We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Pick for Special Occasions”

Sperry's Restaurant
Reserve a Table
2
Tue, 7/23
8:00 PM
Ranked #57 of 2,429 Restaurants in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $45 - $55
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed June 14, 2019

The place was quite full when we arrived for our reservations but we were seated and treated like we were the only people in the house. I wish I could give Sperry's higher marks on service than this review allows. As for the food, I could have made a meal from the stuffed mushroom appetizers that were served hot and melted in the mouth. Our entre's were good but struggled to reach the bar of service and appetizers...'still a good meal. Wine selection is pretty solid...we took the recommendation of the wait staff and were not disappointed. For our pocketbooks, Sperry's will have to be more of a special event, but I would not hesitate to recommend it to others looking for a great experience.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesney R, Public Relations Manager at Sperry's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2019

Hi Paul! Thank you for taking the time to leave us this wonderful review! To have you as our guest is an honor we do not take lightly and we're glad to hear we showed you that through superior service you received. We appreciate your kind words about our staff and our appetizers! We hope you choose Sperry's for all your special occasions and are grateful you will be recommending us to others! Cheers! - Chesney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 254 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2019

I have gained a new appreciation for Sperry's. Our friends who have lived here a long time frequent it regularly when they are in town. We went recently with them and had a great meal. My husband and I had salads off the menu, a very good Caesar for me and a tomato salad for him. Our friends love the salad bar so they did that. We had lobster tails for our entrees and they were very good. I love the drawn butter sitting over a little candle to keep it warm. Our friends had fish and said it was fresh and delicious. Nice hot bread served without having to ask for it also a plus.
Service is professional, efficient and courteous. They do a lot of tableside cooking and these gentlemen know just what they are doing, or the place would have burned down a long time ago. I am guessing they have all been with Sperry's a long time. We are finding more and more inexperienced servers in other restaurants in Nashville, and it is not a good trend. What a welcoming sight to have such professional people taking care of you.
We will definitely be back. They have been in business since 1974, must be doing something right!

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Patty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesney R, Public Relations Manager at Sperry's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2019

Hi Patty! Thank you so much for this excellent review! We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to Sperry's and gained and appreciation for our 45 year brand. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your salads and entrees, as well as the cozy atmosphere. Our staff does their very best to provide you with professional and attentive service to ensure you have the best experience possible. Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your visit with us, and we look forward to seeing you again very soon! - Chesney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2019 via mobile

Our group of 12 friends enjoyed a wonderful dinner with superb service and delicious food! The scallop appetizer over soft grits was amazing! We enjoyed the salad bar and everyone loved their meal! It’s difficult to please 12 different adults but Sperry’s did!

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank virginiasmiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesney R, Public Relations Manager at Sperry's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2019

Hi Virginia, thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this excellent review! We're so glad to hear you enjoyed a wonderful dinner with your party of 12, from the superb service to the delicious food. The scallops and our grits are both wonderful choices, and we're happy to hear you enjoyed the salad bar! Come back and see us again soon! - Chesney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2019

We had to take 4:15 reservation to get in BUT it was worth it. The staff was amazing, the food delectable, mouth watering and the atmosphere was excellent. When you have been downtown to the Honky Tonks for 2 days this was a real treat. LOVE and highly recommend this place.

Date of visit: June 2019
1  Thank npjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2019 via mobile

Really good steakhouse. Smiling welcome, cheerful server (Scott) who not only knew his stuff, but memorized the names of the five of us!!!
Like most such places, there was a large menu that offered a complete range of different cuts of beef; a huge selection of fish and seafood cooked in a variety of ways; accompaniments including shoestring potato fries and an artichoke that words could not do justice to. One can go on, but the thing to do is go there!!!

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank iant570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesney R, Public Relations Manager at Sperry's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2019

Hi there! Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us this excellent review! We're so glad to hear you enjoyer large menu selection and received professional, attentive, friendly service from Scott. To have you as our guest is an honor we do not take lightly and work very hard to show you that. Thank you for your kind words, and we look forward to seeing you back at Sperry's soon! - Chesney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sperry's Restaurant also viewed

Nashville, Davidson County
 
Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 

Been to Sperry's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing