We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh fare”
Review of Calypso Cafe - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Calypso Cafe
Cuisines: Diner
Restaurant details
Nashville
Level 6 Contributor
402 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Fresh fare”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Enjoyed a dinner meal with extended family. Not a fancy place, but good fresh food, made to order. Service was not speedy and the ambiance is kinda dark, but quaint. Good location off West End for Vanderbilt students.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank PamC54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    2
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Always tasty, always reasonably priced”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

From their chicken to their salads to the veggies & sides, there is nothing we don't like here. The ingredients are always fresh, the service always efficient and the price always right. Our faves include the Jerk style chicken, the Lucayan Salad, the Black Bean salad & the callaloo

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank DFR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“BUGS!!! I'M GONNA MISS CALYPSO”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I soooo didn't want to ever write this review because I truly ate at this Calypso Cafe weekly for a very long time. Mind you, I had 1 bad experience to countless wonderful experience but this one BAD experience was enough to scare me away. I was seated to have lunch last week and prepared to order my normal pulled chicken plate when a roach (yes, a ROACH) ran across the wall just above my table. Needless to say, I did not order but left the restaurant completely grossed out! As I said, I hate to write this but I would appreciate knowing something like this if I were traveling and searching YELP. A side note that when an employee was approached about it they said they had "sprayed this week". I think this location has gone downhill in the cleanliness department. I won't return.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KRBatten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“mon, its healthy food too”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

good value good food but i DO NOT like the boca muffins so they allow me to get something else...so mon ez peasey to get on with

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank kwhkop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Just a meal for lunch”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

The food is basic and slightly edgy. The value is great, the atmosphere is cold and empty. Utilitarian would be a great description of the restaurant.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank BSWTRAVELS10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calypso Cafe also viewed

Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 
Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing