to choose from anyway around these parts.. I would just like to see higher grade and better food.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeyMacca M, Owner at Joey's House of Pizza, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank You for your review, as well as the opportunity to express our response.
We are an Italian-American Family Owned & Operated N.Y. pizzeria.
We appreciate your description of Joey's to be labeled as "New York Street Food".. That's what we are: simple, authentic and affordable.
We do not bake our pies in wood burning ovens.. We use traditional N.Y. Pizza stone ovens. However, we are happy to let you know we do offer Our version of the Italian Style Margherita.. Fresh Mozzerella, Fresh Basil and EVOO cooked our style.
As well as our delicious Sicilian pies, we make a wonderful white pie also.
Italian and N.Y pizza are two different worlds of pizza, however we would love to make your experience with Joey's an excellent one.
Also as for the pasta .. Ask for it "al dente" and we would be pleased to make it happen.
Respectfully,
Joey & Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    63
    17
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
103 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“You will want one of everything!”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The food was fantastic. We went there for lunch and I had the Pepperoni Sausage Roll...which was delicious. These folks do not scrimp on the anything. Their pizza slices were huge and dripping with cheese. Other members of our party had their spaghetti, chicken parmesan, and a eggplant sub. Everyone reported their meal was the best and wanted to come back for dinner so they could try something else. They even have fresh cannolis. I recommend this place and as a previous reviewer mentioned...get there early because this place gets crowded.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank wizone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
83 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The Best!”
Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

You'll not find better Italian food in Middle Tennessee. The pizza rivals the best anywhere. The full menu of items is just delicious, but be certain to try the Eggplant Parmesan. It will change your life!

Joey and his family, along with the family recipes they invite you to enjoy, are an experience you will not forget.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BBrown_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
133 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Best Pizza in Nashville”
Reviewed April 3, 2012 via mobile

Joey's House of Pizza is the best pizza in Nashville. In addition to pizza, Joey's has pastas, pizza rolls, breaded chicken, etc. All the food is great. If visiting Nashville, this is a must local eat. Located at the corner of Fessler's Lane & Elm Hill Pike. Good to get there early as the place will get packed during lunch.

Helpful?
2 Thank augustus70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed March 7, 2012

I was just driving down Elm Hill Pike looking for a place to have lunch while on business travel, saw this place and decided to give it a try. The place is very nice inside. There was a very long line, but the staff is very fast. I ordered a slice of the batiatus (stuffed meat lovers) which was huge! But tasted great. I will be returning for sure before my trip is over, next time I'm going for the lasagna, it looked delicious.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayson D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joey's House of Pizza also viewed

Nashville, Davidson County
 
Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 

Been to Joey's House of Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing