We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wine, better food, awesome service!”
Review of Capitol Grille

Capitol Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
Capitol Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #161 of 2,067 Restaurants in Nashville
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown Nashville
Cross street: Union
Description: Since opening our doors in 1910, Capitol Grille has been one of the most beloved places in Nashville. As the oldest and longest-running Southern restaurant in the state, Capitol Grille is a last remaining example of what true Southern simplicity should taste like.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great wine, better food, awesome service!”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Everything about our experience at the Capitol Grill was great with the exception of our kids falling asleep midway through our meal. The staff at the restaurant in concert with the hotel were great and really made sure we had a great time.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank rkapur1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    456
    170
    87
    44
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, beautifully presented in an elegant dining room.”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

A friend and I chose to have brunch at the Capitol Grille. We were made to feel right at home in the warm, beautiful dining room. We each had eggs benedict, accompanied by fresh fruit, grits or home fries. It could not have been tastier. The service was excellent and the linens perfect.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Birthday dinner”
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Every year my friend and I celebrate our birthdays by going somewhere nice. This year we went to the Capital Grille. Our waiter was attentive and our food came out smoothly. The charcuterie plate was delicious. But the real stand out was the onion bisque. This soup was so yummy. This sweet porta ravioli was tasty but skimpy, 4 ravioli for $22. I should mention they were also small. The burger was fine but overdressed. It just oozed mayo. Our waiter noticed my birthday card and asked if we were celebrating and brought out complimentary macaroons. The French press coffee was outstanding. At the finish of our meal a tornado warning went off and it was politely suggested we stay put. I really enjoyed this meal and the men's bathroom is spectacular. Please make an effort to check it out. No really.

Helpful?
Thank HjstepTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A cut above the average - with good service and atmosphere”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

My colleagues and I enjoyed our late night meal, with the wine and food being of good quality. The cheese board was especially good. Our waitress was friendly and helpful, and the restaurant, located in the basement of an upmarket hotel, has a good atmosphere. Recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PTripLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good, but....”
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

Four stars for food, two for service. It's a festive hotel and restaurant, especially during Christmas. The dining room is in the lower level so one has the feeling it's an afterthought. The food was good, not great, but the service was really atrocious. We were a group of eleven and should have received a higher level of attention. No one showed us to our table, wrong cocktail orders, we had to ask for bread and butter, the head waiter loudly interrupted our conversation to announce the single special then disappeared never to be seen again. No one with any personality was evident. The only attentive person was the wine steward; he should have been as we ordered more than $300 in wine. On the other hand, the bar personnel was terrific, especially Jessica.

Helpful?
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capitol Grille also viewed

Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 
Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 
Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 

Been to Capitol Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing