We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very fun”

Arnold's Country Kitchen
Ranked #24 of 2,067 Restaurants in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch
Neighborhood: Downtown Nashville
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very fun”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

The roast beef was spectacular and worth the trip. The atmosphere is fun and authentic and we loved the diversity, both racial and economic, of the patrons. These positives are enough to well outweigh the out of the way location, the cramped and dated dining room, and the long line.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mera99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    440
    184
    54
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MESA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Crazy-Good Southern Comfort Food”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

There's a line at this place most days all the way out the door. If you have time while you're in Nashville, it's worth the wait. You should try the fried green tomatoes as they are much better there than anywhere else. I can't imagine anything on their menu wouldn't be fantastic though.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank SUSAN G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Southern comfort food experience”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Read other reviews and tried it. Excellent roast beef! Definitely get it. Chess pie was also excellent. The other menu items good but go for the roast beef. With dessert and drinks, expect $10+ per person. Portions are rather small, so if you are looking for value, I don't know that this is it. Sweet tea VERY sweet, but maybe that's how they drink it in the south.

Restaurant only open for lunch. Arrive early or expect a line. Parking lot also fills up.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EBMDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delicious, traditional southern lunch”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Arnold's is a Nashville institution and has been serving locals for decades before it became popular for travelers as well. It is the best Meat & 3 in the area, but it's only open for lunch and is almost always busy. The menu has some everyday staples and then changes a few main courses and side dishes each day, so anytime I find something out of the ordinary I have to try it (today was butternut squash-veggie casserole with cornbread topping). It's my #1 spot when friends or coworkers are in from out of town and it never disappoints. Slow down, enjoy the quaint atmosphere, and save plenty of room for dessert!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kcunningham44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodlettsville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Small and Crowded Lunch Venue”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Lots of people love this place for lunch, but the serving line is almost against the first row of tables, and you feel like you are almost in the line. It is a little small and crowded and I don't ever go here anymore, partly because of this. Lots of people think that it is a great place, but I am about atmosphere as well as food, and this one doesn't do it for me.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arnold's Country Kitchen also viewed

Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 
Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 

Been to Arnold's Country Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing