We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not sure what all the fuss is about”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of F. Scott's - CLOSED

F. Scott's
Price range: $20 - $80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Green Hills
Cross street: Off Hillsboro Road
Nashville
Level Contributor
173 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Not sure what all the fuss is about”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

This restaurant has been talked up by people i know for a while now, so we finally decided to try it. I was pretty disappointed quite frankly.

The decor could use some serious updating. It felt like it was stuck in the 70's, not warm and inviting and most certainly NOT hip. The bar area had live music, which was only OK from what we caught coming and going.

The service was good. Not great, not poor but just good.

The food was, again, only OK. The menu was limited. We had a different twist on a Caesar salad which was pretty good and the filet for main course. The steak was one of the worst i've ever had. We didn't stick around for over-priced dessert, figured enough was enough.

Sadly, we will not return to this restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TNConstanttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    12
    10
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place for Anniversary Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We have chosen F. Scott's for both Anniversary and birthday dinners. They have never disappointed, either in the food or the hospitality.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank HerbNash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Had a great meal. Our waiter was just the right amount of helpful. He explained things in great detail. The food was wonderful

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Philip J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Overpriced and snooty, but they have excellent chefs!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

The music-you could hear from the restaurant-was wonderful. We went during tomato season and the creations the chefs made were fascinating. (caution: if you do not like the ingredient of the month, or you do not like vegetables/herbs , you might not want to go there) Equally fascinating were the dessert creations, which also included multiple fruits and some herbs. However, I would be hesitant to spend money there again, as the waiters were so obnoxious. The first one was not helpful to me when I asked questions and was probably disgusted with me because I didn't want to order an entree. (which I am so glad I didn't, as I was very full with only soup and an appetizer. too full.) Then another waiter was even worse. He brought me a soup with NO SPOON! This is a place with $$$ entrees and all ala carte $$ sides and I am sitting there for 10 minutes. When I finally got someone's attention and meekly asked for a spoon, he did bring one but did not apologize!! He actually implied I was too stupid to look under my bowl for the spoon he must have put there!! Really? you think I didnt look on my plate??? no, there was no spoon. still no apology. Wow. I am sorry for the management that their hard work and planing can be ruined by young men like this (who make a lot of money doing this).

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank frequenttravler36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Haddam, Connecticut
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Sit in the lounge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

The dining room here is lovely, but the lounge features live jazz. The cocktails were interesting and yummy, and the food was good.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed F. Scott's also viewed

Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 
Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing