We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YUMMM!”
Review of Mellow Mushroom

Mellow Mushroom
Ranked #306 of 2,053 Restaurants in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Pizza
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“YUMMM!”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I am a huge Mellow Mushroom fan, so deciding to eat here while in Nashville was a no-brainer! We were seated as soon as we walked in the door. Our waitress was very nice and attentive. My friend and I split a 14" Mighty Meaty/Kosmic Karma pizza. I must say the Kosmic Karma was one of the best pizzas I've ever eaten! The crust was so soft and the flavors all blended so nicely. Plus, I'm a sucker for anything with sun-dried tomatoes/pesto/spinach/feta. My other friend ordered a 10" Greek-type pizza that she enjoyed very much. Our pizzas did take a very long time to come but it was worth it. The restaurant and bathrooms were very clean and modern. It was a very enjoyable experience and I would love to revisit someday.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Savannah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    53
    25
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“just wasn't good”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We had always heard good things about this place and so , when in town recently for our child's graduation from college, we decided to give it a go. The young lady who served us did her job ok, but wasn't overly friendly or the type that goes out of their way for you. My daughter and I shared a "make your own" pizza - green pepper, spinach, red sauce, mozzarella - pretty standard. My husband and brother shared the house special. It took forever to cook - about 30 minutes later our food arrived. We had to clear our own table to make space while the waitress stood there holding the pizza. We were starving after a day of moving apartment stuff. However, the pizza didn't even look good. It tasted like it looked - bland, bland, bland. We couldn't even finish them. When our bill finally came , it was a whopping 70 bucks! For 4 people - 2 pizzas, 1 large, 1 med. 2 beers, 1 appetizer (also not good). They charged 25 dollars for the large pizza! Seems a bit high for the quality of the food and atmosphere - which is a bar-like 1960-70' years' theme. Very disappointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank musimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“My kids love this place”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

My kids love the pizza here and so do I. They have amazing topping choices and no matter what kind of pizza I'm in the mood for they have it. I always order more pizza than what I need so I can enjoy this goodness at home.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stoneking87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Salads at a Pizza Place!”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Was there just before a big St. Patrick's Day rush; we got a great table on the porch, corner spot, real cozy; the Build It Yourself Salad is always a winner; you choose the type of greens, protein (chicken, tempeh, etc.) and other fixings (I had pineapple pieces, roasted red pepper and broccoli). Large portion, very filling, good pricing, excellent quality. No complaints. Had a Killian's beer which was excellent (not a beer drinker by nature) and we ordered a small pizza to go. Really good pizza, no scrimping. Erin, the waitress, was great; friendly, personable, really wonderful. You really can't go wrong here; plenty of TV's going, too, so it's not an intimate spot, but great for families and Vandy students.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wordduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent pizza!”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The smell of the pizza drew us in as we were walking toward another restaurant we'd planned to go to. Glad we changed plans! Excellent meal - delicious pizza - very fresh veges on it - very large portions - the "4 slice" pizza was what any other place would call an 8 cut. But that's great - makes for yummy leftovers! Fun decor.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lmyq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mellow Mushroom also viewed

Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 
Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 
Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 

Been to Mellow Mushroom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing