We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Catfish was decent!”
Review of Cock of The Walk

Cock of The Walk
Ranked #157 of 2,067 Restaurants in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Catfish was decent!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The unusual name is what drew us to this. My girlfriend enjoyed her filet mignon & I thought the catfish was decent. Its a rustic type restaurant. The portions on the entrees were generous & we used a coupon for a free fried pickles appetizer. Not a bad representation of southern cuisine.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Drewiepoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    151
    74
    49
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee Ridge, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Catfish and River History”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We pass through, or visit Nashville several times yearly, and ALWAYS plan our
time in Nashville to include dinner at Cock of The Walk .
If you are a catfish lover (farm raised), you will never find a better place to eat.
Our first visit was at least 20 years ago, and it was a lively, festive place
with energetic and outgoing servers, and you could always expect to be placed
on a waiting list for seating. It has lost some of the old atmospheric luster, and
the crowds seem to be much smaller, but fortunately the quality of food and
service have not diminished. It is conveniently located on the frontage road
that parallels Briley Parkway near the famous Opryland Hotel and Opry Mills
Shopping Center.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hobbits2nfro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevensville, Montana
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Had to have catfish!”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Looking for catfish in Nashville. Since it was very close to the hotel, we decided on Cock of the Walk. Set in a Victorian style mansion, we walked in and were immediately greeted and seated, our drinks came out instantly, and the food was incredible. Simple menu, simple sides. (you get flat bread, picked onions and coleslaw. period) Entree's are served with fries and I had hush puppies that were done Soooo right with the catfish. Service was very fast, and prices were well within reason. A great place for dinner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank robert w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A great place for a casual dinner with good food as a bonus.”
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

It starts with very cordial waiters,waitresses placing a crock of cole slaw and cornbread served in a mini skillet. Now before the bread is set down they flip it in the little cast iron skillet it is served in. Then comes the picked onions. This is all a snack before the main meal. We both went with the catfish, very tasty and more than you can eat. Did I mention the sweet tea, by far the very best, coldest tea I have ever had. A few too many French fries with the meal but that's just us. One of the best dining experiences we have had in the last few months.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Really Good Food, Tired Atmosphere”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Walking in, I got the sense that it had once been a festive, lively spot. Not so much anymore. The dining areas were dimly lit and the wait staff, while prompt, was less than enthusiastic.

I ordered the fried shrimp from the very limited menu and was pleasantly surprised. While the presentation left a lot to be desired - I had to dig underneath a mound of fries to find them - the shrimp were plump and very tasty! Coleslaw, marinated onions and hushpuppies were also very good.

My husband ordered the catfish and was very pleased.

With a little spruce-up, this could be a great place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SWHopkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cock of The Walk also viewed

Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 
Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 

Been to Cock of The Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing