We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Meat and 3.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sylvan Park Restaurant - CLOSED

Sylvan Park Restaurant
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Seating
Mich
Level Contributor
706 reviews
331 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Good Meat and 3.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We read about this place and went. Good home style cooking, reasonably priced and great desserts. It's only open about 11-3 for lunch. The service was fast and friendly. Not cafeteria style which was a plus. Two of us ate for under $20 and we were stuffed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fastphilad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    11
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
nashville
Level Contributor
117 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“SYLVAN PARK MOVED! (and is still great)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

After a long life in the Sylvan Park area, the Sylvan Park Restaurant has moved. It has not taken long to settle in, and is going full speed in Green Hills, near the mall, in the Retired Teacher's Home. This is a great thing, after several other restaurants stalled in this venerable location. Meat and three, where you are waited on (not cafeteria style). Everything is top notch. You will love it. The atmosphere is standard Meat and Three...not so fancy.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jostvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“shopworn”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

The location on 8th Ave and the one that used to be in Sylvan park are worn out. Staff and fixtures are tired and worn. Meat and three is hopelessly outdated. the food is less than what the army serves in mess halls.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jaysouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
96 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Home Cookin'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

If you don't know what a meat 'n three is, then you need to go here to find out. The food is good (although not quite as good as the original Sylvan Park, which recently closed down). I love the country style steak, mashed potatoes, fried corn (which isn't technically "fried" like you might think), squash casserole, and fried eggplant. It's all really, really good. The menu rotates on a daily basis, so sometimes I'm disappointed when they don't have the entree or side I want.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank StraightTalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
236 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Old school diner experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

While I wouldn't send anyone here just for the food, I can say that we consistently visit for the overall experience - even though the food is just okay. Fried eggs, average bacon, excellent biscuits, sausage gravy made from a powdered mix (but still tastes okay), good country ham and hey - thick slices of fried baloney! Bologna? No real butter here. Unless you love margarine you may want to order it on the side. Avoid the tough pancakes. Service is extremely friendly and full of down-home hospitality. Headshots of country music stars adorn the wood paneled walls.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Maggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sylvan Park Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing