We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place should be on top of your list.”
Review of Midtown Cafe

Midtown Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Midtown Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #82 of 2,044 Restaurants in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $80
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: For 29+ years, a top ranked locally and nationally casual fine dining destination just off West End, that offers iconic breakfast, lunch and dinner signature dishes, Contemporary American cuisine with a Southern flair and the finest local and seafood / beef / veal ingredients. Superlative service is by a veteran hospitality staff of professionals. Midtown Cafe offers free shuttle service from downtown hotels and to local performance venues including Bridgestone, Ryman, Schemerhorn, TPAC after dinner with phone reservations. A fantastic wine list includes 40+ glass selections and 150 bottles, and a multi-course "Tasting Menu" that changes nightly and is available a la carte. Breakfast weekdays starting at 7am has been added and served through lunch until 2:30pm M - F. Dinner at 4:30pm M - Sat.
Jonesboro, Arkansas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This place should be on top of your list.”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is a great "business casual" kind of place. The food was great with their own original twist to it. I had a steak sandwich and my friends had the"Best Club Sandwich". Our waiter was great.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marvin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    72
    32
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Meh”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We found this place just OK. I can't help but feel they're coasting on their reputation, and maybe at one time they were as good as people seem to think. Reviews raved about the crab cakes. I had those and found them tasteless and soggy, couldn't even finish them. The shrimp and grits appetizer on the other hand was great. The service was also very good. My overall impression, way overpriced for what you get.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
183 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Doesn't Quite Deliver”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

The atmosphere was great, and the menu impressive. Our waiter was outstanding. Unfortunately, my fish was just mediocre--too much grease. The bill for wine and two dinners (my husband had the pork tenderloin) was over $100--too much for food that's not really great.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank jvcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fine food, cramped space”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had a lovely server who made this experience more enjoyable than it might have been. The place is small (cramped, to be exact), and the food is a solid B. Ok, but you can do lots better in the neighborhood.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rolando M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I read a few reviews about this place so we decided to give it a try. We went for lunch and it was pretty crowded and due to a lack of light, the place felt a bit dingy. I realize they're going for a romantic atmosphere but it didn't do much for me.
The food was just OK. We had a salmon (without the butter sauce- healthy and yummy) and a soup of the day, which was not to ,y taste. I wouldn't go back there, even though I don't have a big objection. It simply didn't impress me much.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank SuzerSchmoozer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Midtown Cafe also viewed

Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 
Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 
Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 

Been to Midtown Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing