We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family style breakfast! Met really nice people!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monell's Dining & Catering

Monell's Dining & Catering
1235 6th Ave. North, Nashville, TN 37208-2601 (Germantown)
615-248-4747
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 1,879 Restaurants in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Germantown
Description: When in Nashville do as the locals do... Pass the Peas..Please! Great Southern Food served Family Style in Historic Settings. Located in historic buildings, Monell's as been a Nashville staple since 1995. Come on in, grab a seat and pass the food to the left. Monell's famous Skillet Fried Chicken served at every meal, including our weekend country breakfast. A vist to Nashville is not complete without dining at Monell's. Enter as strangers...Leave as Friends. Monell's - 4 locations to serve you.
Whippany, New Jersey
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great family style breakfast! Met really nice people!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

This was our best breakfast by far. You are seated with other people that you do not know and then you have to pass all the food to your left and everyone gets whatever they are serving that morning. The cheese grits were awesome and the pulled pork sausage was a winner. The food is not only plentiful but very tasty. If you are going to breakfast get there early the place gets insanely busy by about 930. It gets busy for good reason with how good the food is.

Helpful?
1 Thank hugedevilsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Delish food... just not a big fan of the family-style eating; I tend not to like everyone hovering over my food. Other than that, very good southern-style cooking.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pizza-ista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Yummy and Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

I wasn't sure what to expect. The hotel recommend Monells while I was in Nashville for work. I was a bit apprehensive because of the communal tables since I was by myself. Plus this includes the sharing/ passing of bowls among strangers(is that even allowed). In any case, the person who greeted me immediately made me feel comfortable. I got sat at the head of the table with two other parties filling the table. Salads, biscuits, sides, 2 entrees and the best fried chicken all brought to the table. Pass to your left! And all we could eat. Finished with cherry cobbler. I ended up having good conversation with the tasty food. Oh, and the service was fantastic (they kept filling any empty bowls and the basket of chicken. Yes, some of he dishes were a bit "off" but who cares... For $16. I'll be back fer sho!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank WayneBrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Better than Mom"s Sunday Dinners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

Thinking about there food, makes my mouth water. Large bowls of different salads, corn muffins and biscuits, with fresh made apple butter, starts your tantalizing journey. There is pitchers of water, sweet tea, unsweet, and lemonade. Next comes the buffet round of all the hot foods . I could not stand up straight, when I was walking out. This is a buffet. NOT like any other but you want by disappointed. They seat you at 8 foot tables, then fill in the seats with the next group of strangers. So that you can learn people that come to visit. There's is no cell phones allowed to be used in this place. The full experience is wonderful, great job Monelle's!

Helpful?
Thank Breneyaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Best food in the world!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I ate here on a Wednesday, when they had fried chicken, baked chicken and pork chops for the entrée. Oh my goodness, they put all the food out on the table like Thanksgiving. You get to meet and talk with other people as you dine. I enjoyed everything on the table. They have a swing outside the restaurant for those who eat too much and just want to relax for a minute. I was in Nashville on a business trip and all I heard about while here was this restaurant. Rode over with some friends and had a feast!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DallasCowboys1552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monell's Dining & Catering also viewed

 

Been to Monell's Dining & Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing